Shine Not Burn (Shine Not Burn #1), by Elle Casey

 

IT HAPPENED IN VEGAS. 

I can’t be held responsible. Things that happen there are supposed to stay there, right? Right? Yeeeah. Not so much.

Andie’s just days away from tying the knot, but there’s just ooooone little glitch. Apparently, she’s already married. Or someone with her name is married to a guy out in Oregon of all places, and the courthouse won’t issue her a marriage license until it’s all cleared up. Tripping her way through cow pies and country songs to meet up with a man who gets around places on horseback is her very last idea of how to have a good time, but if she’s going to get married, make partner at the firm, and have two point five kids before she’s thirty-five, she needs to get to the bottom of this snafu and fix it quick … before her fiance finds out and everything she’s been working toward goes up in flames.

My Casting

  • Mack
  • Andie


    *Grins* I sooo needed this book. 

5 STARS FOR MACK & ANDIE!

This book was everything I needed right now. Hot, sexy, cute, hilariously funny and engaging. I absolutely loved it.

 “Here’s to getting lucky in Vegas.”



I really, really enjoyed Elle Casey’s writing style. I can so totally imagine Shine Not Burn as a rom-com movie that Cameron Diaz or Jennifer Aniston would star in. There’s this scene where Andie is trudging along a dirt track, when the tyre on her car blows and she doesn’t know where she is, she’s tired, exasperated and terrified of the snakes she knows are just a stones throw away. I had such strong visuals of this scene in a movie. 

I love Andie. I want to be Andie’s friend. After a difficult childhood, Andie has a plan. A life-plan that will get her the success she craves. Expect the life-plan is a total crock of shit. Lol! One steamy night with a smokin’ hot cowboy, in Vegas, for her best friend’s bachelorette party seems like a good idea at the time, but kind of throws a spanner in the works, two years down the line, when she goes to apply for a marriage license and finds she’s already married and can’t remember a thing!

 Two days in Vegas, running after my best friends and keeping them out of the kind of trouble that follows a person home. How hard could it be?



Thank God for small mercies, because Andie’s fiance is a complete fucktard. 

So Andie is forced to take a small trip to Oregan to meet her stranger of a husband and get him to simply sign the divorce papers, so she can be on her way and back on track with her life-plan.

 “Come on, wife. Come take a little ride with me. Let me show you all the things you’ll be missing when you go back East and leave me here with a broken heart.”



Enter Mack. Oh my! Mack the super sexy, ripped, tanned, gorgeous, brooding cowboy. Andie, I would gladly take him off your hands!! Mack is delicious. 

 He likes me! A lot! He really likes me! And he’s hung like a horse!



I just loved the humour in this story. I quite often shed a tear whilst reading. But to get me to actually laugh out loud, is somewhat harder, even if I find something quite funny. But this book is bloody hilarious! I woke my other half up because I got the giggles. I snorted tea through my nose. I read certain paragraphs a couple of times over because I just loved the writing. I couldn’t get enough of it. The part where Andie is learning to play blackjack… genious! I loved it.

 I pushed the up button, trembling a little over what I was doing, namely bringing a complete stranger up to my room an hour after meeting him so I could rip his clothes off and be a wild and crazy slut. I was so ready to be a prostitute right now. Twelve hundred bucks was definitely doing to buy him a blow job.



And then there’s sex. Holy hotness. These two are veeerrrrrryy hot. They just can’t keep their naughty little mitts off of one another and I lapped it up. I love that Mack was so sure of how much he wanted Andie. And I loved that Andie totally wasn’t sure at all, but just couldn’t help herself anyway, all the while dropping in the pathetic *puts on girly voice* “No, Mack, no, we mustn’t.” Heehee! Yeh right. Anyone that could say no to that hunk of man-candy would be worthy of a medal.

 “I couldn’t help it. I couldn’t be blamed. I was just a sorry little slut who couldn’t control her libido.”



So, if you’re looking for something that will make you laugh and make you swoon in equal measures, look no further. Mack the handsome cowboy at your service!

I can’t wait for the next book!



Have you read it? Tell us what you thought?

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Alpha Males, Cowboys, Elle Casey, Five Stars, Funny Reads, Quick Reads, Series, Shine Not Burn series, Stand Alones, Steamy Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

