Light in Mourning (Mourning #2), by Adriane Leigh ✰✰✰✰✰


✰✰✰✰✰

They say that madness is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results…but what happens when the very person that brought your heart back to life has the ability to shatter it with one confession?

After an explosive affair left their hearts battered and scarred, Georgia and Tristan are trying for a fresh start. She is determined to take it slow and not repeat the mistakes of the past, while Tristan is willing to throw caution to the wind as long as he has his dark-haired girl in his life…and in his bed.

But Georgia and Tristan can’t shelter their love from the outside world, and the moments of exquisite passion they share aren’t enough to sustain the relationship. When scars from the past resurface—will their hearts meld together as one? Or will outside forces tear them apart, leaving an empty shell where love and passion once thrived?

My Casting

This really was the perfect ending to Tristan and Georgia’s story!!

4.5 STARS FOR TRISTAN & GEORGIA!
See my review for The Mourning After (Mourning #1) here:https://smittensbookblog.wordpress.com…

I really enjoyed the first book of this duet. It was angsty and a real heart wrenching love triangle. The book finished with a hopeful ending that gave way to the possibilities of book #2, but left everything quite unresolved.

Light in Mourning actually rewinds a little to just before the end of The Mourning After. The end of the first book is told from Georgia’s POV, so the second book switches to Tristan’s POV and we get an insight into his mind set during the time they spent apart.



To be honest, I was sceptical that there would be enough to fill a second book, with this story. But there really was. This book was short enough that it didn’t drag, but long enough that it warranted another book. It was like a gorgeous extended epilogue.

 “I’d do it all again for you. Do it all over again. Go back to the very start. You’re worth every risk.”



In The Mourning After, there was a lot of anger, a lot of bitterness and hurt. I mentioned that I’d felt it was a shame that Tristan had spent so much of the book hurting and being so up tight, because of the love-triangle circumstances, because of Georgia’s fiance, Kyle, etc. and I wanted to see him loosen up a little in the second book. Well, that’s exactly what we got with Light in Mourning!

loved Tristan in this book! He’s absolutely smitten with Georgia and so adorable. He’s more fun and playful, more relaxed and loveable. This is a man in love, rather than a man at war with his feelings.

 Georgia was mine, whether she knew it or not. This was our new beginning.

Georgia is much more grounded in this book, too. Obviously, she’s been through some traumatic experiences and now, she’s finally mustered up the courage to set her life on a healthier path. She’s finding her independence, admitting what was wrong with her past relationship and embracing the courage to put herself first.



This means she is a little hesitant about falling heart first into a relationship with Tristan at first, so despite their intense attraction and their steamy summer, they start things slowly.

 Not only did he have the body of a Greek fucking god, but his smile, his eyes, and his laugh lit my life.

Well… this made me laugh a little. They intend to start off slow, but with so much steamy history between them, and so much delicious chemistry, this really was never going to be a foolproof plan, was it?

 “I’m head over heels for you. Completely drunk on you. If I know one thing for sure, it’s that you and I are it. I told you – you own me.”

I’m so glad that Adriane Leigh didn’t create any unnecessary drama just for the sake of padding out a second book. It’s weird, because really, nothing monumental happened in this book, but I still devoured it without a second thought. It was still engaging and heart warming. It was just the necessary next step in the development of a relationship that had begun so tumultuously and needed time to settle into itself.

 “I love you,” I whispered.
“I love you so much more.”

There are some seriously swoonworthy scenes in this book. Cuteness overload, a bone deep, soul gripping love between two people and both their fears and their dreams as they explore whether or not they have a future together.

 “I want to have babies with you. Buckets full.”
“Buckets full of babies?”
“Buckets full of babies.”



There were times, in the first half of Light in Mourning, where I really felt Tristan’s love to Georgia was stronger than hers was for him. I felt like he was absolutely head-over-heels for her, whereas she was hesitant. I think it was just as a result of the circumstances, but I felt for him and felt she needed to catch up to him, emotionally. Which she did, before long.

 “I don’t want this to be goodbye. I’m afraid your’re telling me goodbye.”

This author is great at bringing the settings, the homes, the tastes, smells and sights to life, which really sucks you in and helps to turn the words on the page into a movie running in your head as you read. Equally, I felt it so easy to cast this book. I love the pictures I found for these characters and I could picture Georgia and Tristan so vividly as I followed their story.

If you’ve read The Mourning After already, I do highly recommend that you read on and give Light in Mourning a go. Tristan and Georgia deserve their ending and, as I said, this is the perfect ending for their story. It brought a real sense of calm to what was originally a very rocky relationship.



If you haven’t read either of these books yet, I would definitely recommend them. The sex is hot, the characters are likable and the setting makes me want to retreat to the beach, to paddle, renovate a beach house, drink coffee, adopt a Golden Retriever and read even more books! As a whole, there is a definite feel-good quality about this little series.

Have you read it? Comment below and tell us what you thought?

 

Light in Mourning Statistics
• Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥
• Ending: Happy ending
• Narrative: Alternates between Georgia & Tristan’s POVs.
• Series: Yes
• Reading Order:
– Book #1 – The Mourning After (Mourning #1) 
– Book #2 – Light in Mourning (Mourning #2) 
• Can this be read as a standalone? No
• WARNING. This book includes…
Sexual content.
• Writing: Good

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Adriane Leigh, Four & a Half Stars, Light in Mourning, Series, Steamy Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

