MacKenzie Fire (Shine Not Burn #2) by Elle Casey ★★★★

Ian MacKenzie’s been a cranky pain in the *ss for going on three years now, still bitter over his failed engagement and his life on the ranch. Enter Candice, his sister-in-law Andie’s best friend, out for a two-week visit as they await the birth of Ian’s first niece.

Candice is a successful business owner, an expert with hair and fashion, determined to look gorgeous even while slipping and sliding all over the Oregon winter ice. Without even trying, she somehow manages to get right up under Ian’s skin and make him say and do things he would never normally say or do.

When the two of them end up spending time together, the sparks and the snow flies. The question is whether they’re going to do anything about it, and what will happen to the rest of their lives if they do.

4 Stars for Ian & Candice.

★★★★

My Casting:

I absolutely loved Elle Casey’s first book, Shine Not Burn, so I couldn’t wait to read MacKenzie Fire.
Now, it wasn’t quite as brilliant as the first book, but it was still pretty good.

Elle Casey is really talented at writing light hearted, fun, comic stories that provide a momentary relief from all of the hard-hitting, emotive books we have on offer elsewhere. These are books that you can imagine on the big-screen, as an easy-watching rom-com.

I totally feel like an FBI agent right now, with my legs spread and my arms out straight, gripping the gun. I’ll bet my butt looks awesome.
… I squint at the target, holding the gun like I’ve seen FBI guys do it in the movies. I am so badass.

However, unlike Shine Not Burn which was just brilliantly funny throughout, I did findMacKenzie Fire a little more silly and OTT in places.

Candice is the most over the top character, who is more concerned with how her hair and outfit looks than anything else. But you can’t help but like her. She’s funny and crazy and makes you roll your eyes with a smile on your face.

“You are not just one person, Candice. You’re a whole tornado of a person.”

And then there is Ian, who we’ve already met in Shine Not Burn. He’s the archetypal brooding, grumpy cowboy who’s once bitten, twice shy. He thinks Candice is ridiculous and can’t be dealing with her brand of crazy, but you just know that watching him soften is going to be super cute.

Do not look at his package, Candice. Do not look at his package. My eyes move of their own accord. Oh dammit, you looked at his package! And … oh my … Oh my, my, my … There’s a giant bulge! Hooray for giant bulges and the jeans that let me see them!

There definitely wasn’t as much sexy time or as much sexual tension as there was in the first book. I remember the first book being super sexy and we didn’t really get that so much in book #2.

However, if you’re after something easy and fun, that will make you laugh, then I’d really recommend Elle Casey’s books. I’ll definitely be reading more of her work when I need a break from the heart-break.

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

     

This entry was posted in Cowboys, Four Stars, Funny Reads, Series. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment