Reaper’s Legacy (Reapers MC #2), by Joanna Wylde ✰✰✰✰✰

 

✰✰✰✰✰

WELCOME TO THE CLUB

Eight years ago, Sophie gave her heart—and her virginity—to Zach Barrett on a night that couldn’t have been less romantic or more embarrassing. Zach’s step-brother, a steely-muscled, tattooed biker named Ruger, caught them in the act, getting a peep show of Sophie he’s never forgotten.

She may have lost her dignity that fateful night, but Sophie also gained something precious—her son Noah. Unfortunately, Zach’s a deadbeat dad, leaving Ruger to be Noah’s only male role model. When he discovers Sophie and his nephew living in near poverty, Ruger takes matters into his own hands—with the help of the Reapers Motorcycle Club—to give them a better life.

Living with outlaw bikers wasn’t Sophie’s plan for her son, but Ruger isn’t giving her a choice. He’ll be there for Noah, whether she wants him or not. But Sophie does want him, has always wanted him. Now she’ll learn that taking a biker to bed can get a girl dirty in every way…

My Casting

Iloveitiloveitiloveit!!! I just can not get enough of these dirty, sexy, twisted biker books!

5 stars for Ruger and Sophie!

Reaper’s Legacy is the second in the Reaper’s MC series. This time, we follow a different couple, Ruger and Sophie. Sophie is a twenty-four year old single Mum, to her son Noah. Her teenhood boyfriend and baby-daddy, Zach, is an aggressive, controlling, waste of air! But his brother is a little different.
Ruger is scary, huge, tattooed, a law unto himself.. and he’s hot as hell! He and Sophie do not see eye to eye. But Ruger has stepped up to the plate, being there for Noah when Zach wasn’t. So for the sake of her son, Sophie forces herself to ignore her attraction to the badass biker. 
But when she moves into an unsafe apartment with the potential candidates for babysitter, whilst Sophie tries to scrape together a living, being the junkie dead-beat couple across the hall, Ruger takes responsibility and moves Sophie and Noah into the basement of his home. And that’s where all the fun starts.

 Ruger was over six feet tall, roped with muscle and annoyingly handsome in an I’m-probably-a-murderer-but-I’ve-got-dimples-and-a-tight-ass-so-you’ll-still-lust-after-me kind of way.

There is something about these MC books that clearly so many of us find totally fascinating. I don’t know whether it’s the glimpse into a life that most of us will never encounter in real life, the morbid fascination for all things debauchery, or those bad boys that we can’t get enough of. But either way, there is definitely something addictive about them!



And Reaper’s Legacy is no exception. I love the first book. I loves Horse and Marie’s story. And I’m please to tell you that you do get a good hefty dose of Horse and Marie in this book, too. 
*happy dance*

See my review for Reaper’s Property (Reapers MC #1) here: https://smittensbookblog.wordpress.com…

I really liked Sophie!! She’s trying to make the best possible life for herself and her kid. She’s trying desperately to be independent and stand on her own two feet, but she’s just not quite managing, due to circumstances outside of her control. I loved that as things heated up between her and Ruger, she stuck to her guns, laid down her ground rules and dam well waited until Ruger manned the fuck up! Woo! Don’t be fooled though, there was definitely a compromise. Ruger is a controlling, foul mouthed, loveable asshole and there are some things just can’t be changed.

 “Jesus, you piss me off,” he murmured. “Good thing your cunt’s so fucking hot.”
“Don’t call it that.”
His lip twitched.
“Good thing your vagina’s so gosh-darned hot,” he whispered. “Because I really, really want to stick my penis in it and have repeated sexual intercourse, bringing us to a mutually satisfactory culmination of our desires. How’s that sound?”
“Almost dirtier.”



luuurve Ruger!!! Oh my days! The man is sex on legs. He’s soooo super sexy, arrogant, alpha, confident, self-assured, sexist, an utter man whore! He’s totally unreasonable. And all what-you-see-is-what-you-get. Just YUM in every freakin’ way!! And he’s also *ahem* pierced… in all kiiiinds of places! Oh yeeeaaaah!

 

 The man was like heroin – seductive, addictive, and a damned good way to wake up dead.

The sexual tension between these two is fan-bloody-tastic! There are a couple of scenes before Sophie and Ruger finally get their act together when I honestly thought I was going to need to take a cold shower! Jeeeez! Sexual chemistry that I can really get on board with is a sure fire way to sell a book to me! Sexual tension with a bossy, demanding biker? Where do I sign up?!

 

 “I want all kinds of things. First I want to tie you up in my bed with my belt. Then I want to cut off  your clothes and fuck you in every hole you have. I also want to come on you and rub it into your skin and lick your pussy until you scream at me to stop because if you come one more time you’ll die. Then I want to do it again. I want to own you, Sophie.”



Ruger is a hardass, sure, but Sophie sure as hell gives him a run for his money. She isn’t afraid to say what she feels. And around Ruger, she often feels a mixture of anger, frustration and lust. And everything in between. But their banter is great. They wind each other up something chronic and I loved it.

 “I think you’re a raging asshole.”
Ruger laughed.
“Yeah, well I think you’re a bitch, but my cock likes you, so we’ll figure something out.”

I loved seeing Ruger fall for Sophie. Well, in truth, he’s always loved her, so we just watch him grow a pair of balls and own it, over time. Is there anything as adorable as a badass biker going all gooey on us over his girl? Nu uh!

 “My cock gets hard just thinkin’ about you. You’re in my dreams every night. I wake up in the morning and all I think about is you in my house, you and Noah finally mine. My family. It’s even better than ridin’ my bike. I’m crazy for you, Soph.”

 

There’s a nice little bit of action in this book too. Obviously, with these bikers we love so dearly, there’s always a token conflict, a collection of baddie-bikers, a few trigger happy fingers and the obligatory honour to defend! Reaper’s Legacy certainly kept me on my toes, and as a result of the events in this book, I can’t wait for book #3!

 Nothing says “commitment” like accessory to murder.

But don’t worry… that doesn’t mean there is a cliffhanger. Nope. Sophie and Ruger totally get their perfect ending, so no worries there. However, some of the characters and events in this book will obviously be featuring heavy in the next book, which is going to be interesting.
Put it this way… I’m not convinced I could learn to love a Devil’s Jack!! That’s gonna take some serious writing skills Ms. Wylde. I look forward to that! 

I really felt like this book gave an accurate insight into the motorcycle club life. Of course, what do I know?! But I liked that Joanna Wylde explained the following, at the beginning of the book…

I started my career in journalism and researched outlaw motorcycle club culture extensively for my stories. This included talking to people in club life, many of whom answered questions for me throughout the writing process. The Reaper’s Legacy manuscript was reviewed and corrected by a woman attached to an outlaw MC.

I felt like I was getting the real deal! It made it a lot easier to believe in these characters, the choices they made, their behaviour, their relationships, etc. And I always love the surrounding characters in these MC books. All of the Reapers play such a huge part.

 “When a man takes a woman as his property, it’s not about owning her,” he continues, eyes searching my face. “It’s about trusting her. This is my life I’m handing you, Sophie. Not just my life – my brothers’ lives, too.”



So, yeh. I really loved this. I read it in less than 24 hours. Luckily I work from home, so my boss (me!) is pretty lenient, because I pretty much took an unofficial sick day yesterday, sneaking a chapter of my Kindle in between every couple of emails I sent. Naughty Smitten! But I just couldn’t put it down! What are you waiting for? Go meet Ruger!



Have you read it? Comment below and tell us what you thought?

Reaper’s Legacy Statistics
• Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥
• Ending: Happy ending
• Length: 368 pages
• Narrative: Alternates between Sophie (first person) and Ruger (third person). Past tense.
• Series: Yes 
• Reading Order: 
– Book #1 – Reaper’s Property (Reapers MC, #1) 
– Book #2 – Reaper’s Legacy (Reapers MC #2) 
– Book #3 – Devil’s Game (Reapers MC #3) Release date: June 3rd 2014
• Can this be read as a standalone? Yes (recommended to read in order)
• Themes:
Bikers
Domestic violence
Hate to love
• WARNING. This book includes… 
Sexual content. Violence. Murder.
• Writing: Great

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Action/Drama Reads, Alpha Males, Bad Boys, Biker Boys, Death, Delicious Sexual Tension, Five Stars, Joanna Wylde, Reaper's Legacy, Series, Steamy Reads, Virginal Heroine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

