Maybe Someday, by Colleen Hoover ★★★★★


★★★★★

At twenty-two years old, aspiring musician Sydney Blake has a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her good friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers Hunter cheating on her with Tori—and she is left trying to decide what to do next.

Sydney becomes captivated by her mysterious neighbor, Ridge Lawson. She can’t take her eyes off him or stop listening to the daily guitar playing he does out on his balcony. She can feel the harmony and vibrations in his music. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either: He seems to have finally found his muse. When their inevitable encounter happens, they soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one…

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover, a passionate tale of friendship, betrayal, and romance—and the enchanting music that inspires one young woman to put her life back together.

From the author of the New York Times bestsellers Slammed, Point of Retreat, Hopeless, This Girl, and Losing Hope, Maybe Someday is destined to become another bestseller and long-lasting fan favorite.

Includes a free original soundtrack by musician Griffin Peterson.

My Casting

Five words that explain everything you need to know about my Maybe Somedayreading experience… I couldn’t put it down!

5 STARS FOR SYDNEY & RIDGE!

“I failed miserably at trying not to fall in love with you.”
“I failed first.”

The book begins when Sydney Blake finds herself homeless, jobless, boyfriendless and friendless, all in the same hour, and on her birthday, no less. 
When Ridge Lawson, the hot guitar playing guy from the balcony opposite Sydney’s old apartment, offers her a place to take refuge from the rain, as she contemplates how her life has completely fallen apart within the last hour or so, they each secretly try to ignore the attraction they have for one another. But sometimes, matters of the heart just will not be ignored.

Beat, beat, pause.
Contract, expand.
Inhale, exhale.

This book is one of those that just completely and utterly draws you in. You know, looking back on it, for the most part, there wasn’t even that much going on in this plot. It was slow building and it was subtle. But I was just completely consumed by it. 

I was drawn in by the palpable chemistry that our two lead characters share. Colleen Hoover has written their connection to perfection. You can feel every ounce of frustration, every butterfly, every pull of desire and longing. And you can feel the guilt, too. It’s compelling and totally addictive.

I’m convinced that people come across others in life whose souls are completely compatible with their own. Some refer to them as soul mates. Some refer to it as true love. Some people believe their souls are compatible with more than one person, and I’m beginning to understand how true that might be.

 

Now, I am not one of those die-hard ‘I’m totally head over heels in love with everything Co-Ho writes’ fangirls. I liked Slammed, but didn’t find it as orgasmic as everybody else seemed to. I totally loved Hopeless and then, again, I didn’t fawn over Losing Hope like so many of my Goodreads and Facebook friends did. But Maybe Someday definitely did a number on me.

“I…will never…regret you.”

loved Ridge Lawson!! He is the perfect book boyfriend. Colleen hasn’t felt the need to write him as an egotistical asshole, or a man-whore, and then work at winning us round, as is the case with so many of these sexy musicians. Ridge is a good guy, plain and simple. He is just lovely. And he’s hot as hell, he plays guitar and there’s a twist in Ridge’s story that gives him a vulnerability that will just make you want to melt at his feet.

“It’s you. My heart…wants you.”

 

I had mixed feelings for Sydney. At first, I really liked her. In fact, mostly, I did really like her. But there were parts where I wanted to scream at her. But, I have to admit, those parts where usually the scenes where both Ridge and Sydney were making bad choices. Both of them were to blame and some of their decisions really frustrated me. However, I’m ashamed to say that I don’t get pissed off with the hot hero, *embarrassed face* just the heroine. How incredibly shallow of me. Oops. But really, read this book and tell me you could every be angry with Ridge?!

Look at us now.
Wanting more than anything to be free to love each other but cursed by bad timing and loyal hearts.

The book is told in alternating POVs, so we get to hear from both Sydney and Ridge, as things begin to unfold between them. They are both struggling with their own internal battles and they are both floored by the connection they feel developing between them.

Nothing in my life has ever felt so good, yet hurt so achingly bad.

So, this book isn’t at all steamy. In fact, there is one sex scenes and it is classy and understated. But what this book is, is soooo sensual ! The butterflies in my tummy were doing over time with this book. Some of the scenes between Ridge and Sydney just had my stomach doing backflips, front flips and round off back freaking handsprings! I just could not get enough of the sexual tension between these two. 

Desire is easy to fight. Especially when the only weapon desire possesses is attraction.
It’s not so easy when you’re trying to win a war against the heart.

I have to give a shout out to Wilson, too. Wilson is Ridge’s best friend and room-mate and is freakin’ hilarious. He is a total prankster, has a very comical relationship with their other room-mate, Bridgette, and is also a great friend to Sydney when she needs someone to help her through a difficult time. 

I wanted to give Warren a face. And I really wanted to cast Maggie, too. Don’t wanna know who Maggie is? Don’t read the next paragraph.

My Casting

There is a love triangle in this book. And it is quite painful. And there is cheating involved. Maggie is Ridge’s long term girlfriend. And, unfortunately, she is lovely. He is completely devoted to her and very much in love with her. So, as soon as I found that out, I knew this story was going to hurt like a bitch. And it did. But it was so well written that I was able to accept the decisions and the motives of the characters. And I believe that most of you will, too. Again, it all goes back to that connection, that desire. It is so strong, between Ridge and Sydney that there is just no denying it. And as much as they can’t ignore it, I can tell you that for the majority of the book, they deal with it in a mature way. Like I said before, Ridge is a good guy! 

My heartbeats were all for Maggie. They always had been, but the more time I spent with you, the more you started to unintentionally infiltrate and steal some of those heartbeats.

 

There are some great plot twists in this book. When I say that not a whole lot happens, it’s kind of hard to explain. This book is more about the development, changing and realisation of internal feelings, rather than actual action and huge dramas. Most of the book takes place inside Ridge’s apartment. They hardly leave their bedrooms, but that’s totally okay, because with everything that materialises between Ridge and Sydney, you don’t need anything other than what you get with Maybe Someday. Having said that, there are some scenes that will have you racing to devour each word and flipping the pages at the speed of light. Oh my goodness, my heart was in my mouth for these characters… and the worst part, I didn’t even know what I wanted to happen. I was wanting one thing and then feeling consumed with guilt, right along with the characters! 

For her I bend, for you I break

I always love when characters in a book communicate via text or email. I don’t know why. I can’t put my finger on what it is about written communication that gives me the warm and fuzzies, but it just does. Maybe it’s to do with the fact that, when hiding behind a computer or phone, people tend to be braver than when we are talking face to face. So our written words are often more honest and bold. I don’t know. But anyway, there is a lot of that in this book. So I really enjoyed that.

Music plays a huge part in Ridge and Sydney’s story. Lyrics, melodies, listening to music, feeling music, writing music, communicating through music, music as an emotional trigger… it’s all totally perfect. I will definitely be getting myself the Maybe Someday soundtrack, which has been recorded by Griffin Peterson and includes all of the original songs that Sydney and Ridge write together in the book. Fantastic idea and something that will no doubt add a lot to the reading experience.
You can listen to and download the soundtrack at http://www.maybesomedaysoundtrack.com/

 

And if I can’t be yours now
I’ll wait here on this ground
Till you come, till you take me away
Maybe someday
Maybe someday

The ending was perfect. It was sensible and believable and it made everything okay. I love an ending that makes me feel okay about the way I’m feeling, that justifies everything, that wraps everything up beautifully. It was enough that you weren’t left with any questions, but so good that it would always have left you wanting more, no matter how many details you got!

Have you read it? Tell us what you thought?

 

‘Maybe Someday’ Statistics
• Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥
• Ending: Happy ending
• POV: Alternates between Sydney and Ridge.
• Narrative: First person. Present tense.
• Series: ✗ 
• Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
• Themes:
Love triangle
Music
• Writing: Fantastic

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Colleen Hoover, Delicious Sexual Tension, Five Stars, Love Triangle, NA, Stand Alones. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Maybe Someday, by Colleen Hoover ★★★★★

  1. Peter says:

    Good Morning,
    What is the name of the man who plays Ridge Lawson?
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

