Kaleb (Alluring Indulgence #1), by Nicole Edwards ★★★★


★★★★

Zoey Stranford might’ve had a crush on the sexy boy next door since middle school, but she’s a woman now, and that crush has turned into a full blown case of lust. So why is it that at twenty nine, her libido decides to ramp into high gear and the only thing she can focus on is the intensely sexy, scorching hot boy next door who is definitely not a boy anymore? 

The only problem is that Zoey and Kaleb have been best friends for as long as she can remember. Not to mention, Kaleb and his brothers are working on buying Stranford land to build a new resort, and she’s more than a little hesitant about his intentions.

Kaleb Walker has had his eye on Zoey for close to twenty years, but never before has he considered taking their friendship to the next level, no matter how many fantasies he’s had about her over the years. That doesn’t explain why Kaleb is hell bent on having her – in as many ways as possible. 

Kaleb finds himself in a precarious situation. His brothers have nominated him to pursue Zoey’s father about purchasing the land needed to get their new resort off the ground. Finding out that Carl Stranford is on the brink of foreclosure and Zoey might just lose her house and the land, Kaleb now has to convince her to put aside her pride and let him help her.

It doesn’t take long before the flames start burning bright and hot, and the two of them burn up the nights and the days as they explore each other’s forbidden fantasies. But can their friendship survive a business transaction or the new friends with benefits clause? Or will they realize that they’ve been overlooking something much deeper that’s been right in front of them all along?

Warning: This book contains sexual encounters and graphic language that some readers may find objectionable, including, but not limited to m/f/m encounters, anal sex, exhibitionism, and voyeurism. Consider yourself warned! Contains graphic material that is not suitable for anyone under the age of 18.

My Casting

4 STARS FOR KALEB & ZOEY!

I’m late to the party with these. This was my first Nicole Edwards experience. Lots of you have recommended I try her books, and after some of these books were nominated for the Smitten’s Book Blog 2013 Book Awards categories, I thought it was about time I gave the Alluring Indulgence series a shot.

The series follows a group of seven brothers! Seven hot, muscled, sexy, cowboy brothers. Great start, right? Each brother has their own book and obviously, as the title suggests, we begin with Kaleb.

Kaleb Walker is the third oldest of the Walker boys. The story runs along the lines of something to do with buying land and building a new resort called Alluring Indulgence. Twenty-nine year old Zoey Stranford and thirty-three (I think) year old Kaleb Walker have been crushing on each other forever, always been friends, never wanted to admit their feelings, yada yada yada.

 “It seems like I’ve waited my whole life for you to do that.”

It’s okay, it’s not ground breaking… However, let’s be totally honest right now. I wasn’t reading this for the intricate plot, was I?! 😉 Nope, I’m not proid. I’m happy to admit, I was reading this for the sex. And oh my Christ.

 “Would you let us fuck you Zoey? Both of us? Right now?”



I have to say, M/F/M scenes are my little guilty pleasure. I mean, one hot guy is great. Two? Yes purlease. Nicole Edwards, where have you been all of my life?? The sex scenes were off the charts smokin’!!

 “Kiss her, Gage”

Don’t get me wrong, the plot is solid. It’s obviously a storyline that transfers and carries through as we go through each of the brothers’ books, which I like. But this book hasn’t set out to break your heart and make you re-evaluate your life (other than perhaps your sex-life). It’s fairly light hearted, easy read with a whole lot of super steamy bedroom scenes… and lounge scenes; and truck scenes; and shower scenes. And oh god, the kitchen scene! Who doesn’t love an ice cream sundae? No no, not thatkinda ice cream sundae. *wink wink* Yes! That kinda ice cream sundae! Or two to be more precise! Yeh, exactly! *fans self* And just when you think it can’t get any hotter…

 “Can I play with her?” Gage asked Kaleb as if Zoey had no say in the matter.



Zoey was ok. She pissed me off at times. But that’s ok, because she pissed Kaleb off too, and don’t worry. He dealt with her pissy moods and her stroppy tantrums like every smutty Alpha book hero should. With a good and proper ‘bend-over-and-hold-your-ankles’ spanking!
Zoey had her good moments, but she over-reacted quite a bit and the whole ‘I can’t be in a relationship’ bullshit wound me up a bit. But on the whole she is tolerable and likeable enough. And the boys totally make up for her downfalls.

Speaking of boys. Or men. Kaleb. Mmmmm mmmmm!!! 6ft 4″ hunk of Texan muscle. With a penchant for threesomes with his equally delicious BFF, Gage. *puts hand up*Pick meeee!! Need I say more? Do you really wanna know more about Kaleb’s characterisation…? He’s hot. He didn’t piss me off. I want myself a Kaleb Walker. That’s about all you need to know, I think.

 

 The man had somehow figured out how to rock her world in every way imaginable, all the while, Zoey knew she was falling way too fast for this man.
Way too fast.

Kaleb and Zoey’s story does get it’s happy ending. Nothing between these two is left unfinished. However, the epilogue does leave on a cliffhanger that will make you want to start Zane’s book. As I said, the storyline carries on throughout the books and the epilogue gave you some clues as to what will happen next and makes sure you aren’t sitting back and thinking everything is hunky dory in the Walker world. It wasn’t too much, it won’t break your heart, but it is just enough to stir your intrigue for Zane.

This book really did hit the spot for me. No pun intended. I needed something sexy. Something that wasn’t going to take me too much brain power. Something that would give my emotions time to breathe after reading a few heavy emotional reads and that would be light-hearted. Kaleb really gave me that, with a cute shmushy happy ending to boot.

 

 “I’ve always loved you, baby, Since the first day I laid eyes on you, I knew I had to have you. I settled on friends because I wouldn’t done just about anything to keep you in my life. But, Zoey, I do love you. And I want more from you than just friendship.”

I’m off to read Zane right now, because I hear that’s even hotter! *grins* Somebody stand by with the fire extinguisher.

Have you read it? Comment below and tell us what you thought?

 

‘Kaleb’ Statistics
• Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥♥
• Ending: Happy ending w/ lead into next book
• Length: 290 pages
• POV: Alternates between Zoey and Kaleb’s POV.
• Narrative: Third person. Past tense.
• Series: Yes
• Reading Order:
– Book #1 – Kaleb (Alluring Indulgence #1) 
– Book #2 – Zane (Alluring Indulgence #2) 
– Book #3 – Travis (Alluring Indulgence #3) 
– Book #3.5 – Holidays with the Walker Brothers (Alluring Indulgence, #3.5) 
– Book #4 – Ethan (Alluring Indulgence, #4) 
– Book #5 – Braydon (Alluring Indulgence, #5) 
– Book #6 – Sawyer (Alluring Indulgence, #6) 
– Book #7 – Brendon (Alluring Indulgence, #7) 
• Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
• WARNING. This book includes…
Graphic sexual content. M/F/M.
• Writing: Amazing!

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Alluring Indulgence, Cowboys, Four Stars, Friends to Lovers, Kaleb, M/F/M, Nicole Edwards, Series, Steamy Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kaleb (Alluring Indulgence #1), by Nicole Edwards ★★★★

  1. Candice Royer says:

    I love, love, love every Nicole Edwards book. She and one other author are my “drop everything and get lost in a new book” writers. Every book gets hotter and hotter. She crosses into territories I never thought would be something I’d love, but she manages to make you love it anyway. I’ll get to meet her at a book signing in Tennessee and can’t wait! Not only is she a great author, she’s an incredibly wonderful person who interacts with her fans on a regular basis and supports them as much as they support her. It makes her books that much more personal. (I know, it sounds odd, but it’s true.) You want her characters to be real so you can meet them. You really adopt the “willing suspension of disbelief” with her books and sink into the story as if you’re right there – a fly on the wall watching all the action. And, OH! the action! As impossible as it is, I want her next book the second I finish the book she’s just released. She’s got three series going and is starting a fourth. It’s awesome! And I want all of the stories yesterday. If you’ve never read her books, YOU MUST.

  2. Pingback: Zane (Alluring Indulgence #2), by Nicole Edwards ★★★★ | Smitten's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

