Play (Stage Dive #2), by Kylie Scott ★★★★★


★★★★★

Kylie Scott returns with the highly anticipated follow-up to international bestseller Lick. Mal Ericson, drummer for the world famous rock band Stage Dive, needs to clean up his image fast—at least for a little while. Having a good girl on his arm should do the job just fine. Mal doesn’t plan on this temporary fix becoming permanent, but he didn’t count on finding the one right girl. Anne Rollins never thought she’d ever meet the rock god who plastered her teenage bedroom walls—especially not under these circumstances. Anne has money problems. Big ones. But being paid to play the pretend girlfriend to a wild life-of-the-party drummer couldn’t end well. No matter how hot he is. Or could it?

My Casting

  • Mal
  • Anne

    Fab, fun, refreshing and hilariously comical!

5 STARS FOR MAL & ANNE!

I absolutely loved Lick, the first book in the Stage Dive series, and I especially loved Mal Ericsson, or what little we saw of him in Lick. So I was super excited to know his book was coming next. And it was everything I hoped it would be.

 “They’re mocking us,” I said.
“Nonsense. We just fucked so hard we broke your bed. They wish they were us. The natural order of sexual status has been restored.”


Anne has had a run of bad luck. She’s too nice and people take advantage of her. Her next door neighbour Lauren’s friend, Ev, has just married David Ferris. Rockstar adonis from the band Stage Dive. So when Anne comes home to find her bum of a room-mate has not only cleared off, but also cleaned Anne out of furniture and finances, Lauren insists that a celebrity, rock-band party will be just the tonic she needs. 

 “You, Miss Rollins, are a doormat.”



What Anne doesn’t expect is that maybe her teenage crush and rock-star idol, drumming legend, Malcolm Ericson, would provide a large dose of that tonic. What she expects even less is that a couple of innocent conversations at a party would lead to her having a new, uninvited roomie… And one in the shape of a panty-droppingly sexy, overly-energetic drummer!
Mal needs a fake girlfriend. Anne needs money to pay her rent. What could possibly go wrong? Right?!

 “It’s fate, Anne. Written in the stars. Leave it the fuck alone.”



I totally love Kylie Scott’s writing. It’s real easy reading and I just seem to really click with her style. Her writing is clever, laugh-out-loud, snort-tea-through-your-nose funny, very sexy and just sucks me in. 

 “God, you confuse me. I don’t think my head has stopped spinning since you walked in the door.”
“You can be confused later. But come on my face now, please?”



Mal is freakin’ hilarious!!! He’s like an over-excitable puppy that’s insanely annoying but that you just can’t stay mad with. He takes everything literally, he’s really quite childlike in a lot of ways and I’m pretty sure his parents should have had him tested for ADHD at some point! I knew he would be great and I’m so pleased he lived up to my expectations. He’s a ball of barely contained, witty, unpredictable energy and I absolutely adored him. He’s also incredibly sexy!!


 Muscular arms put the sleeves of his shirt to the test. Drummer’s arms. They were certainly nice as body parts went, covered in ink and bulging in all the right ways.



But like so many of our loveable heroes, Mal has his own set of secrets that he just isn’t ready to share. 

Anne was a nice surprise. A great match for Mal. I loved that she was totally infatuated with Mal, seeing as she’d had posters of him on her bedroom wall since she was young, but tried so hard to pretend she wasn’t affected by him. Anne is a normal, every-day gal and is kind of doing it for the girl-next-door in Play. She isn’t above fan-girling over the fact that Mal is a super hot rock-star and I loved that, because hey, if a sexy drummer moved himself into my apartment unannounced, I’d be peeing my pants, too!

 I gritted my teeth and tried to smile. Most likely I resembled a lunatic. One that had spent way too much time imagining him naked. Good god, the shame.



So, yeh, this is really totally unrealistic. As if you’d let a man move in with you, when you don’t even know him… not to mention that man is a world famous rock drummingGod. That kinda thing just doesn’t happen to the average lady. But you kind of have to accept this for what it is. It’s a rom-com, through and through. It’s funny, it’s OTT and some of it is completely ridiculous, but it’s absolutely great! 

 “You’re beautiful, Anne’s pussy. Just beautiful. And I’m not mean like her. I’m on your side and I love you very much because you feel fucking amazing wrapped around my dick.”


We get a great dose of Ev and David, from Lick, too. Which was nice. As in the first book, the surrounding characters… the band, Anne’s friends, etc. were fab and added so much to this story.

I’m a huuuuge fan of rock-star romances. I love Olivia Cunning’s work, I love The Mighty Storm and obviously there’s my main man, Kellan Kyle. So I’m always on the look out for great new rock-stars to love on. And the boys from Stage Dive really are very loveable indeed.

 Forget Bond and his ilk. I’ll take a drummer in a suit any day of the week.



Next, we’re going to get David’s brother, Jimmy Ferris’s story. He’s the lead singer of the band and is just about Mal’s polar opposite. He’s surly, moody and volatile and I just can’t wait to see how Kylie tackles him, with her unique, comedic writing style, because I just know it’s going to be good!

These books aren’t going to turn your world upside down or alter your view on life, but they are great if you’re looking for a sexy, easy, fun read. I’d highly recommend bothLick and Play!

 “Life’s a song, Anne. Let’s play.”



Have you read it? Comment below and tell us what you thought?



‘Play’ Statistics
• Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥
• Ending: Happy ending
• Length: 304 pages
• POV: Anne’s POV
• Narrative: First person, past tense.
• Series: Yes 
• Reading Order: 
– Book #1 – Lick (Stage Dive, #1) 
– Book #2 – Play (Stage Dive, #2) 
– Book #3 – Lead (Stage Dive, #3) (Not yet released)
– Book #4 – Deep (Stage Dive, #4) (Not yet released)
• Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
• Themes:
Rock-star romance
Fake relationship agreement
• WARNING: This book contains…
Sexual content.
• Writing: Brilliant

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Contracts & Arrangements, Five Stars, Funny Reads, Kylie Scott, Quick Reads, Rock Star Romance, Series, Stage Dive series, Stand Alones. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Play (Stage Dive #2), by Kylie Scott ★★★★★

  1. Yes! I loved it! Kylie Scott’s style is very fresh and fun, as you said.

  2. candice says:

    I absolutly love this book and Lick too. i love the authors style of writing, can’t wait for her next two books to come out!

Leave a Reply

