Emancipating Andie, by Priscilla Glenn ★★★★★


★★★★★

Ever since the one time Andie Weber threw caution to the wind – and paid the price for it – she’s learned that it’s safer and smarter to live life playing by the rules. Now she’s got a great apartment, a steady job, and a wonderful boyfriend in Colin; he’s sweet, stable, and essentially perfect – except maybe for the fact that his best friend is Chase.

Chase McGuire lives his carefree, unstructured life strictly for himself. Dripping sarcasm and oozing wit, he refuses to censor his feelings or opinions for anyone, making no apologies for either and wearing his abrasiveness like a badge of honor. No one has ever gotten under Andie’s skin the way Chase does – and vice versa.

So when Andie and Chase find themselves forced to take a two-day road trip together, they are already dreading an inevitable all-out war. But as the trip progresses, and the undeniable friction that has always defined their relationship slowly begins to wear away their preconceived notions of each other, Andie and Chase discover they both have a lot to learn about life, courage, happiness, and the age-old battle between logic and love.

My Casting

What a lovely book. A pure, uninterrupted love story! Just what I needed right now.

5 STARS FOR ANDIE & CHASE!



Andie Weber always plays it safe nowadays. She has a safe, but handsome, sweet boyfriend, called Colin. She has a cute, immaculate, safe appartment. She has a steady, secure job as manager of her parents restuarant. And she avoids stepping outside of her comfort zone at all costs. Because the last time she did that, it didn’t work out so well for her.
So when she meets Colin’s flighty, cocky friend, Chase McGuire, Andie finds herself frequently irritated by his witty remarks and sarcastic, unwelcome banter.
And when Chase and Andie have to take a two day road trip to attend a friend’s wedding, with Colin flying ahead to attend to his groomsmen’s duties and meeting them there, Andie and Chase both know that it’s going to be a tense, awkward couple of days… that is, until the find themselves unexpectedly getting along rather better than they’d bargained for.

 

Maybe he’d be different. Maybe she’d be different. Maybe they would have a decent time.
Or maybe she’d be stuck in the confines of a car with an obnoxious, caustic, antagonistic moron for two entire days. 

Recently I’ve read quite a few books that have been a bit of a mixture or romance and something else. Either romantic thrillers, romantic action stories, etc. and I’ve really fancied an out-and-out romance. That is just what I got with Emancipating Andie!



I’ve read Priscilla Glenn’s work before, with Back To You, which I absolutely loved. So as soon as Emancipating Andie was released, I bought it… and it’s been sitting patiently on my Kindle ever since. I’m so glad I finally got down to it, and now I can’t wait to read Ms. Glenn’s other book, Coming Home, too, which I hear is outstanding! Her writing is seamless and allows you to completely immerse yourself in the words on the page.

Emancipating Andie is swoonworthy, well paced and one of those that just pulls you in and gives you little fluttery butterflies in your tummy all the way through. There is nothing to focus on in this book other than ‘what will happen with Andie and Chase?’and I totally needed that. To lose myself in a simple, unapologetic love story.

“I’m gonna fall in love with you.”

I always enjoy a book where the characters start off being irritated with each other, rubbing each other up the wrong way, and then gradually, gradually, they come around and realise that actually, they do quite like one another. It’s always fun to watch that shift in their interactions, see the smiles they try to hide and the feelings blossom.Emancipating Andie was a great example of this. Being shut in a car for two days, together, means there was no room to hide or escape, and the banter between Andie and Chase was great to read. Both characters are intelligent, eloquent, witty and I really loved some of the conversations they shared on their road trip, both trivial and profound.

“How about the guy you bought the pretzel from. That’s the last you’ll ever see of that guy in your life. That was the sole experience you were meant to have with that man. Your paths will never cross again. And he could be the coolest guy in the world, but you’ll never know.”

Their relationship has that delicious gradual build. The innocent glances, the stolen touches, the double entendres. Except, obviously there is the additional complication of Colin. Colin is Andie’s good-looking, successful, safe, sensible, but very sweet boyfriend. And he is also Chase’s long-standing, high-school buddy. So all of these stolen touches, early stomach flutters and building feelings are also completely forbidden. And doesn’t that just make it a little bit more exciting?

“If we can’t recognize when we’ve messed up, then how will we know when we’ve gotten it right?”

I know some people really don’t like love-triangles, but personally, as long as I know which guy I’m supposed to be falling in love with, I’m good. And, as sweet as Colin is, you definitely know that Chase is your hero, in this book. I can also confirm that there is no cheating in this book. Although Andie and Chase flirt with the idea of being together whilst she is with Colin, and the sexual tension is totally yummy in some scenes, they do not actually get together until Andie and Colin’s relationship ends. 

“I want you to go after what you want, but not if it’s something that’s going to make you feel guilty. Not if it’s something that will make you disappointed in yourself.”

To me, Colin just represents Andie’s comfort zone. Chase pulls her from that and encourages her to expand her horizons, take chances and think with her heart rather than her head. Colin is just one of the ‘safe’ choices she has been making and one of the things in her life that she has to make a decision about if she is to embrace this new way of living.

 

“Sometimes things happen, and we don’t see them clearly, either because we’re not at the right point in our life, or we’re too closely involved to understand. But just because we can’t see the reason behind things doesn’t mean there isn’t one.”

I loved both Chase and Andie. Andie started off up-tight and snippy, but you could tell that she was going to loosen up as the book went along. And as she began to fall for Chase, and as we got to know more of her back-story, I liked her more and more. And then when she began to take control of her life, make the choices that would change her path and open herself up to the feelings she could no longer deny, I loved her. As sad as some of the decisions were, it was also empowering.

“We’re really doing this with no plan? No itinerary?”
“No plan. No itinerary. Just you and me.”
“And that’s it?” he asked, still amused.
“That’s everything.”

Chase was perfect from the get-go. He is a typical cocky, loose lipped, happy-go-lucky, loveable guy. He’s funny and just can’t help but try and get a rise out of Andie. But he isn’t mean, he’s just cheeky. And then he starts to develop deeper feelings for Andie and it’s so adorable. Because he knows the right thing to do, he knows the honorable thing would be to walk away. But he just can’t and it’s heart breaking. He’s a good guy and he doesn’t want to hurt anybody, but his love for Andie is overwhelming for him.

“I can’t promise you that I’ll never be an asshole again. But I can promise you that I don’t mean it. And I can’t promise you that I won’t ever make mistakes, but I can promise you that I’ll learn from them and do whatever it takes to make it right with you again.”



Like I said, I needed this book right now. It was a light release from the string of heavier material I’ve read lately. I loved just losing myself, the warmth that came over me throughout Andie and Chase’s story, the ease with which I found myself engaging with these characters and the simplicity of the pure romance of this book just filled a void I didn’t even realise I needed filled. It just proves to me, I am a romance reader. Aromance junkie. And a love story just for the very sake of the love between two people is and always will be my favourite kind. 

Have you read it? Tell us what you thought?

 

‘Emancipating Andie’ Statistics
• Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥
• Ending: Happy ending
• Length: 231 pages
• POV: Alternates between Andie & Chase’s POV.
• Narrative: Third person. Past tense.
• Series: ✗ 
• Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
• Themes:
Hate-to-love
Love triangle
• Writing: Great

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Delicious Sexual Tension, Five Stars, Love Triangle, Priscilla Glenn, Stand Alones. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Emancipating Andie, by Priscilla Glenn ★★★★★

  1. Kim says:

    another great review, thank you, loved the book!

Leave a Reply

