Trouble, by Samantha Towle ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

Mia Monroe is running. Running from a person she doesn’t ever want to find her. Running from a past she doesn’t ever want anyone to know. Desperate to find a future, that yesterday, she could only dream of having. 

Jordan Matthews likes easy. Easy women. Easy life. 

Then he meets Mia. 

She’s damaged, troubled and has more baggage than any person can carry. But the more Jordan gets to know Mia-for the first time in his life-he finds himself wanting to try hard for something … for someone … for her.

And then life isn’t so easy anymore. 

Jordan is everything Mia shouldn’t want. A whole bunch of dirty hotness, tattooed, cocky bad boy, who made his money at poker tables and picked his women up in bars. Yet, Mia finds herself falling for him. Then the past Mia was running from, quickly starts to catch up with her. Because that’s the problem with running … you have to stop sometime. 

And when you stop, you get caught.

My Casting

This book was nothing like I expected. In fact, even as I progressed through the book, the tone of the story seemed to flick back and forth from light hearted to deep and dark.

3.5 stars for Jordan and Mia!

 

“This isn’t fixable… I’m not fixable. I was broken a long time ago beyond repair.”

This is the story of Mia Monroe.

Mia Monroe.
Huh. Like Marilyn Monroe, but not.

Mia has been abused all of her life. By her father and then by her current boyfriend. But one day, things take a turn for the even-worse and Mia finds the courage to leave. She doesn’t know where she is going or where she is going to live, but she knows she needs to escape the life she is allowing her abusive partner to inflict on her.

Slammed up against a wall.
Thrown to a floor.
Pinned to a bed.
Thrown down the stairs.
Hit.
Slapped.
Kicked.
Punched.
Beaten.
Broken ribs, wrist, fingers…
Heart-broken – irreparable.
Worthless.
In pain.
All the time.
It never stopped.
No one ever saved me…

She decides to embark on a search for her mother, who left her as a baby and whom she has never met. But fate throws a spanner in the works when she arrives at a hotel in Colorado and is confronted with super sexy, bad-boy hotelier, Jordan Matthews. And when Mia walks into his life, he knows it’s never going to be the same again!

“There’s no such thing as too pretty.”
“Yes, there is. There’s the kind of pretty that comes with a warning label. This girl is trouble.”

The book started off with a very serious, very dark, deep feel to it. There were scenes of severe abuse and I really felt Mia’s pain. However, I felt that when she left her home and arrived at Jordan’s hotel, the feel of the book changed completely. The book changed to a light hearted, airy read. Now, I can appreciate both types of story, but I just didn’t feel that they fit together. I just felt like the more light hearted parts of the book lacked the emotional depth that the issues in the beginning of the book deserved. I was reading the beginning thinking ‘Great, this is going to be gritty and raw and emotional.’ But it wasn’t, really.

 

It’s not the pain on the outside that does the damage; it’s the effect that bruise has on the inside that does the worst kind of damage.
The black eye heals. The pain never does.

Dozer was an issue for me. Dozer is Jordan’s big, friendly rescue dog. Now, Dozer is the only dog I’ve ever heard of that understands the human language enough to follow a conversation… other than in Disney movies, of course. This is an example of how the two feelings in the book just didn’t compliment one another. Mia and Jordan would be having a conversation and Dozer would give Jordan ‘a look’ that would make him see sense about the issue in question. That just irritated me. I have dogs. And yes, I do love my dogs as much as some people love their children… and whilst I chat away to them and pretend they understand what I’m saying, they definitely don’t. They don’t have opinions on the arguments I have with Mr. Smitten. So, just no!

However, there were parts of the book that I really, really enjoyed. Mia was pretty cool. She was a little immature and niave, but given her history, you can kind of forgive her this. I liked that she wasn’t too unwilling to let herself love, despite what she’d been through. She’s got a good heart and it hasn’t been tarnished by the abuse in her past. And her niavety just endears her to Jordan even more.

She’s so tiny, so fragile, yet so unbreakable.
She’s fucking amazing.
Everything I didn’t know I was looking for.

Speaking of Jordan, he is our scrummy bad-boy hero. I liked him, too. But when we say bad-boy, he isn’t really all that hard core. We get a bit of an insight into Jordan’s past too, and he certainly did have a few wayward years, but he’s a sweetie really! He’s had a good, secure up bringing, he runs the hotel with his Dad and despite being a bit of a womaniser, he really isn’t the bad guy he thinks he is.

When it comes to women, I put my dick in and keep my heart out. It’s the easiest way.

I liked that Mia and Jordan found solace in one another. I love it when two characters are struggling to find their way, and then they find it in each other.

 

“I love you, Mia. Every part of you. The best and worst. The broken, the perfect. The bad, the good. You’re it for me, babe. I see only you.”

This story is told using alternating POV’s and flicks between Mia and Jordan. I always enjoy a book written in this style because I often find it helps us fall in love with the heroine even more. It’s easy for us ladies to fall for the handsome hero, but the heroines can often be a bit more a hard sell. I find seeing our female lead through out leading man’s eyes often helps with this, if the author is able to write from a male POV well enough. And Samantha Towle is certainly capable of this. Jordan is cheeky, crude, sex obsessed, straight to the point and funny to read. A typical man, by all accounts.

My life has just got seriously hard.
Kind of like the permanent state of my cock while around Mia Monroe.

There’s quite a big twist in this story that I really couldn’t have predicted. I could feel that there was something coming, but the twist was brilliant. I got a little confused at first, and thought that a happy ending had just become impossible… but it wasn’t. For all of those happy-ending-lovers, never fear, Mia and Jordan do get their HEA.

It’s easy to be worthless to someone, but to matter to someone… well, I think that would be harder.

I have to say, I didn’t feel that this book matched up to Samantha Towle’s Mighty Storm series, as I was absolutely blown away by that, and Jake and Tru are one of my favourite book couples ever… but, it was a sweet, quick, easy read and does contain a very cute love story, loveable characters and one very intuitive dog.

 

This Man Confessed Statistics
• Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥
• Ending: HEA
• Length: 326 pages
• Narrative: Alternates between Mia and Jordan’s POV. Present tense.
• Series: ✗
• Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
• Themes:
Domestic violence
Eating disorder
Bad boy
• WARNING. This book includes…
Sexual content. Scenes of domestic violence/attempted rape.
• Writing: Good

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Bad Boys, Mental Health, Quick Reads, Samantha Towle, Stand Alones, Three & a Half Stars, Trouble. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

