The Dark Light of Day, by T.M. Frazier ✰✰✰✰✰


✰✰✰✰✰

Warning: This is not your typical romance. The story of Abby & Jake contains disturbing situations, graphic violence, sex, rape, strong language, drug use, and all types of abuse.

Abby has been through hell and has survived one of the most brutal childhoods imaginable…barely.

To the outside world she’s just a loner with an attitude.

When her grandmother dies in a tragic explosion, Abby is left with questions-and nothing else.

Homeless, sleeping in a junkyard, and on the run from a system that has failed her over and over again, she meets Jake, a tattooed blue-eyed biker with secrets that will rival her own.

Two broken souls that can’t be healed. They can’t be saved.

Abby & Jake must reveal to one another their most guarded secrets and discover if they can embrace the darkness those secrets hold-and the darkness within themselves.

If they can accept one another for who they really are, they might be able to learn that love isn’t always found in the light.

My Casting

  • Abby
  • Jake

    What the fuck?! Lol! This book is bat shit crazy! And I’m feeling a little warped, because I really enjoyed it! I do love a book that makes me double-check that my moral compass is still pointing in the right direction!

I fell asleep that night in the arms of a killer. I’d never slept better.

4.5 stars for Bee & Jake!

 

So, I love a good biker romance. It’s such a guilty pleasure, reading about the depravity, corruption and extortion. The criminal activity, the killings… The things most of us (with any luck) will never come across in real life but lap up, with a twisted kind of fascination, from the books we read.

And The Dark Light of Day certainly didn’t disappoint.

Sick, twisted Abby was in love with the sick, twisted, beautiful Jake.

Abby is the child of two abusive, junkie, waste-of-space parents. With her mother behind bars, when her father is found dead, Abby is sent to live with her Nan. But tragedy strikes again when Abby’s Nan dies in a freak accident and she is left homeless and alone.



When she meets Jake, the dangerous, tattooed, sexy-as-hell badass biker who won’t be tied down by roots, and has a past and secrets as dark as hers, Abby’s life changes forever.

Even though life hands you a big pile of shit, you don’t have to roll around in it and make shit angels.

Abby is a total bitch. She’s sarcastic, un-trusting, cynical, defensive, has walls as impenetrable as Alcatraz and you can’t help but love her. Can you blame her? The girl’s been abused, neglected, abandoned and left with terrible scars, inside and out. And she’s only 17! But I really rather liked her. I liked her snarky attitude and her sharp tongue. I liked that she didn’t take any shit. We read so many female characters that won’t say boo to a goose, so I always enjoy when we meet a heroine with balls as big as her heroes.

 

“Fuck anyone who thinks anything on someone like you could ever be anything beautiful. You should be proud of them, baby.”
“Proud?”
“Yes, proud. They make you powerful. Each line is a road travelled, an experience you had, whether it was good or bad. Each mark is proof of pain in the past, not the present. You are a survivor, you are a warrior. These are the scalps hanging from your fucking belt. You took the beatings and here you are, in front of me. You are fucking amazing.”

Let me tell you about Jake… He’s a killer. There’s no beating around the bush, no grey areas… straight up, Jake kills people. And he isn’t ashamed or embarrassed about it either. And I loved him, too! He has a past he’d rather forget, a regularly ‘itchy trigger finger’ and has experienced his own fair share of loss and heartache, that has led him down the path he has taken. But he has a good heart. The way he cares for Abby shows us, early on, that Jake is a good man, deep down. I love how he calls her ‘Bee’ and the gentle banter between them. I loved how he was both forceful and gentle with her, in equal measures, coaxing her to face her fears and reveal her secrets.

“Why do I want to touch you? Are you fucking kidding me right now? I want to help you. I want to hold you. I want to make it all okay for you. I want to fucking touch you because you are the most beautiful person I’ve ever seen, and I can’t imagine never being able to hold your hand or kiss you. And yes – I want to fuck you, too, like I’ve never wanted anything in my whole life.”



One thing that bothered me about this book was the speed that Abby and Jake got together. With hindsight, I can see that the author wrote the book this way because there was so much of Jake and Abby’s story to tell after the initial getting together. But still, whilst I was reading it I was thinking ‘woah, ok, that was quick’! And whilst so much of this book was so raw and so real, this little issue kind of diluted that realness for me. However, it’s a minor point and on the whole, I really enjoyed the story.

We may not have been perfect, or even acceptable by anyone else’s standards. But together, we were perfect.
Together, we were just us.
Battered and broken. Dark and difficult. Impulsive and scared.

Whilst the first half of this book intrigued me, from about 50% onwards, I really could not put this down. It was on a roll. T.M. Frazier pulls no punches with The Dark Light of Day. She isn’t afraid of writing scenes that will cause controversy or offend some readers. The story is gritty and graphic. I really felt Abby’s pain and there is one scene, where T.M. Frazier is describing bodily injuries, where the writing gave me such clear mental visuals, which was both shocking and evocative. So if you are at all squeamish, easily offended or aren’t quick to forgive minor misgivings like blows people’s brains out on a regular basis, probably best you don’t touch this book with a very long barge pole.

 

“I would kill for you, Bee. Happily.” He ran his fingers down my cheek. “I need you to know that.”

The Dark Light of Day is full of plot twists that will have you on the edge of your seat. It’s action packed, deep, dark and totally fucked up. It’s a great example of our acceptance, as readers, of things in books that we would never even contemplate accepting in ‘real life’. I read lots of books about controlling, alpha males and then the respective reviews moaning about how women shouldn’t accept violence or control from men in books, etc. etc. However, this book, and others like it, just prove that reading books allows us to push our boundaries and flirt with situations we would balk at in reality. Situations, qualities and people that would disgust us, irritate us and even terrify us. I love that about reading and I really enjoyed that with The Dark Light of Day. Would I shack up with killer in real life? Of course I freakin’ wouldn’t! Did I love reading about Abby and her love for Jake? Yes! Did I find Jake sexy and dangerously desirable? Hell yes!

A revenge kill is the best kind of kill.
But a revenge kill for your family, with your woman’s permission?
That’s borderline erotic.



This book is written from Abby’s POV, with the exception of the prologue and epilogue and let me tell you, the epilogue, from Jake’s POV, is so unbelievable twisted, it actually made me laugh a little. I was rolling my eyes like ‘Jake, you crazy screwed-up, murdering motherfucker’, lol! The ending of this book was perfectly in keeping with the rest of the story. It does have a happy ending. A fucked-up happy ending, but you come to expect that with Abby and Jake, and it’s a happy ending, nonetheless.

 

We were just us. Broken and bruised. Fucked up and messy. And together we were everything we never though we could be.

I’d definitely recommend this book!



‘The Dark Light of Day’ Statistics
• Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥
• Ending: HEA
• Length: 258 pages
• Narrative: Mostly Abby’s POV. Prologue & epilogue from Jake’s POV. Past tense.
• Series: ✗
• Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
• Themes:
Abuse
Crime
• WARNING. This book includes…
Sexual content. Death. Rape. Abuse. Drug abuse. Violence.
Virtually everything you can think of that might need a warning label!
• Writing: Good

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Alpha Males, Bad Boys, Biker Boys, Death, Four & a Half Stars, Stand Alones, T.M. Frazier, The Dark Light of Day, Virginal Heroine. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Dark Light of Day, by T.M. Frazier ✰✰✰✰✰

  1. courtlea says:

    Smitten, love this review. My blog partner and myself just reviewed this one as well…and can you really believe it is T.M’s debut? She did a fantastic job.

Leave a Reply

