Torn (Connections #2), by Kim Karr ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

Rock star River Wilde brought Dahlia London back from the brink of hopelessness with his unwavering love and devotion. But their entangled history is about to test the strength of their relationship…

Dahlia was certain she had found true love and met her “Once in a Lifetime’ when she reconnected with River. But Dahlia’s world comes crashing down when someone from her past resurfaces, and all of River’s carefully hidden secrets are exposed.
                                                                  
River wants to show Dahlia that life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass—it’s about dancing in the rain. But how many times can one broken heart be mended?  Will River and Dahlia be able to stay together or will they be torn apart?

My Casting

  • River
  • Dahlia
  • Ben

    WARNING: This review will contain spoilers for book #1!

*swoooon* Rock star romance. Seriously. There is just something so swoonworthy about them!

5 stars for River and Dahlia!

 

“A long time ago, I wished for you and now I have you. See… wishes really do come true even if you tell someone your wish.”

This book picks up exactly where Connected ended. And thank Christ for that.Connected left us with a brutal cliffhanger and I just couldn’t work out how this book was going to pan out. I just love River and Dahlia together and despite my tears over Ben’s death, his reappearance, and the effect that would have on River and Dahlia, terrified me! And then the title, Torn to boot and I was so scared that Dahlia would be jumping between Ben and River. I do enjoy a good, juicy love triangle, but they also scare the living crap out of me, so I was quite nervous about this.

Relationships are made up of so many different emotions, but the one thing that keeps a relationship strong is love. Can doubt weaken such a strong bond? Not if two people don’t let it – right?

So in Torn we see the return of Ben. Just to recap… Ben Covington is Dahlia’s ex-fiance. Ben and Dahlia grew up together and were engaged to be married when Ben was supposedly shot dead three years ago, at the beginning of Connected. However, at the end of the first book, we get to read Ben’s journal that he has evidently been keeping whilst he has been living a secret life in New York, faking his death and hiding from the people that are after him. So Connected ends with the minor bombshell Ben is, in fact, alive! And Torn is the story of how Dahlia deals with having her first love and her current love, both in her life at the same time.

This book ripped me to pieces. But not in the way I thought it would. There is a great quote that Kim Karr has included in the back of this book, that was sent to her from one of her beta-readers. I think this sums it up really well…
“I keep thinking of the saying ‘after the wedding the marriage begins’ and it kind of holds true for falling in love as well, because that is the easy part. It is after that the relationship begins and all the work that comes with it. And that is definitely what Torn is about for me.”

Dahlia and River and hopelessly in love with one another, but honestly, these two just can not catch a break. One dreaded phonecall after another, one traumatic incident after another. It’s exhausting, but gripping. I couldn’t put it down.

“What it comes down to is that unless you tell me you still love him, there is nothing we can’t work out.”

One of my pet hates is annoying misunderstandings. There were a few mis-communications in this book, but, for the first time ever, I think, they really worked. This book is actually a lot about the communication, or lack thereof, between two people in a relationship. The mess it can cause when two people don’t listen to one another or don’t share everything, the insecurities that raise their ugly heads and eventually, the resolution that only honesty and trust can provide.

 

We both trust each other because, after all, isn’t that what love is – knowing someone can crush you, but believing they never will, trusting them not to?

It broke my heart to see both Dahlia and River suffering. Their worries and arguments were totally valid. The things they go through in this book would test even the strongest, longest-standing relationships. It was completely understandable that they would argue and the strain would get to them.

“I want to believe your love is only for me. That your lips are mine. That your kisses are meant for me. That your body belongs to me.” His arms move to my waist and tighten around me and he presses his hard body against mine. “But when you leave me to see him, it’s hard to know for sure.”

Let’s talk about Ben. I truly was totally torn when it came to Ben. In that respect, this book could not have been entitled better.

See, as we’ve established, I adore River and I think he and Dahlia are perfect together. However, Ben… here is a man with absolutely nothing. He was forced to give up the life he knew due to an error in judgement. He is finally allowed to return to his life, which he thought he would never be able to do, and nothing is the same for him. The woman he has always loved and hoped would still love him back, is deeply in love with somebody else, he has no job, his family have their own problems and he is just a sad, desperate man, not knowing which way to turn.

“Brigitte told me once that in France they don’t say I missed you, they say you were missing from me, and you were.”

I have to admit, as much as I didn’t want Dahlia to leave River, my heart did break for Ben. I know he isn’t all good, he has made mistakes and done wrong, but jeez, who hasn’t, right?! I don’t know whether or not we are supposed to like him or hate him, or whether the author wants us to experience the internal battle over our feelings for Ben, but I really did. I believe we do get Ben’s full story in book #3, and I can’t wait.

 

“I try to understand why death takes a person from you, but not the relationship. It leaves you to carry on with only half of what you need to make things whole.”

I have to mention that I absolutely love all the references to familiar names in these books. Absolute genius, Kim! She mentions a couple of our favourite fictional rockstars, including Jake Wethers and Kellan Kyle and there are also some book-blog names scattered about, mine included, Aestas, Reality Bites, etc. It’s a real fun addition to the book and a great tribute to this fabulous indie-author community that we have all become a part of and that has brought us all together.

So that’s pretty much it, in a nutshell. I’m really, really enjoying this series. It’s incredibly hot, adorably cute, a whole lot mysterious and a little bit of everything wrapped up in a very engaging package. And let’s not forget, a super sexy rockstar hero with a heart of gold.
I love River and Dahlia and the brilliant cast of surrounding characters promises more great stories to come from Kim Karr.

“To women who think they’re all that, may their boobs drop at a young age.”

Torn Statistics
• Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥
• Ending: HEA
• Length: 288 pages
• Narrative: Mostly Dahlia, first person. Some diary entries from Ben. Some chapters from River’s POV.
• Series: ✓
• Reading Order:
– Book #1 – Connected (Connections, #1)
Read my review of Connected here.
– Book #2 – Torn (Connections, #2)
– Book #3 – Mended (Connections, #3)
Expected publication: June 3rd 2014
– Book #4 – Frayed (Connections, #4)
Expected publication: Sept 2nd 2014
– Book #5 – Flawed (Connections, #5)
Expected publication: 2015
– Book #6 – Perfected (Connections, #6)
Expected publication: 2015
• Can this be read as a standalone? No
• Themes:
Mystery
Love triangle
Rockstar romance
• WARNING. This book includes…
Sexual content. Death.
• Writing: Great

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Death, Emotional Reads, Five Stars, Kim Karr, Love Triangle, Rock Star Romance, Series, Steamy Reads, Torn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

