Interview with a Master, by Jason Luke ★★★✰


★★★✰

It’s the interview like no other.
It’s the interview of a lifetime.
It’s THE Interview with a Master.
When Jonah Noble reveals details of his life within the world of BDSM, the tale he tells is intensely erotic, profoundly sensual, and brutally honest.
This is His world. His way.
There is only one question the man will not answer…

(BDSM erotica from a man’s POV, written by a man. Contains some explicit language)

 

Ladies! This is one book that we all need to get our men to read!!

3.5 STARS FOR JONAH NOBLE!

 

“Before we go any further, I must warn you that the things I am going to share with you throughout this interview are very explicit. I can either censor the descriptions, or I can tell you in detail. The choice is yours. But if you want the detailed explanation, then you must be prepared for graphic language. I’m no fan of political correctness, so you can’t expect me to keep apologizing if your delicate, sensitive ears are offended by language.”



So, let’s start with the bio on Jason Luke’s Goodreads page.

Jason Luke enjoyed several years involved in the BDSM lifestyle – but he is quick to point out that his experiences don’t qualify him as an expert, any more than knowing how to drive a car makes him a qualified mechanic. ‘Interview with a Master’ is a novel about how one man became a Master. The book is a work of fiction, but Jason has drawn heavily on encounters from his own real life. He won’t say which parts of the book are fictionalised, and which parts are auto-biographical.

Erotic BDSM fiction written by a man from a man’s point of view.

This fascinated me. I was absolutely gagging for this book after reading that. But, it wasn’t quite what I expected. Bear with me, there was good and bad to this. Things that worked and things that didn’t…

“This should be interesting. If you’re right, then what you’re about to tell me is the secret to success for the average married man. I’d hate to miss a single word.”

This book was nothing like the typical romance books we read. Don’t go into it expecting a romance. For starters, it commits the cardinal sin as far as I am concerned, when it comes to love stories. It doesn’t have a happy ending. It’s left open to interpretation, it leaves you wondering, it leaves you with a million and one questions.

It does, however, have a leading lady, a good touch of steamy chemistry between our interviewer and our interviewee and a confession of love. Did I believe the ‘love’ between the two characters? Did I hell! It came from left field and just did nothing whatsoever to move me.

“I need you, but I don’t want you to fall in love with me.”
“What makes you so sure that I will?”
I smiled, but there was no humour. “Because I’m fighting with all my strength to stop falling in love with you.”

Secondly and leading on from me being unmoved, this whole thing was far, far too clinical for me. This book is exactly as the title suggests. It is an interview, conducted by a pretty young journalist, named Letitia, with renowned BDSM master, Jonah Noble. If you’ve read Ella Frank’s Bling Obsession, there were parts of this that really reminded me of that, but nowhere near as emotive.



Throughout the story, Jonah recounts his experiences with various lovers throughout his years as a dominant. That just didn’t work for me. I didn’t feel any connection to the characters and the second hand nature in which we learn about Jonah’s previous partners just left me feeling a sense of detachment that I couldn’t shake.

Did it turn me on? No, not really. It kind of just proves one of the things that Jonah states in the book… women do need an emotional connection to get the most out of sex. I felt no emotion for these characters at all and therefore read the scenes more like they were a sex-ed lesson, rather than a raunchy novel and characters that I could fall in love with.

“Women need to feel loved in order to want sex. And men need sex, in order to feel loved.”

However, it did intrigue me. Let’s face it, thanks to Fifty Shades there has been a lot of speculation, a lot of fascination and a lot of rumour around the BDSM lifestyle. I’m sure some of the accounts we read are pretty accurate and some less so. So I was very interested to read from the POV of a ‘BDSM Master’ himself.

“She started to plead.”
I looked at Leticia. “That was the real power,” I said soflty. “That was what turned me on, and catapulted me into the world of BDSM. I loved the way Claire pleaded and begged for her release. It wasn’t about physical domination for me. It still isn’t. It’s about that emotional transfer of power: the command and control. That’s what turns me on, Leticia. That’s what I find so addictive about being a Master. I love the power, given to me by the submissive. It’s symbolic of their trust. Claire showed me how intoxicating that feeling could be.”

Firstly, I wanted to hear things from a man’s side and secondly I wanted to see how accurate the lovely Fifty and friends have been. I have to say, I didn’t learn quite as much as I thought I might. In fact, some of it was a bit disappointing, to be honest. No red-room, no crazy music to accompany a mandatory flogging… Apparently things aren’t really as crazy and intense as good ol’ Christian and his Dom pals make out. Bummer. Of course, Jonah/Jason does state that ever BDSM relationship is different, but still… *pouts*

Now, where I felt this book really came into it’s own was the way Jonah Noble understands what women want. This is what I think this book needs shouting from the rooftops about. Ladies, you all need to grab a copy of this book, shove it into your man’s hands and force him to read it! You. Are. Welcome!

“Leticia, no woman tastes like honey – but every man should tell the woman he is with that she does.”
“What does that mean?”
“It means that every woman I have ever known intimately has been inhibited and self-concious about the way their pussy might taste to a man.”
“Why?”
I shrugged. “How the hell would I know? You tell me. All I know is that women relax and let themselves go sexually once a man reassures her that he loves the way she tastes. I tell women they taste like honey.”

Mr. Noble knows how to please his ladies. He’s clearly spent years studying women and their reactions to every touch, every sound, every stimulant and he has taken notes. The man has done his homework. There are so many little tips and paragraphs in here that I was reading and thinking ‘YES!! That is SO right! Every man needs to read this!’In fact, I’m thinking of writing to whoever is in charge of marriages and suggesting they make reading Interview with a Master a stipulation for all husbands-to-be! I’m pretty sure divorce rates would plummet and ladies of the world would walk around with bigger smiles on their faces!

“Every woman who is aroused by submission is also aroused by an alpha male who can tame her. These women aren’t looking for a husband in the bedroom who will make them feel safe and loved. They already have that in their relationship. These women are looking for a man who is strong enough to conquer them. That way the woman can still feel vibrant and independent… but also feel comfortable submitting to their lover. That’s the turn-on for women. They don’t want to submissives… they want to feel like they can’t resist submitting.”

And I don’t mean that every couple should start involving BDSM in their bedroom antics. Jonah just outlines simple observations that can be applied to every day, ordinary, vanilla relationships. He touches on the wants and needs of both men and women and how they need to understand one another better. It’s insightful.

“I think women want men to be more like men again.”



But then, there were also things from a man’s POV that I just did not want to know. I didn’t want to know that even when a man says ‘I can’t wait another second to have you’ or is all overcome with need for his girl, that actually, it’s all bull and he is justacting all overcome with need, when infact, he’d be quite capable of going and making a sandwich first. Yeh, I didn’t wanna know that. I’d rather live in my little fantasy world where men just can’t get enough of their women, thanks Jonah! Lol! I wanted to put my fingers in my ears and shout ‘la la la la!’

So, I do think this book needed to be written. I’m glad Jason Luke put himself out there and told us how things are from a guys POV, and from the POV of a real life Dom.

“Anticipation is more potent than a whip and more compelling than handcuffs. The ability to tease and arouse a woman is a subtly skill few men ever bother to learn,” I said. “But learning the art of anticipation can make a woman go weak at the knees with longing.”

And unfortunately for me, the anticipation really was everything. I found this book to be more of an educational sexual self-help book, than a romance novel I could lose myself in.

Have you read it? Tell us what you thought?

‘Interview with a Master Statistics
• Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥♥
• Ending: No HEA
• Length: 258 pages
• Narrative: Jonah’s POV. First person. Past tense.
• Series: ✗
• Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
• Themes:
BDSM
Male POV
• WARNING. This book includes…
Graphic sexual content. BDSM scenes.
• Writing: Good

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in BDSM, Quick Reads, Rich Guys, Steamy Reads, Three & a Half Stars. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

