After Forever (The Ever Trilogy #2), by Jasinda Wilder ✰✰✰✰✰


✰✰✰✰✰

Ever,

I don’t know who I am anymore. I’m a castaway. Lost. Drowning. I love you. That’s the only true thing I know, and it’s all I have to hold on to. I love you. I’ll love you forever. Until the day I die, and I’ll love you in whatever world comes after this one. I love you so much, Ever. I miss you. Dear Jesus, I miss you. Come back to me. 

For forever, and after forever,
Caden

My Casting

WARNING: THIS BOOK WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR BOOK #1

Please note: I’ve now changed my casting for Ever, due to the changes of direction in this story.

See my review for Forever & Always (The Ever Trilogy, #1) here: https://smittensbookblog.wordpress.com…

I don’t even know what to say. I don’t know where to start. I don’t know how I feel… I’m completely confused!!!



You expect me to round this book up with a star rating???

4.5 stars for After Forever.
(Because my moral compass simply won’t allow me to give it five stars. However, if book #3 turns out as I want it to, this series will be beyond five stars for me. Does that make any sense at all?)



Oh my goodness. How the hell am I meant to explain the way I’m feeling without giving any spoilers??

So, at the end of the Forever & Always, we’re left hanging when Caden and Ever are involved in a car crash on the way home from Ever’s father’s. Caden has just woken up in hospital and we learn that Ever is still comatose and lost a baby we didn’t know she was pregnant with. After Forever picks up right where we left off, with Caden continuing the conversation with the doctor re. Ever’s condition.

“She’s not dead, but she’s not alive.”



It’s very very difficult for me to explain hardly any of this book without giving things away, but one way for to convey what I went through whilst reading this book is that this story is pure pain. It is heartache and loneliness in the form of words on a page.

I couldn’t bear to miss Ever. It was too deep a cut through my heart. Talking to her made me miss her. She was there, breathing, heart beating, but she wasn’t there.



It is also the most at war I have ever been with my morals and my conscience whilst reading a book. I still don’t know what to make of my feelings, if I’m honest. I don’t know whether I’m okay with the direction this book took. I don’t know whether I understand, whether I accept it, whether it’s okay or whether it’s totally wrong. I know, this all sounds very cryptic… but I just can’t give you any more information because you need to experience this all for yourself to have any chance of judging these characters fairly.

“I love you. I don’t want you to think I don’t. I love you more than ever. I love you so much it literally wakes me up with my heart aching for you. And I don’t want… what’s happening. When I’m not here.”

After Forever completely broke my heart. But, the characters hearts were breaking too, so I felt like I was really living this with them. Really feeling their pain and confusion. Usually, this is something I would just point blank refuse to read or entertain… but there is something about these characters and their story that made me need to carry on reading.

There are moments in life when you know, irrevocably, that you’ve given in, come undone. That you’ve slipped, lost your balance, and fallen over a cliff’s edge, that there’s no climbing back up, there’s no slowing the fall. You never forget those moments.

However, I couldn’t put it down. It hurt. So much. But I couldn’t stop reading. I had to know what happened. I had to know how this ended. And I still don’t. Obviously we still have a third book to come and I need that like I need oxygen. I can see why this is written as a trilogy, because there really are three very distinct parts to this story. You’ll understand what I mean when you read it.

‘I don’t know if you’ll love me when you wake up. If you’ll be able to. But even if you don’t, I’ll love you. Forever, and after forever.’

Let me talk about Caden. Dear God, what a confused, tragic, painful character to read. I loved him, my heart ached for him, I loathed him at times, but I really felt that he was losing control. I really did believe that he had lost himself. Lost his reason to function. Lost the light in his life. Lost his sense of right and wrong. He was simply existing and trying to survive. And now I just don’t know what is going to happen for him in the third book. I can’t imagine how this is going to turn out okay for him. He’s broken my heart, but he has been through so much and he has lost his way. I don’t know whether or not I will be able to forgive him in Saving Forever. I hope so.

“Sometimes, maybe… sometimes there’s no right or wrong. Sometimes there’s just… surviving.”



We still get the letters in this book. Caden uses the letters, now, to express the things to Ever that he can not allow himself to speak. He uses the letters to confess his fear, his guilt, his pain. Again, it’s heartbreaking.

 

‘For forever, and after forever,
Caden.’

We learn a lot more about Ever’s sister, Eden, in this book. She’s is like Ever in a lot of ways, but also so very different. She is much more feisty and strong willed. She has some severe self esteem issues which a lot of women will be able to relate to. However, I couldn’t bring myself to like Eden. Even in the first book, her selfishness and her resentment of Ever irritated me. It’s clear she loves her sister, in her own way, but she’s so self-depreciating that she can’t see past her own insecurities at times. I think we will be getting a lot more of Eden’s story in the third book, so I’m hoping she is able to learn to love herself by the end of the trilogy.

My Casting

Jasinda’s writing is absolutely second-to-none. It’s breath taking. I really think that if this book had been written by almost anybody else, I’d have put it down as soon as things started to get tough. I can’t stand having my heart ripped out so savagely, usually. But her writing just draws me in like nothing else. It’s addictive, it’s engaging and it’s so intensely emotive.

 

“What – what if she never wakes up, Eden?” His voice was a ragged whisper. “What do I do?”
“I don’t – I don’t know.”
“I – she’s my wife. I love her. I don’t know how to – I don’t know what to do. I miss her. I need her.”

I wish I could tell you more, but I just can’t. I know that this book is going to be a real ‘marmite’ read… some people just won’t be able to read it and others just won’t be able to put it down. Personally, I need the final instalment. I’m nervous, because I know this is going to painful, but I have to know what happens… Saving Forever is out on February 14th. Jasinda, please write quickly!!!
After Forever Statistics
• Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥
• Ending: Cliffhanger
• Length: 194 pages
• Narrative: Alternates between Caden and Eden’s POV.
• Series: ✓
• Reading Order:
– Book #1 – Forever & Always (The Ever Trilogy, #1)
– Book #2 – After Forever (The Ever Trilogy, #2)
– Book #3 – Saving Forever (The Ever Trilogy, #3)
• Can this be read as a standalone? No
• Themes:
Grief
• WARNING. This book includes…
Sexual content. Death. Cheating.
• Writing: Great

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Angst Overload, Cliffhanger, Death, Delicious Sexual Tension, Emotional Reads, Forbidden Love, Four & a Half Stars, Jasinda Wilder, Series, Steamy Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to After Forever (The Ever Trilogy #2), by Jasinda Wilder ✰✰✰✰✰

  1. Pingback: Saving Forever (The Ever Trilogy #3), by Jasinda Wilder ★★★★★+ | Smitten's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

