Rock Addiction (Rock Kiss #1), by Nalini Singh ★★★


A bad boy wrapped in a sexy, muscled, grown-up package might be worth a little risk…

Molly Webster has always followed the rules. After an ugly scandal tore apart her childhood and made her the focus of the media’s harsh spotlight, she vowed to live an ordinary life. No fame. No impropriety. No pain. Then she meets Zachary Fox, a tattooed bad boy rocker with a voice like whiskey and sin, and a touch that could become an addiction.

A one-night stand with the hottest rock star on the planet, that’s all it was meant to be…

Fox promises scorching heat and dangerous pleasure, coaxing Molly to extend their one-night stand into a one-month fling. After that, he’ll be gone forever, his life never again intersecting with her own. Sex and sin and sensual indulgence, all with an expiration date. No ties, no regrets. Too late, Molly realizes it isn’t only her body that’s become addicted to Fox, but her heart…

3.5 Stars for Fox & Molly.
★★★

My Casting:

Rock Addiction is a rock-star romance that can be read as a stand alone but is part of an ongoing series. There were some parts that I found a little ‘meh’ and then some parts I could tolerate.

I wasn’t all that keen on Molly. She was a bit of a wet lettuce at times, which I just can’t stand in a heroine. She was cheesy and weak and just got on my nerves, really. I didn’t find her character all that believable, in all honesty. She’s a twenty three/four(?), virginal librarian with all of these self-imposed rules to live by, thanks to her traumatic past, yet she didn’t even think twice about hopping into bed with famous rock-God, ‘Fox’ and letting him pop her cherry, a couple of moments after meeting him.

No way was he leaving this party without her, the raw need to possess her a violent craving in his gut.

She’s all like ‘Oh, by the way Mr. Rockstar, I’ve never had sex before. But after just minutes of knowing you I’m happy to just lay back and let you do what you want to me’and he’s all like ‘Yeh, ok, no big deal. I’m a totally decent, upstanding, respectable guy, despite all the rumours you’ve heard, but I’m just gonna fuck you anyway.’ And then, guess what?! The sex was great! Because, obviously, he’s a rock star! And rock stars are always great at sex. Even with virgins.
Yeh. Right.

So what kept me reading? Zachary Fox, I guess. I liked Fox and something about him kept me hanging on in there. I actually felt a bit sorry for the guy. He decides he’s in all the way with Molly after their first night together, but she has uber issues and just can’t commit.

She was tired. Tired of always being responsible, of never permitting herself to let go in case she went too far…

Overall, this book just wasn’t hugely original and kind of chugged along. I felt like there were some real missed opportunities, where the author could have really developed Molly and Fox’s relationship outside of the bedroom. There was one chapter where they were planning their first ‘date’ to go and see koalas. They’re trying to work out how to dodge the paparazzi, have some alone time, be a ‘normal’ couple, etc. which I thought was going to be super cute and a real milestone in their relationship, but then the author just totally flaked out on writing that scene, changed the direction for no reason that I could understand and the whole date idea just bombed. And this happened a couple of times throughout the book.

In contrast, the author spent a lot of page space developing Molly and Fox’s relationship inside the bedroom. The sex is abundant. But sadly, not particularly great. Again, there were some great build ups and then things tended to kind of just flop. (Excuse the pun!) I felt like Fox was just always wanting a quickie, always wanting to just stick it in without the foreplay, which, let’s be honest, is just a little lazy and selfish. Lol! Come on Fox, give your woman the time and attention she deserves!!

“I mean, who passes out from an orgasm?”

All in all, nothing all that much really happened and I just found Rock Addicition a little blah. I definitely preferred the second half of the book, where things got a little meatier and we had the mandatory rock concerts, jealous groupies and media scandals that we’ve come to expect in our rock-star romance novels. But still, every situation just seemed to die a premature death and never really went anywhere.

It has to be said, although it wasn’t completely awful, I don’t think I’ll be continuing on with this series.

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

     

This entry was posted in Rock Star Romance, Three & a Half Stars, Virginal Heroine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment