Cake, by Nicole Reed ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

Would you be willing to make a mess of your life to get exactly what you want?

Kylie Lord has known Trent Moss and Dray Savage since college. Trent, the smart and kind-hearted humanitarian has had her heart from the moment they met, but someone else always has his. Dray is an arrogant professional football player who happens to be Trent’s best friend and Kylie’s nemesis “with benefits.”

Five years after graduation, Kylie is commanding the world with a new image and a successful business; however, she lacks the one thing she wants and the one thing she can never have. That is, until one fateful night when Kylie decides to go after all of her forbidden fantasies and risk everything. 

Two men, completely different and poles apart, but together they are her idea of perfection. One can only offer her tonight and the other forever, but can Kylie settle for just one man, or can she have her cake and eat it too?

My Casting

3.5 stars for Kylie & Dray. Trent can have two, lol.

Kylie Lord has known Trent Moss and Dray Savage forever. And she has been hopelessly in love with Trent for that exact amount of time. However, Dray, Trent’s foster brother, is somewhat less pleasant to be around. Dray pisses Kylie off every time they are in the same room as one another, and she assumes that this will never change.
Trent is always off changing the world and ‘good-doing’, so Kylie treasures the time she gets to spend with him when he’s home, despite the small matter of her unrequited love for him. Whilst he is away saving lives, Dray has a dangerous football injury and Trent calls upon Kylie to be there for the only family he has ever known.

“For so many years, we’ve drawn out battle lines and fought this war, but I’m waving the white flag.”

Whilst Kylie is caring for Dray, things begin to change between them and feelings Kylie never imagined she’d feel for Dray begin to surface. And then Trent returns… Can Kylie have her cake and eat it or will she be able to choose between these two men she has known for so long?

 

“I want a good guy who wants to make the world a better place by side and a demon in the bedroom. Can I marry Trent and fuck Dray because that sounds like the answer to my problems.”

This book is funny. It really did make me giggle. Nicole Reed introduces us to a great heroine, and her BFF, who both have a fantastic sense of humour. Some of the one liners were hilarious.

“You have to admit, his voice gets you wetter than a cucumber in a women’s prison.”

However, I didn’t quite feel the emotional connection between these characters. We don’t get to actually meet Trent until very late in the book, so I really felt little to no emotion for him at all.

If anything, I didn’t like him. He’d treated Kylie like crap and just waltzed in and out of her life, expecting her to drop everything for him.

 

“I want a good guy who wants to make the world a better place by side and a demon in the bedroom. Can I marry Trent and fuck Dray because that sounds like the answer to my problems.”

I really liked Dray. But with him, I felt that we didn’t really get much insight into his and Kylie’s turbulent relationship, so I didn’t really associate him with being the asshole that Kylie makes him out to me. To me, he just seemed like a nice guy and Kylie seemed to making a mountain out of a molehill. He was just a bit crude. Therefore, I didn’t really feel that change of heart and the excitement/tension that can be built when two characters go from hate to love.

“I am thinking we could come up with, Fifty Shades of Red. You know, see how many shades of scarlet we can turn that tight round ass of yours. My palm is already itching just thinking about it. We could start tonight.”

One other thing that I felt quite indifferent about was the Nick Andrews storyline… I just didn’t really see the point of it. There was no real climax or outcome and it just interrupted the Dray/Kylie/Trent roll.

And then there was the ending. Whaaat?! I felt like the author kind of got bored and just went ‘Aaah, that’ll do. I’ll just an an epilogue and be done.’ No no no. That’s not okay. I want a resolution in the actual book. An epilogue is an additional extra to sweeten the happy ending, not a hint at the happy ending you didn’t actually get to read about. Slightly annoyed.

 

“Life is too short and, at the same time, so long, to think your love is limited.”

Don’t get me wrong, the book was nice. There was a bit of humour, a bit of angst, a juicy little love triangle, some yummy, steamy sex scenes and a pretty likeable heroine. And lots of people have loved it, so perhaps it’s just me being a Debbie Downer. I can totally see where the author was headed with this plot line, but I just don’t feel like it was executed brilliantly. This was the first Nicole Reed book I have read and apparently it is absolutely nothing like her others, so I’m quite intrigued to read another style from her.

Cake Statistics
• Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥
• Ending: HEA
• Length: 249 pages
• Narrative: Female protagonist. First person.
• Series: ✗
• Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
• Themes:
Love triangle
Hate to love
• WARNING. This book includes…
Sexual content.
• Writing: Average

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Cake, Death, Friends to Lovers, Love Triangle, Nicole Reed, Three & a Half Stars. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

