Alpha, by Jasinda Wilder ★★★★

★★★★

The first time it happened, it seemed like an impossible miracle. Bills were piling up, adding up to more money than I could ever make. Mom’s hospital bills. My baby brother’s tuition. My tuition. Rent. Electricity. All of it on my shoulders. And I had just lost my job. There was no hope, no money in my account, no work to be found. And then, just when I thought all hope was lost, I found an envelope in the mail. No return address. My name on the front, my address. Inside was a check, made out to me, in the amount of ten thousand dollars. Enough to pay the bills and leave me some left over to live on until I found a job. Enough to let me focus on classes. There was no name on the check, just “VRI Inc.,” and a post office box address for somewhere in the city. No hint of identity or reason for the check or anything. No mention of repayment, interest, nothing…except a single word, on the notes line: “You.” Just those three letters.

If you receive a mysterious check, for enough money to erase all your worries, would you cash it?

I did.

The next month, I received another check, again from VRI Incorporated. It too contained a single word: “belong.”

A third check, the next month. This time, two words. Four letters. “To me.”

The checks kept coming. The notes stopped. Ten thousand dollars, every month. A girl gets used to that, real quick. It let me pay the bills without going into debt. Let me keep my baby brother in school and Mom’s hospice care paid for. How do you turn down what seems like free money, when you’re desperate? You don’t. I didn’t.

And then, after a year, there was a knock on my door. A sleek black limousine sat on the curb in front of my house. A driver stood in front of me, and he spoke six words: “It’s time to pay your debt.”

Would you have gotten in?

I did.

It turns out $120,000 doesn’t come free.


My Casting

  • ???
  • Kyrie


    Ladies, be prepared to jump straight into a cold shower when you finish this book, because it is H.O.T!!

4 STARS FOR KYRIE & HER MYSTERY MAN!

So, as usual, I have to start this Jasinda Wilder review off by professing my undying love for the woman herself. I absolutely adore her work. 

However, I have to say, this book was quite a lot different than what I’ve come to expect when I open one of her novels. Usually, I would expect high emotion, heart-wrenching plot lines and an all consuming story. And I have to say, I didn’t get that from Alpha. It didn’t make me blub and it didn’t rip my heart from my chest… but my God did it make me hot and bothered.

 “Please…” Who needs dignity when you can have public orgasms?


This book is straight up erotica! It’s sex, steamy hot foreplay and more sex! And it’s utterly delicious! If you’re looking for something sexy and erotic, look no further.

 “I don’t have money to pay him back. I never will.”
“He isn’t interested in money.”



Kyrie St. Claire is struggling, when she loses her job. But when a cheque for ten thousand dollars appears in the mail, she cashes it and pays off her debts. So when a new ten thousand dollar cheque appears each month for a year, she continues to cash them. 
And then a strange man turns up on her doorstep to ‘collect’ her. Her mysterious benefactor has sent for her to pay off the money he has given her.

 You belong to me.



Now, I’m not going to tell you much about our Mr. Moneybags, because I loved the mystery of this book. You are kept in suspense for a long time as Jasinda Wilder drip-feeds you bits of information about our book hero.

 “I am keeping a secret from you, Kyrie. A very deep, very dark secret. One that affects us both, and one that will change the very fabric of our relationship.”



But what I will tell you is that he is smokin’!! Seriously, here we have a man who was just built to pleasure a woman. He’s attentive, talented, rich, successful, confident and…. huge!!! 

 “One word out of you, and I’ll snap. I’ll pull into the nearest alley and fuck you where you sit. You’re flushed and nervous and the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen, and you smell like expensive wine and good food and pussy. I’m barely holding onto my restraint right now.”

Kyrie is great. She has worked hard to look after herself, her sick mother and her younger brother, for years, growing up before her time. She is fiercely independent, ballsy and down to earth. 

 “I was sexually propositioned by Mr. Edwards.”
“Shut the fuck up.”
“He said I could keep my job if I sucked his cock. I mean, he didn’t say it in so many words. But he made it clear… by pulling his dick out.”



She is completely overwhelmed by this mystery man, his home, his posh accent and the game they are playing together. She starts off scared and resistant but eventually starts to give in to his control. 

 “You’re here because I own you, Kyrie.”
“What – what are you going to do to me?” I hated how weak, how afraid I sounded.
“Everything.” His voice was thick with promise. “But nothing you won’t enjoy.”


If I had a complaint, it would be that there was too much sex. God, I can’t believe I’m saying that, because I do love a bit of smut, but seriously, these two were at it like very horny bunny rabbits. This couple give Christian and Ana, and Gideon and Eva a great run for their money. And they’re kinky too!


 “Jesus…I haven’t even had coffee yet.”
“You don’t need coffee, babe. You just to take this vibrator up your ass for me.”


This is a stand-alone adult, erotic romance with a happy ending. And the ending will have you flipping pages quicker than your eyes can adjust to! The first 50% was good, but I couldn’t put this down from 50% on. I had to know the secrets, I had to unravel the mystery! And I just wanted more of our mystery man. I wanted to know him more, I wanted him to open up and bare himself. And I got that. I loved the ending. It was just enough to fill in all of the blanks, but it also left me wanting more. I love it when a book does that!

So, overall, this was superbly sexy, engaging and completely intriguing. I’d have liked a little more emotion and a little more of a Jasinda Wilder stamp on it, which is what I’ve deducted the star for. But I’d highly recommend this book to all smut and erotica lovers. You will not be disappointed if you enjoy your books heavy in the nookie department!

Have you read it? Tell us what you thought?


‘Alpha’ Statistics
• Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥♥
• Ending: Happy ending
• POV: Kyrie
• Narrative: First person. Past tense.
• Series: ✗ 
• Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
• Themes:
Mystery
Erotica
• WARNING: This book contains…
Sexual content
• Writing: Fantastic

Giveaway Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/711526104/

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Author Bio

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jasinda Wilder is a Michigan native with a penchant for titillating tales about sexy men and strong women. When she’s not writing, she’s probably shopping, baking, or reading. Some of her favorite authors include Nora Roberts, JR Ward, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Liliana Hart and Bella Andre. She loves to travel and some of her favorite vacations spots are Las Vegas, New York City and Toledo, Ohio. You can often find Jasinda drinking sweet red wine with frozen berries and eating a cupcake.

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Alpha Males, BDSM, Contracts & Arrangements, Delicious Sexual Tension, Four Stars, Jasinda Wilder, Rich Guys, Stand Alones, Steamy Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Alpha, by Jasinda Wilder ★★★★

  1. kalealexa says:

    Same here. I want more … !

  2. lepgold says:

    Great review. I gave it 4 stars too. I don’t think I’ve read Jasinda Wilder before now so I’m not sure what stamp of hers your talking about so I’m going to check out other books of hers.

Leave a Reply

