More Than Forever (More Than #4) by Jay McLean ★★★★★

-LUCY-
There is a love so fierce it cannot be measured.
A heart so strong it will never slow.
There is a promise so sure it can never lie.
He promised me that love forever.
Even when it wasn’t enough.

-CAMERON-
Forever. Everlasting. Eternal.
There is no measure of time.
No sounds of the ticking of a clock.
Just the rising and falling of the sun.
And our own sense of forever.

But our forever isn’t always.

 

5 STARS!

My Casting:

I read the first three books in this series whilst I wasn’t blogging, and loved them. So I had high hopes for More Than Forever, and it didn’t let me down.

This series is about pure, uninterrupted, squishy-feels, heart-warming romance. It follows a group of friends throughout high-school and college, whilst they overcome heartbreak, loss and tragedy, discovering friendship and love along the way. What makes these books is the surrounding characters. Each couple have their own book(s), but they all feature heavily in every single books, because they all play huge, integral roles in one another lives. And I just adore that about the More Than series!

“You changed her life, Cam. And fate, it changed all of us.”

More Than Forever (More Than, #4) is the story of Lucy and Cameron. I have to admit, we kind of already knew the premise of Lucy and Cam’s story, so I wasn’t sure that Jay McLean would be able to make this book compelling enough for it to compete with the three books that came before it. And if I’m honest, I’m so desperate for Heidi and Dylan’s story, that I just wanted to skip Lucy and Cameron altogether, despite enjoying their characters in the other books.

But I was so wrong. There was so much more to Cam and Lucy than we’d seen. Lucy has always been feisty and full of spirit, but in More Than Forever you see a whole different side to her, and you see the role Cameron played in getting her to be the person she is now.

“She laughs.
My world stops.”

More Than Forever goes back to an earlier time than the other three books, right back to when Lucy and Cam were just 15. But then it catches up and runs parallel to the other stories.

Technically, each couples’ story is a stand alone with their own happy-ever-after. But I really wouldn’t recommend reading them out of order, as there are spoilers in each book, for the previous books. You’ll get so much from them, including benefiting from the way Jay McLean expertly builds the characters, if you read them in the order they are intended.

Romance-junkie, Lucy, is such a great fun character. She’s super horny, hilarious and a little spitfire when she gets angry. And Cam is so gorgeous. He is so strong and reliable for such a young boy and my heart totally melted for him.

“Some nights, she wakes me after reading something and wants to try it.
I swear to God I’m the luckiest asshole in the world.”

I loved reading about how Cam and Lucy found their way together. Being one another’s firsts, they taught each other everything about love and sex, they knew each other inside out and everything they did, they did with the other in mind. It’s so adorably cute.

As I said, these books are pure NA romance. They have their share of angst and drama, but it’s very relationship focused and I love that. I’m a romance reader so no amount of love is too much, in my opinion. Jay McLean’s writing is seamless and engaging and she is an absolute master of writing a character so that you feel like you have been friends with them for years.

“The way he cares for me—the way he protects me. It’s fierce.”

 

I highly recommend all four of the More Than books and I’m super pumped for More Than Enough (out mid 2015), which is Heidi and Dylan’s story, and is, at the moment, something of an intriguing mystery.

 

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

     

 

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/6190649/?claim=xdhvvrt69mf”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

This entry was posted in College Romance, Five Stars, NA, Series, Uncategorized, Virginal Heroine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment