The Hook Up (Game On #1), by Kristen Callihan ★★★★★

 

The rules: no kissing on the mouth, no staying the night, no telling anyone, and above all… No falling in love.

Anna Jones just wants to finish college and figure out her life. Falling for star quarterback Drew Baylor is certainly not on her to do list. Confident and charming, he lives in the limelight and is way too gorgeous for his own good. If only she could ignore his heated stares and stop thinking about doing hot and dirty things with him. Easy right?

Too bad he’s committed to making her break every rule…

Football has been good to Drew. It’s given him recognition, two National Championships, and the Heisman. But what he really craves is sexy yet prickly Anna Jones. Her cutting humor and blatant disregard for his fame turns him on like nothing else. But there’s one problem: she’s shut him down. Completely.

That is until a chance encounter leads to the hottest sex of their lives, along with the possibility of something great. Unfortunately, Anna wants it to remain a hook up. Now it’s up to Drew to tempt her with more: more sex, more satisfaction, more time with him. Until she’s truly hooked. It’s a good thing Drew knows all about winning.

All’s fair in love and football…Game on.

5 Stars for Drew & Anna.
★★★★★

My Casting:

Star quarterback falls for the good girl who’s sworn off of relationships. It’s a fab NA, college romance, but with a little more depth. I really, really enjoyed this one.

I love Drew Baylor. Oh my goodness, this guy will make you swoon for days! He’s hot, popular, talented but sooooo cute and sensitive. He isn’t your typical man-whoring jock. He’s just lovely.

“I’m not going to say it was love at first sight. No, it was more like oh, hell-yes-please, I’ll have that. With a helping of right-the-fuck-now on the side.”

Anna took a little more warming up to. I always find it a little annoying when the heroine is all sworn off of men. Yeh, I know it happens, but there are just too many book heroines who have given up on the idea of romance and are hell-bent on resisting the advances of our sexy book heroes. But I did learn to love Anna, as she softened towards hottie Drew!

“Why won’t you let me kiss you, Anna?”
I can’t breathe.
“Why, Anna?”
“It’s too much,” I rasp.
“Not when I want everything.” He says it so deep and strong, a staking of a claim. “And I want everything with you, Anna.”

The Hook Up is scorching hot, almost from the off. And then, it just gets hotter! These guys just burn up the page from the get go and you will not be disappointed if you love a couple with serious chemistry. Anna and Drew may not be perfect, but this book will have you believing that they absolutely are perfect for one another.

“Anna, baby, you would never be the girl I didn’t see, whether we had met now or in high school.” He pulls me in close, rubbing his nose along the tip of mine. “Don’t you understand? I know you wouldn’t be because, since the moment I laid eyes on you, you’re all I can see.”

Now, I just have to add this little side note. It hasn’t affected my rating of this book at all, but I felt it was worth mentioning. I recently read a few books back to back and am writing reviews for them all in one go. Obviously The Hook Up was one of them, and just by total coincidence The Deal, by Elle Kennedy, was another. I read The Deal first, and I have to say, I loved it. And then I started reading The Hook Up and the similarities were just too regular to be a coincidence… Even the whole birthdays on the same day/one day apart thing. And it’s definitely worth mentioning that The Hook Up was written first, so I can’t help being suspicious that The Deal has kind of stolen a lot The Hook Up’s story. And that really disappointed me. So, if you loved The Deal, I’d highly recommend reading The Hook Up. Let me know what you think.

 

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

     

This entry was posted in College Romance, Delicious Sexual Tension, Five Stars, NA, Series, Sports Romance, Sports Star Romance, Stand Alones, Steamy Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment