Loving Mr. Daniels, by Brittainy C. Cherry ★★★★★

★★★★★

To Whom it May Concern, 

It was easy to call us forbidden and harder to call us soulmates. Yet I believed we were both. Forbidden soulmates. 

When I arrived to Edgewood, Wisconsin I didn’t plan to find him. I didn’t plan to stumble into Joe’s bar and have Daniel’s music stir up my emotions. I had no clue that his voice would make my hurts forget their own sorrow. I had no idea that my happiness would remember its own bliss. 

When I started senior year at my new school, I wasn’t prepared to call him Mr. Daniels, but sometimes life happens at the wrong time for all the right reasons. 

Our love story wasn’t only about the physical connection.

It was about family. It was about loss. It was about being alive. It was silly. It was painful. It was mourning. It was laughter.

It was ours. 

And for those reasons alone, I would never apologize for loving Mr. Daniels. 

-Ashlyn Jennings

My Casting:



I absolutely adored this book! Everything about just spoke to me on every level. 

5 STARS FOR MR. DANIELS & ASHLYN!

I adore the idea of a good student/teacher, forbidden romance, but obviously, that doesn’t make every student/teacher romance a sure thing. Some are executed better than others, you connect with some characters deeper than others and some plotlines are more gripping than others. Well, Loving Mr. Daniels hit every spot for me.

 “I’d never seen two people who loved each other so quietly.”



The writing was bold, distinct and original. It drew me in instantly. It’s colloquial, easy to read and it resonated. Sometimes, you just find an author who’s writing you really click with. And clearly, Brittainy C. Cherry is one such author for me. I just love her style.

 Forever forever and always always.



And then there were the characters. Obviously, first and foremost are Daniel Daniels and Ashlyn Jennings, but I’ll come back to them in a minute. I just have to mention the rest of the cast that I totally lost my heart to… Gabby, Ryan, Hailey, Henry, Bentley… these characters broke my heart, surrounded me with their love, their sadness and their happiness. They consumed me from the moment I picked this book up, to the moment I put it down.

Now, you may or may not have noticed, that I haven’t been blogging lately. I’ve taken a step back because things have changed in ‘real life’ and I just don’t have the time or energy to commit to blogging right now. In the same way, I’ve not been reading so much. I’ve still been reading, but rather than reading half a book a night, I’ve been reading a quarter and then falling asleep. But I couldn’t put this book down. I read it one sitting, staying up until three in the morning to finish it.

So, the main characters. Daniel and Ashlyn. I loved Ashlyn. She was one of the few female protagonists that I really loved the whole way through. Usually it takes me a while to warm to our heroine, and often they frustrate me. But she’s so tragically broken and lost that I just wanted to befriend her and help her through the most difficult times. I loved her relationship with Gabby. I loved her love for Daniel. She was a really great female lead.

 I wasn’t falling for Daniel during the school hours. I was falling for Mr. Daniels.



I can not tell you how much I fell in love with Daniel Daniels. Oh my God, this man!! Again, another broken, lost soul. Another closed off, hardened heart. But what a beautiful, intelligent, sensitive, special man. There was a few times I wanted to kick him up the ass, but on the whole, Daniel is perfection on paper. 

 Beautiful.
Breathtaking.
Brilliant.
Blue eyes.



I wouldn’t call this book sexy, as much as sensual. It made me feel everything they were feeling. The suspense and the forbidden nature of their relationship was only part of it. The rest was just the depth of the connection they shared from the get-go. Daniel and Ashlyn didn’t want each other, they needed each other. I love when I read a book and truly believe the lead characters and two halves of a whole. And I totally felt that with Daniel and Ashlyn.

 “I want to be yours, I want you to be mine, and I hate that we can’t be us. Because I think we were meant to be us.”



Obviously there is the whole forbidden element in this book, which just makes it that juicier, that much more addictive and quite honestly, gave me heart palpitations at times! It isn’t crude or dirty, though. Brittainy Cherry makes you believe that it’s honest and unavoidable and inevitable for Daniel and Ashlyn.

 ‘Brilliant. Simply brilliant.
You’re going to be an amazing author.
I’ll read whatever you write.
I miss you so much it’s hard to breathe.’



There is a whole world of pain, throughout this book. It’s heavy and it’s excruciating and I cried a shit tonne. Every time I thought I was done with the tears, something started them up all over again. It was little things… A look between two characters. A beautifully written sentence that was like a punch straight to the gut. It was just so painful, but so beautiful. So much love, yet so much loss.

 I missed Gabby so much it hurt to stand. It hurt to cry. It hurt to be alive.



The ending is perfect. There is a gorgeous epilogue, too. But I am absolutely head over heels in love with the actual ending of this book. It could not have been more perfect for this couple. It summed them up perfectly and melted my heart.

 “The best things in life aren’t easy. They are touch, they are painful, and they are raw. That makes the arrival to the final destination that much sweeter.”



This is a stunning story of romance, friendship, loss, love, acceptance and self discovery. I highly recommend this to all romance readers and all fans of forbidden love stories.



Have you read it? Tell us what you thought?

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Angst Overload, Brittainy C. Cherry, Death, Delicious Sexual Tension, Emotional Reads, Five Stars, Forbidden Love, NA, Stand Alones, Steamy Reads, Student/Teacher Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Loving Mr. Daniels, by Brittainy C. Cherry ★★★★★

  1. Carmene says:

    Great review. The author’s “The Space in Between” is also worth mentioning.

Leave a Reply

