Forever & Always (The Ever Trilogy #1), by Jasinda Wilder ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

Ever,

These letters are often all that get me through week to week. Even if it’s just random stuff, nothing important, they’re important to me. Gramps is great, and I love working on the ranch. But…I’m lonely. I feel disconnected, like I’m no one, like I don’t belong anywhere. Like I’m just here until something else happens. I don’t even know what I want with my future. But your letters, they make me feel connected to something, to someone. I had a crush on you, when we first met. I thought you were beautiful. So beautiful. It was hard to think of anything else. Then camp ended and we never got together, and now all I have of you is these letters. S**t. I just told you I have a crush on you. HAD. Had a crush. Not sure what is anymore. A letter-crush? A literary love? That’s stupid. Sorry. I just have this rule with myself that I never throw away what I write and I always send it, so hopefully this doesn’t weird you out too much. I had a dream about you too. Same kind of thing. Us, in the darkness, together. Just us. And it was like you said, a memory turned into a dream, but a memory of something that’s never happened, but in the dream it felt so real, and it was more, I don’t even know, more RIGHT than anything I’ve ever felt, in life or in dreams. I wonder what it means that we both had the same dream about each other. Maybe nothing, maybe everything. You tell me.

Cade
~ ~ ~ ~

Cade,

We’re pen pals. Maybe that’s all we’ll ever be. I don’t know. If we met IRL (in real life, in case you’re not familiar with the term) what would happen? And just FYI, the term you used, a literary love? It was beautiful. So beautiful. That term means something, between us now. We are literary loves. Lovers? I do love you, in some strange way. Knowing about you, in these letters, knowing your hurt and your joys, it means something so important to me, that I just can’t describe. I need your art, and your letters, and your literary love. If we never have anything else between us, I need this. I do. Maybe this letter will only complicate things, but like you I have a rule that I never erase or throw away what I’ve written and I always send it, no matter what I write in the letter. 

Your literary love,

Ever

My Casting

What the hell??! Are you kidding me?! Ok, I knew there was going to be a cliffhanger coming… but that? THAT?!!! Oh my Christ!

4.5 stars for Caden & Ever!

This is the story of Caden and Ever. This adorable couple meet when they are just fourteen/fifteen, at a summer arts camp in Interlochen. They have a instant connection which begins innocently enough. When the time comes for them to leave camp, they decide to become pen pals.

“Her name is Ever Eliot. She lives in Broomfield. She’s into painting and sculpture. She has a twin sister names Eden. She’s beautiful.”

They write letters to one another over the course of around five years and their relationship blossoms, despite the miles between them. They each go through their own trials and tribulations, typical teenage stuff, some more heavy issues, and throughout all of it, they provide support and friendship for one another. However, as they grow up, their lives become busier and their letters become less and less frequent. But still, neither can get the other out of their head, or their heart.

‘I’m trying to write, but my words have dried up. Sorry. Just…sorry.’

And then tragedy strikes and Caden and Ever finally meet again. It’s then that they realise that the physical and emotional connection they share is undeniable and intensely powerful. And so, their life together really begins.

“I was made to fuck you. I was made to love you, to hold you, to kiss you, to fuck you, to make you come and watch you sleep and keep you safe. And I will always, always do all of that.”

I am a freakin’ huuuge Jasinda Wilder fangirl! I find a lot of her writing to be incredibly emotional and I always seem to end up in tears when I’m reading her books. Forever & Always was certainly no exception. She’s one of my ‘drop everything’ authors and I always love her books…

Hooowwwweeeevvveeerrrr… for the first time ever, I had a teensy little problem with one of her stories. This book did start a little slowly for me. Caden and Ever are apart for a huge part of this book and it did make me slightly impatient. However, I’ve only knocked off half a star because I do think it was really important, for the development of both characters, that the reader witnessed everything they each went through in their late teenage years and the effect living without one another had on them, even if they didn’t realise it yet. That time they spent apart is the only reason I’ve deducted half a star… that and the fact that I’m a wreck right now!
Having said the above, I pretty much read this in one sitting, with the exception of the first chapter, which I read before going out for the evening. And that totally ruined my evening, because all I wanted to do was get home and get on with Forever & Always. Lol!

So, Caden and Ever…
Caden is just perfect. I absolutely loved Caden. So much. Oh my goodness, this boy goes through so much tragedy, it’s heartbreaking. He is forced to grow up very quickly and I really felt that he was a lot more mature than Ever. He is strong beyond his years, both emotionally and physically. He harbours a lot of grief on his young shoulders and takes so much solace in Ever’s letters.

Being able to write letters to someone who couldn’t judge me, who would write back and seem sympathetic and friendly, it helped me be me, helped me feel okay.

Ever is… Ever. Sometimes she’s a little shallow and a little immature, but on the whole she has a good heart. I liked that she was quite typical of a teenage girl going through high school. Her parents are wealthy and despite claims that she isn’t materialistic, I kind of think she is a little. But I did really like her. She’s sweet, kind, caring and a little oblivious. Lol.

The narrative flicks between Ever and Caden’s POV. It is part narrative, and partly the letters written by each of them. The letters are great. Jasinda cleverly uses their letters to convey emotion and describe the events that each are going through. There are some pretty awkward discussions about sex, relationships, first times, etc. which were both funny and difficult to read. I always really enjoy this kind of communication between characters… whether it’s reading letters, emails or text messages. There is just something about written communication between our lead characters that I like. Perhaps it is the ability to be bolder and more truthful when hiding behind paper/computer/phone. I don’t know, but it just always appeals to me, so I was excited to read this from the beginning.

“I just thought maybe if we wrote letters, we could talk about whatever we wanted.”

It is incredibly cute watching these two grow up. Obviously, they grow up apart, but their connection just grows stronger and stronger as their letters help each other through some very difficult times. They share everything from insignificant details of their day at school, to their deepest troubles following tragedy and heartache. However, their connection isn’t always a positive thing as it also prevents them from ever really connecting and opening up to anybody else. It may only be through pen and paper, for five long years, but there is something between these two that you just can’t help but believe. They become so sacred to one another that you can really feel the hesitation and the fear of eventually meeting. It’s like they become too precious to risk ruining it all by meeting in real life.

If I tried for something with Cade and it didn’t work, or he lied to me, or he let me down, if he failed to measure up, failed to be the magnificent specimen of manhood I’d built him up to be in my mind, I’d be devastated. Wrecked. And then I wouldn’t even have him to get me through the heartache.

When Ever and Cade do eventually meet one another again, after so many years… OH MY GOODNESS! Not only is it soooo heart-warmingly beautiful, it is off the charts hot! I can’t even explain! For what we lack in sexual content in the first half, we’re sure rewarded for in the second half… These two are like rampant rabbits on crack! I guess they’re making up for lost time. And Ever has a totally filthy mouth. I was shocked… sweet, lovely little Ever… has the mouth of whore! Freakin’ brilliant!

“Cade… god. I love this. I want more. Dirtier. Do something crazy. Something dirty. Fuck me, Cade. I like it dirty. Fuck me dirty.”

This first instalment of Caden and Ever’s story contains an awful lot of heartache, a whole river of tears and really isn’t easy to read. You will cry, and not just at the end! But the ending will completely rip you to shreds. However, luckily I have the second book to hand and can dive right in. Although I hear that After Forever isn’t much easier to read, so wish me luck. There are two outcomes I have in mind at the moment that I really, really would not be happy with, so I’m hoping that Jasinda pulls something totally fantastic out of the bag here. I’m nervous.

“This is love, Ever.” The words tumbled out, and I was rocked to my core by the admission. “I love you. Since I met you at Interlochen, I’ve loved you.”

There is a third book, which completes the trilogy, that hasn’t been released yet and doesn’t even have a blurb just now, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that Ms. Wilder gets a wiggle on and gives us some more details about this ASAP. And I’m also praying that I’m not left a blubbering mess at the end of book two. I’ll keep you posted.

Forever & Always Statistics
• Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥
• Ending: Cliffhanger
• Length: 241 pages
• Narrative: Alternates between Caden and Ever’s POV.
• Series: ✓
• Reading Order:
– Book #1 – Forever & Always (The Ever Trilogy, #1)
– Book #2 – After Forever (The Ever Trilogy, #2)
– Book #3 – Saving Forever (The Ever Trilogy, #3)
• Can this be read as a standalone? No
• Themes:
Pen pals
Grief
• WARNING. This book includes…
Sexual content. Death.
• Writing: Great

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Emotional Reads, Forever & Always, Four & a Half Stars, Friends to Lovers, Jasinda Wilder, Steamy Reads, Virginal Heroine. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Forever & Always (The Ever Trilogy #1), by Jasinda Wilder ✰✰✰✰✰

  1. Pingback: After Forever (The Ever Trilogy #2), by Jasinda Wilder ✰✰✰✰✰ | Smitten's Book Blog

  2. Pingback: Saving Forever (The Ever Trilogy #3), by Jasinda Wilder ★★★★★+ | Smitten's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

