This Man Confessed (This Man #3), by Jodi Ellen Malpas ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

THE STUNNING CONCLUSION TO THE THIS MAN TRILOGY!

The Manor, the very place where their passionate love affair began, fills with guests on what should be the happiest day of Ava and Jesse’s lives. She has accepted that she’ll never tame the fierceness in Jesse-and she doesn’t want to. Their love is profound, their connection powerful, but just when she thinks that she’s finally gotten beneath his guarded exterior, more questions arise, leading Ava to believe that Jesse Ward may not be the man she thinks he is. He knows too well how to take her to a place beyond ecstasy . . . but will he also drive her to the brink of despair? It’s time for this man to confess.

My Casting

Three
Two
One
Zero, baby.

WARNING: THIS REVIEW WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR BOOKS #1 & #2

Oh my goodness. I feel like I’ve been locked up in the land of This Man for aeons and have just emerged into the real world, a little dazed and confused, my eyes still adjusting to the light. Lol!

4 stars for Jesse & Ava

 

My devastating man, in all of his challenging ways.

That was a long ass series! I know I said it in my review of book #2, but seriously… Long!

However, despite their neurotic, possessive, paranoid, dramatic, crazy ways, when you spend so much time with someone, you can’t help but become attached. And I have to say, I did become quite attached to Jesse and Ava.

This books picks up not long after we leave Jesse and Ava in Beneath This Man, at the wedding.

Jesse has calmed down sooo much in this book. He still has secrets to be revealed and trust me, they will blow your mind! If you thought it had all been hashed out in the first two books, think again. There is a lot more dirt to be dished on ‘this man’. But he is less controlling, less scary-ass-stalker and less terrified of losing Ava, which was nice. *breathes big sigh of relief* He was wearing me out!

“You keep my heart beating, baby, but you can also make it fucking stop.”

But Jesse has some serious history! Oh my goodness, in fact, it’s a little insane, the amount he has been through. He’s loved, lost, wronged, made mistakes, made bad decisions, hurt people, been hurt by people and quite frankly, been a total asshole at times… but actually, Jesse’s craziness kind of all makes sense once all of his cards are on the table. You really can’t blame him for being such a maniac.

“I’ll never stop loving you hard. It’ll only get harder because every day that passes we create more memories. Memories I’ll treasure, not memories I want to forget. My mind if being filled with beautiful images of us, and they are replacing a history that lingers. They’re chasing away my past, Ava. I need them. I need you.”

And, if you hadn’t already, you will undoubtedly fall arse-over-tit in love with Jesse Ward in this final instalment. He is more laid back, so incredibly loving, much more honest, he dotes on Ava and there is an extra little addition to the plot that will have you swooning your socks off! Per.Fect!

“Tell me what you want, baby.”
“Just you. However you come.”
“I come with uncontrollable love for you. Is that good enough?”

I feel like there was quite a lot less sex in this book, although all of you horny book whores, don’t worry, your hunger will be fed, as there is still some very, veeeryy hot scenes in This Man Confessed. It’s just that there is so much more to fit in, that the sex kind of becomes secondary to the story, whereas I felt the first book was more a loose story written around a fantastic sex life.

Despite the fact that I wasn’t a fan of Jesse and Ava’s level of codependency, I did love the fact that they just can’t get enough of each other. I love any book hero that worships his woman and Jesse is the king, or should I say ‘God’, of woman worshipping! Well, Ava worshipping.

 

My beautiful girl.
My defiant temptress.
My lady.
My Angel.
My Ava.

He just adores her and she him, and that’s so beautiful to read. You really do believe that they’d do anything for one another and that their love will last a lifetime, despite the short time that they have known one another.

“This woman is my fucking life.”

Another thing that really warmed my heart in this book was the light heartedness between the two characters. As the truths unfolded and they began to grasp a better understanding of one another, they were much more candid, relaxed, much more fun and I really enjoyed that. Ava is quite cheeky with Jesse and he finds her all the more endearing for it. Equally, Jesse is much arrogant and sarcastic, but in a fun way. They tease one another, banter back and forth and learn how to push one anothers’ buttons just enough for it to be fun, but not so much that the other goes off at the deep end. It gave more depth to the characters and their relationship and I really did believe in them more because of it.

 

Oh yes, there he is, my husband, looking he’s just landed from planet fucking perfect.

However, these characters will still drive you insane. This Man Confessed is still full of the mandatory bad decisions, mis-communications, over reactions, and more, that we have come to expect from the This Man series. So don’t expect an easy ride at all.

 

“I can manage without anything, but never you. Not ever. Don’t look like this, please. Don’t look like you think it’s the end. It’s never the end for us. Nothing will break us, Ava. Do you understand me?”

So that mostly sounds great, right? So, why have I knocked a star off?? Well, I got to the end, and because of a few extras at the back of the book, the actual story finishes at about 87%, and instead of being like ‘Oh my god, what the hell?!’… I was kind of like ‘Oh ok, well that’s good, this was way too long and now I can move on.’… *feels bad*
So yeh, although I did love Jesse and Ava, even more so by the end of this book, it really was just too much.

The good bits were absolutely freakin’ great, but there was so much where I was reading it thinking ‘Yeh I can see where this is going… we’re going to get another countdown/argument/sense fuck/trample.’ And I just feel that for me to be able to give a book five stars I should never be wanting to flick forward like ‘Is this over soon?’. The perfect five star book should be long enough that it isn’t rushed, but short enough that it leaves you wishing there was more.

And lastly, I have to mention the epilogue. Brilliant. Such a perfect ending to Ava and Jesse’s story. Really, really loved the epilogue and just thought it rounded everything off beautifully.

“No more confessions because I have nothing left to tell.”

So, my advice is, if you’ve got a large window of time and you like yourself a crazily hot, sexy-as-hell, but scarily possessive, controlling, alpha male with a whole truckload of baggage, I definitely would recommend this series. But, if you’re at all bothered by men who order their women around, codependent relationships, or simply just don’t want to get stuck into a long read, then these books won’t be for you.

“End of!”

This Man Confessed Statistics
• Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥
• Ending: HEA
• Length: 501 pages
• Narrative: Ava’s POV. Present tense. Epilogue in Jesse’s POV.
• Series: ✓
• Reading Order:
– Book #1 – This Man (This Man, #1)
– Book #2 – Beneath This Man (This Man, #2)
– Book #3 – This Man Confessed (This Man, #3)
• Can this be read as a standalone? No
• Themes:
Mystery
Controlling, alpha male
Erotica
Codependency
• WARNING. This book includes…
Sexual content. A very controlling male.
• Writing: Good

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Alpha Males, Angst Overload, Four Stars, Jodi Ellen Malpas, Rich Guys, Series, Steamy Reads, This Man Confessed. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

