Falling Under (Falling #3), by Jasinda Wilder ★★★★★


★★★★★

My name is Colton Calloway. You’ve heard part of my story, but it turns out there’s more. My little girl, Kylie, is all grown up. Seventeen, beautiful, and talented, just like her mother. And just like Nell, my daughter seems to have fallen for a bad boy, one with a lot of darkness and a lot of secrets.

*  *  *

You thought you knew the whole story. You thought it was over. Happily ever after for everyone.

You were wrong. 

My name is Oz Hyde, and you’ve never met me. I’m part of the story, too, but I’m an aside, a quick line or two you’d all but forgotten about. Well guess what? I’ve got my own story to tell. 

Buckle up, ‘cause this is gonna be a hell of a bumpy ride.

My Casting

*sigh* The perfect end to one of my favourite series! I just love the Falling series soooo much!

5 STARS FOR KYLIE & OZ!

WARNING: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR BOOK #1 & #2!

To read my review of Falling Into You (Falling, #1) go to:https://smittensbookblog.wordpress.com…

To read my review of Falling Into Us (Falling, #2) go to:https://smittensbookblog.wordpress.com…

It’s no secret that I am a huge Jasinda Wilder fan. Even the lady herself knows that I bow at her feet and drop everything I’m doing when she releases a new book, and theFalling series was what really cemented Ms. Wilder on my favourite author short list.



As most of you know, this book was a secret. Jasinda hinted that she’d be releasing a new book at the beginning of the week and didn’t tell readers what it would be until release day! So there was a tonne of excitement and speculation surrounding the mystery book. And when I found out that it was a conclusion to the Falling series, I was so excited! I loved Colt and Nell, and I loved Becca and Jason. Both of these stories wrecked me and then restored me in that magical way only the best writers can manage. Just the thought of these books is enough to bring a lump to my throat and tears to my eyes. So I was instantly intrigued when I knew we’d be getting more of either couple.



But Falling Under is totally different to book #1 & #2! At the end of Falling Into Us we learn that Colt and Nell have had a daughter called Kylie. This is the story of Kylie Calloway and Oz Hyde.
A story of a girl who takes a chance on a boy, and a boy who takes a chance on a girl. Two young people from totally different worlds, with completely different backgrounds, who choose to love one another regardless. A story of saviour, family, love and friendship.

 

 “You and I? It may end badly. I may get hurt. But guess what? I don’t care! I’ve never had my heart broken. Maybe I’m fine with rising it, because it’s better than being afraid and going through life bored.”

This book isn’t nearly as emotional as the other two. Honestly, I don’t think I’ve ever cried as much as I did with Falling Into You and Falling Into Us. I was a mess. AndFalling Under isn’t as tough, emotionally. But it isn’t any less beautiful and I did still shed a few tears. I just wanted to climb into this book and stay there, shut out real life and shirk all of my responsibilities, but it didn’t gut me like the other books did. 

I thought that this was going to be a bit of a difficult premise for Jasinda to execute, as this book is set seventeen years after the end of the Falling Into Us, so it’s actually set in the future… I wasn’t sure how this was going to work, but once I got reading, I completely forgot all about that and it really didn’t distract from the story or have any effect on my reading experience whatsoever. Just accept that Jasinda exercises a little poetic licence and you won’t have a problem.

Kylie, Colt and Nell’s baby girl, is all grown up. Kylie is great. I mean, she would be, wouldn’t she… she’s the daughter of Nell & Colt! She’s a good girl but with an independent spirit and her own mind. And I love that her parents allow her to be her own person. She’s nearly eighteen, coming up to graduation, grown into a beautiful, talented young woman and she’s just finding out who she wants to be and what she wants from life. And that’s when she meets Oz Hyde.

 “That lifestyle? It’s bad, Kylie. I don’t want you anywhere near that. It’s dark, and it’s dangerous, and it can suck you under so fast. So fast.”

So, we know who Kylie is… Who is Oz? Well, you will have to read this book to find out who Oz is, as that’s part of the mystery that this book provides. But I can tell you that Oz is a sexy, cocky, guitar playing, pot smoking, long haired, tattooed, motorbike riding bad-boy from the wrong side of tracks. He has a messy past, he’s done a stint in juvie, he’s got self harm issues, he’s got no prospects and no self-belief and he is the complete and total opposite of everything Nell and Colt have brought Kylie up to be.

 “If I amount to anything it’ll be as part of a band. That’s it. I’ll be playing dive bars and shitty clubs, and I’ll get high in the alleys and do lines in the bathrooms, and eventually I’ll OD and that’ll be that.” I glance ad her. “Is that the life you want?”



But we all remember young, troubled, rebel Colton, right? He might be a successful indie musician and producer now, with his big house, his beautiful wife and daughter, his fancy cars and bike and his perfect life… but once upon a time, he was right where Oz is. And he sees so much of himself in Oz. And I have no doubt you will love Oz just like you loved Colt!

 Everybody knows girls like the bad boys, and I’m thoroughly bad.



Speaking of Colt. Colton Calloway as a Daddy… *melt* Oh my goodness. When I didn’t think this man could get any more perfect, he does! He is a wonderful Daddy. Just perfect; caring, sweet, reasonable, protective, firm… Is there anything sexier than a gorgeous man who is a great Daddy, too? I think not.

 “My prerogative as your father is to break the face of anyone who fucks with you. And I will, whether you like it or not. So if our boy Oz prefers to have his face in one piece, he’ll treat you like the precious thing you are.”

The really interesting thing about this book was that, even though it was Kylie and Oz’s story, it was written from Colt and Oz’s POV. I really enjoyed that. It brought Nell and Colt further into the story and it provided a different, mature, slightly removed perspective of these youngsters’ love story. I loved reading about Nell and Colt trying to navigate the murky waters of parenting. It really added an extra dimension to this book. 

 “We can’t protect her from life, Nell. You know that. She’s going to get hurt someday. All we can do is love her, and be there when it happens.”

As is always true with Jasinda Wilder books, the sex scenes are super hot! Virginal, innocent Kylie and experienced, bad-boy Oz just burn up both the sheets and the pages. You can always rely on Ms. Wilder for an extremely steamy book romp and this couple were so incredibly sensual and really very moving, as they explored one another and became closer and closer.

I can’t write this review without mentioning Ben. Remember Benny? Becca and Jason’s son? He features heavily in this book, too. I won’t tell you too much, just that the one chapter from Ben’s POV, near the end of the book broke my heart and had me in tears.

 “I wish – I wish I’d at least kissed you. Just once.”

 

I often worry, when I’ve really loved a book and find out that there is a sequel or two, that the following books won’t live up to the first book(s). So often we find authors writing trilogies because it’s the fashionable thing to do right now, or adding to a series that really didn’t need adding to, just in the name of book sales. But I never worry about that with Jasinda. Every book she writes is a story that is just begging to be told. Every book is highly emotional, gripping and completely individual, whether it’s part of a series, a stand alone or a companion novel. And Falling Under was no exception. I loved it and was engrossed in the world of these characters from the second I read the first word to the moment I reached the end. 

 “You light up the blackness that has been my life, and I don’t know how to ever be the kind of man you need and deserve, but I want to try. For you, for me, and for us. For the possibility of us.”

The end… It was everything I could have ever wanted it to be. Completely perfect and totes emosh! Urgh *sigh* just wait… it’s adorable.

 “You saved me, you know. Life had me running. Had me by the throat, and I really was falling under, losing hope. And then I met you, and you gave me a reason to keep my head above water. You taught me to swim. You taught me to life. And instead of giving up, I fell in love. I fell under your spell, Kylie, and ever single day since, I’ve fallen further and further under for you.”

I can not recommend this series highly enough. It is stunning, unforgettable, intensely emotional and just absolutely superb. A firm favourite of mine!! And this was the perfect ending!

(P.S. At the end of this book, there is a teaser for Jasinda’s new title, Alpha. I have three words; Roll on April!)

Have you read it? Comment below and tell us what you thought?

 

‘Falling Under’ Statistics
• Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥
• Ending: Happy ending
• Length: 441 pages
• POV: Alternates between Oz & Colt’s POV. One chapter from Ben’s POV. One chapter from Kylie’s POV.
• Narrative: First person. Past tense.
• Series: Yes 
• Reading Order: 
– Book #1 – Falling Into You (Falling, #1) 
– Book #2 – Falling Into Us (Falling, #2) 
– Book #3 – Falling Under (Falling, #3) 
• Can this be read as a standalone? Not recommended
• Themes:
Music
Bad-boy meets girl-girl
Father and daughter
• Writing: Brilliant

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Bad Boys, Five Stars, Jasinda Wilder, NA, Series, Steamy Reads, Virginal Heroine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

