Mystery Man (Dream Man #1) by Kristen Ashley ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

While drinking cosmopolitans, Gwendolyn Kidd meets the man of her dreams. Then she takes him home. Then she wakes up alone. But her fear that she lost her dream man turns into a relationship with a mystery man when, night after night in the dead of night, he comes back for more. Hoping it will blossom into something real, she lets him.

But she doesn’t even know his name.

Gwen’s struggling with the decision to end their crazy non-relationship when her sister-from-hell, Ginger’s best friend pays a visit and warns Gwen that if she and her sister don’t get smart, they’ll both get d-e-a-d, dead. Gwen has no clue what’s going on but she’s used to Ginger’s antics and decides to lay the problem on her sister’s biker boyfriend’s doorstep. Bad choice. She hits the Denver Underground radar with a big, loud ping.

This means Gwen’s Mystery Man, Cabe “Hawk” Delgado has to step in to keep her safe. But when Hawk gets a dose of Gwen in the daylight, he makes the decision that he finally wants real with Gwen. However when Gwen gets a dose of badass, bossy, straight-talker Hawk in the daylight, she decides she’s done.

Thus begins the head-to-head of the Commando vs. Cosmo Girl as Hawk woos Gwen in his own unique way, Gwen survives firebombs, drive-bys, kidnappings, hot pursuits by biker hotties and gorgeous police detectives and discovers the heartbreaking reason why Hawk kept her at arm’s length.

And as all this happens, Gwen finds that her sister’s troubles are serious trouble and she must decide who to keep alive: her sister-fom-hell or the man of her dreams.

My Casting

My my my! *swwoooooon* Somebody pass me a fan! Cabe ‘Hawk’ Delgado floats my boat!
Wow, that was a serious dose of testosterone and I loooooved it! How many hot, pumped, ripped, alpha males can you squeeze into one book? I don’t know, I lost count, ask Kristen Ashley! She knows!

The plot was madness, utter madness. And utter utter genius! There was so much going on in Mystery Man, yet KA never strays far from what we all want to concentrate on… the shit hot romance!

“You’re in deep with me, aren’t you, baby?” 
I whispered my question just to confirm.
“Drowning.” he whispered back.”

The characters are fabulous! I’ve already mentioned the abundance of big tough men, this book defines the alpha male but the other characters are great too! Moving the super hot men aside a second, only for a second I promise, the leading lady in this book is wicked! She is feisty, ballsy (which is good as there is serious ball busting going on this book) and knows her own mind. I loved that!

Gwen rocks, her sister Ginger is a wonderfully hate-able and Gwen’s relationship with her friends is brilliant.

Ok, so back to the men… did I mention they were hot? And that there were lots of them? And they rocked at the whole over protection, in command, tough guy gig! And did I mention I love it? Good ’cause I do!

Hawk is steamy enough just ‘prowling’ around all over the place… vanishing into thin air, spooning, kissing necks, ‘Babe’ing. But there are some really good sex scenes… nothing awfully graphic but they’re hot all the same.

This was my first KA book and it certainly won’t be my last! It absolutely rocked. Kidnapping, drive bys, hot sex, cosmopolitans, $1200 Valentino shoes, badass bikers/cops/commandos, cookie dough, fifteen little black dresses, fire bombs, drug dealers, more kidnapping and an extremely, heart wrenchingly romantic pseudo-superhero…. seriously? Is there much else left?

“Woulda made a deal with the devil to get my wife and daughter back.” He was still whispering and my breath stilled.
“Don’t have that chance so nothin’ I can do about that. But I darkened your door, baby, and you lit up my life again so I’m not lettin’ that go.”

The ending is brilliant but there is drama right to the wire! There is even drama in the epilogue but it’s a really great HEA!

“Before you go, give me the dimples,”

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

     

This entry was posted in Action/Drama Reads, Alpha Males, Delicious Sexual Tension, Dream Man, Five Stars, Kidnap, Kristen Ashley, Mystery Man. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment