Twisted Perfection & Simple Perfection (Perfection #1 & 2) by Abbi Glines ★★★★★

 

★★★★★

Woods had his perfect life mapped out for him. Rise up the ranks of the family business. Marry the rich girl of his parents’ dreams. Pretend that wealth and privilege was all he’d ever wanted. Then a girl named Della breezed into town, a beautifully imperfect stranger who captured his heart and opened his eyes to a new kind of future. Woods is ready and willing to sacrifice everything for her when the sudden death of his father leaves him with his mother to care for and a business to manage.

Della is determined to be strong for Woods, even as she’s quietly falling to pieces. No matter how far from home she’s run, the ghosts of her past have never stopped haunting her. Struggling to hide her true feelings from Woods, Della fears she can’t be his rock without dragging him down into the darkness with her. But is she strong enough to let go of the last thing holding her together?

My Casting

  • Woods
  • Della


    PLEASE NOTE: I am writing this review of the series as a whole and not the individual books. However, it is still a SPOILER FREE review!

    Why oh why did I wait so long to read these books??

5 STARS FOR WOODS & DELLA!

I loved Rush and Blaire. And I loved Woods in the Too Far series. So can somebody please tell me why I waited for so long before diving heart first into Woods’s story?

So, did I mention that I love Woods? Well, I do. I loved him before I read these books and I love him even more now. He’s just such a cutie pie!

 “I’ll be whatever she needs me to be. I can’t walk away from her; I tried. I’m hooked. And now I’m about to lose my mind because I don’t know how to help her. I just need to go find her and hold her the rest of the damn day. I need to know she’s okay.”



I was totally intrigued by Della’s story! Della’s mother has kept her locked away in her house since she was born. She hasn’t had any interactions with people other than her best friend and she doesn’t know anything about real life. I loved the fact that she was so innocent, yet so determined to live her life and experience what the world had to offer. She was brave, but broken. Strong, yet plagued by her past. Utterly endearing.

 “In all her twisted perfection she had made me fall helplessly in love with her. A life without her in it seemed pointless.”



Shall we talk about Woods again? Ok, lets. Every woman deserves to be loved by a Woods. He’s sweet, sexy, has a filthy mouth and a huge…. HEART! (Get your mind out of the gutter ladies) Once he got his head of his ass and sorted out his priorities, Woods is just the perfect book-boyfriend. He loves Della unconditionally, fiercely and without apology. Major swoon!

 “You are mine. Do you hear me? You are mine, Della Sloane. I will take care of you. Nothing is taking you away from me. Nothing.”



But as with a lot of our favourite love stories… life’s a bitch and throws curve ball after curve ball at these young love-birds. Christ, at times I could totally see Della’s crazy mother’s reasoning because I totally wanted to look Woods and Della up and let them love and heal one another, without the interruption and interference of the rest of the world. 

 “Della was my go all in. She was my winning hand. You can’t play when you go all in and lose. I’m out.”
“No, you’re not. This hand ain’t over yet,” Rush said.



The first book ends on a cliffhanger, but it isn’t a relationship cliffhanger. Although Woods and Della go through their ups and downs, when the first book ends, they are in a good place, relationship-wise. I liked that. However, there was no way I was stopping there. There was a lot of unanswered questions and so much more to their story, that needed to be told. And I loved the second book just as much as the first. I could read about these characters forever.

 “He wants you, Della.”
“Sometimes what we want isn’t what is best for us.”



And then there was the bit where I’m pretty sure I had my heart torn from my chest. It comes in the second book and I totally, completely did not see it coming. I was blindsided and it gutted me. In fact, I’m still angry. *scowls at Abbi* And I don’t know that I ever won’t be angry about it. It’s going to be hard to get past. But we shall see.

The surrounding characters of Rosemary Beach are second to none. I want to be part of their little gang. I want to be a server at the Kerrington Club. I want to go to their beach bonfire parties. I want to nab me one of these amaaaazing Rosemary Beach men.What do they put in the water over there in Florida?

 “Rush walked into the room with Nate in his arms and a baby bag over his shoulder. That was funny shit. Rush Finlay, badass rock star’s son, had a baby bag and a baby in his arms.”



And then I can’t finish this review without mentioning Braden and Kent. This hand heart goes out to you, Kent! And I was totally loving Tripp too… but then there were a few things that made me question him. I assume he is getting his own book though, so that will be interesting. But yeh, Tripp was pretty damn great, too.

 “Hold her for me. Hold her tight. Don’t let her be lonely. Don’t let her hurt. Please.”



I adore Abbi Glines’s writing! It’s consuming, addictive, engaging, gripping… all that stuff. Basically, when I open her books, I can’t close them until my eyes won’t stay open anymore or I reach the ‘The End’. We got a nice little slice of Rush and Blaire pie in this duet, and Abbi did a great job of paving the way for the rest of the character’s stories. I can’t wait for Grant, Harlow and psycho Nan. How the hell is that one going to play out?! *rubs hands together*



Have you read it? Tell us what you thought?

Find this series on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase Twisted Perfection (Perfection #1) on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Purchase Simple Perfection (Perfection #2) this on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Abbi Glines, Cliffhanger, Death, Delicious Sexual Tension, Emotional Reads, Five Stars, Mental Health, NA, Rich Guys, Series, Simple Perfection, Steamy Reads, The Perfection series, Twisted Perfection. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Twisted Perfection & Simple Perfection (Perfection #1 & 2) by Abbi Glines ★★★★★

  1. Aline Salmon says:

    I love Abbi too!!!! And you gotta read Grant’s story!!!! I heard that she’s writing about Tripp and Bethy!!
    Love all your reviews!!!

  2. Wendy Owens says:

    I just love Abbi Glines! I haven’t had a chance to read this one yet, but it is on my short list of next books to read, and your review just might bump it to the top. Abbi has defaintely inspired me as I write my own new adult romance books. I love her so much, I had her on as my first podcast guest on the hidden bookcase: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E6Ltp8jYYmc.

    And thanks for keeping the review spoiler free, I really am looking forward to this book.

Leave a Reply

