Creed (Unfinished Hero #2), by Kristen Ashley ★★★★★

 

Way too young, eleven year old Tucker Creed and his six year old neighbor, Sylvie Bissenette, find they have something awful in common. Creed then decides he’s going to do everything in his limited power to shield his Sylvie from her ordeal. So he does and Creed and Sylvie form a bond that grows and blossoms with their ages.

They plot to leave their lives behind, the town they live in that will hold them down and the histories they share that, unless they break free, will bury them. Sylvie goes to their special place, Creed never shows and she doesn’t see him again until it’s too late.

With Creed gone, Sylvie is forced to endure a nightmare and do the unspeakable to end it. To deal, she develops a hard shell with sharp edges that very few can break through. So when Creed again finds his Sylvie, he discovers the girl he loved is locked away and he has to find his way back into her heart without getting shredded in the process.

My Casting

  • Creed
  • Sylvie


    Good ol’ Kristen Ashley. She’s like a pair of old, comfy slippers. Kinda. 😉 In the you-know-you’re-going-to-get-exactly-what-you-want-from-her way! Not so much in the boring-predictable-night-in-front-of-the-television way.

5 STARS FOR CREED & SYLVIE!

I’ve said it before and I’ll keep saying it until I’ve read every one of her books. KA is the queen of badass alpha romance heros. Creed being up there with the best of them.

 “You know, the rulebook states anything agreed through sexual manipulation is thrown out after the act.”
“Yeah, if you’re makin’ love with a normal guy. If you’re doin’ it with a badass, it’s a totally different rulebook.”
I had to admit, this was true.



I’ve had this book on my Kindle for ages (tucked away with all the other KA books I haven’t gotten around to yet) and as Knight currently resides at the top spot on my Favourite-KA-Book-Boyfriends list (joint with Jake from The Will), I was super excited to get my teeth into Tucker Creed’s badass ass to see if he would continue to meet the bar set by Knight. And I have to say, I am totally all over these Unfinished Heroes. *fans self*

Although I have to admit, Creed didn’t quite pip Knight to the post for that coveted top spot, he did come pretty close. This is a fantastic, gripping story of second-chance love.

 “Anya left me or I lost her, I’d never get over it so don’t bullshit me,” he shot back. There’s only one, we both know it, and Tucker Creed was your one. So you aren’t over it. That doesn’t mean you can’t cope. But you won’t cope if you deny that somewhere inside you can’t.”



I wasn’t sure about Sylvie at first. I thought she was going to be a little butch, hard faced for me. It wasn’t that she closed herself off to the world and didn’t want to be loved. Afterall, it’s not like we haven’t seen that before in a romance. It was more that she pretty much wanted to be one of the guys. Now, I know all of the feminists that fought hard for our equality would lynch me right now, but I’m a huge advocator of women being women and men being men. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a modern kinda gal and my other half knows how to cook a mean meal and iron his shirts, but I do like the idea of the men being the physically stronger sex, looking after the women in that way, protecting them, etc. and the women being feminine and even a little vulnerable. And Sylvie is a ballbusting, hardass, fighting female who can apparently take down the biggest, strongest of men. *screws nose up* I wasn’t really feeling it.

 I was five foot two and cheated the gods by drinking a lot and eating whatever I wanted and still, I was thin. I had tits and nicely rounded ass. Neither in overabundance so, no doubt about it, I was slender. I wasn’t girlie, but I wore my honey blonde hair long and wild and I also had a not-to-be-messed-with, once a week schedule of getting a manicure and pedicure.
Still, I could take down a man over a foot taller than me, with over a hundred pounds on me, and have him wining like a baby.



However, she definitely did win me round. In the end, I loved Sylvie. She softened and as your learnt her back story, you were exposed to Sylvie the little girl, full of hopes and dreams, full of love and innocence, before she became Sylvie the cynic. And as Creed wormed his way back into her life, with the subtlety of a hand grenade, you began to see a more accessible, understandable, loveable Sylvie.

 “No matter what’s in our future, no matter if our luck stays good or turns back to shit, from this moment to your last on this earth, know down to your fucking soul that I love you. I trust you. You make me happy. There’s been no one but you and there never will be. Okay?”



So that moves me nicely onto Creed. Everything about Tucker Creed screams KA. He’s badass, he’s possessive, he’s controlling, he doesn’t know the meaning of the word ‘no’, he speaks in that unmistakable KA-Badass dialogue, dropping words here there and everywhere so that it takes you a few conversations to find your stride and get what he’s getting at. He rides a Harley, he fights criminals, he says ‘babe’ alot and he finishes sentences with ‘You get me?’. He manhandles his woman when she doesn’t do as she’s told, even though she’s a mean, well practiced, fighting spitfire of a woman. 

 A Harley elevated anyone’s badass status about seven thousand levels.



If you’ve read KA, you’ll get exactly what I’m on about. Creed is the hot, sexy, badass, alpha pair of slippers I was referring to earlier. He won’t disappoint you.

 “For me, we had this one day and that was it, if I walked out your front door tomorrow and got shot dead, I’d die happy. And I’d die happy because, even for a day, I had you back with me.”



There are some very heavy issues dealt with in this book. Abuse, alcoholism, neglectful parenting, to name a few. Creed and Sylvie were ripped apart by devastating, tragic circumstances that will make your heart ache. There were a couple of scenes that were just almost unbearable to read. You could feel their hearts breaking as they realised the reality of their situation, as the disappointment registered, or as they felt their choices slipping away.

 “I do not go back. Eyes ahead. Feet moving forward. I don’t ever fucking go back. I don’t talk about it. I don’t think about it.”



But the chemistry between these two seriously makes up for everything KA puts you through. The explosive connection between Sylvie and Creed is off the charts hot. I loved their relationship, even the angry sex. Angry, desperate, hard, slow, touching, loving, sad, grateful… Sylvie and Creed go through it all. And despite all of the heartache, there is a whole lot of humour, too. 

 “You take it up the ass. You like to be spanked. And you swallow. Seriously, Sylvie, you were born for me.”
“That was hardly hearts and flowers.”
“A man finds a woman who swallows, that alone, for a guy, is totally fuckin’ hearts and flowers.”



As always with Kristen Ashley books, the epilogue was fabulous. It was everything I’d have hoped for Sylvie and Creed. It was long and perfect and I wouldn’t have expected anything less.

 “They’re dead, Sylvie. We’re here. We’re together. We’re breathin’ and they are fuckin’ dead.” I listened to him pull in a breath before he finished. “We win.”
We win.



Have you read it? Tell us what you thought?

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Action/Drama Reads, Alpha Males, Five Stars, Kristen Ashley, Series, Stand Alones, Steamy Reads, Unfinished Hero series, Virginal Heroine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

