Moore to Lose (Needing Moore #2), by Julie A. Richman ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

Continuing the fight for their happily ever after that began in Searching for Moore, Schooner Moore and Mia Silver struggle to overcome the ghosts and baggage they accumulated during their time apart.

Exploring the missing 24 years when they were separated, Moore to Lose follows Mia’s journey from heartbroken teen to kickass businesswoman to her emotional reunion with Schooner and the exploration of the love that was ripped from them.

But is their love really strong enough to overcome the damage of those missing 24 years or will they continue to be ripped apart by pasts that can’t be changed?

This is Book 2 in the Needing Moore Series. This is not a stand alone book. It is meant to be read after Searching for Moore.

My Casting

  • Schooner
  • Mia

Ah, where to start?! I’m partly intensely frustrated by this book and partly head-over-heels in love with it.

This is Mia’s journey. Moore to Lose follows Mia through the twenty four years that she and Schooner were apart. It sees her trying to cope with the trauma of her past and trying to rid her mind of all things Schooner.

 

“Where are you? Am I supposed to go through this lifetime without you? Were we just not meant to be together in this lifetime? Would I even recognize you if we were to meet?” As tears streamed down her cheeks, “Or did I already lose you?” You’re my go-to, Schooner, she thought.

4.5 Stars for Mia and Schooner.

 

I am knocking half a star off because of the lack of Schooner. Generally, in my books, I like to know who my hero is going to be and spend the entire book falling in love with them. My hero and heroine being apart for prolonged periods of time tends to frustrate me.

And whilst that did happen a little during this book, there was so much to Mia’s story, that I will admit to losing myself to it for the most part. In fact, at times, I even kind of forgot that I was reading Mia and Schooner’s story.

“I just want to find that person for me, that soul mate, that connection that I thought I had found with you. And I just fear that I am going to go through this lifetime and not find it.”

Mia’s journey is far from easy. I definitely have a new level of respect for this character, whom I already loved. There are some incredibly emotional, thought provoking, distressing scenes in this book. Mia tries to move on, tries to have healthy relationships, tries to deal with everything that she’s been dealt. But sometimes she just isn’t strong enough.

“I just had a really rough night,” she pulled the cover over her head again.
“I’m afraid to ask.”
“Suffice it to say it involved two men and a lot of drugs.”

There are scenes of drug use, sexual promiscuity, grief and more in this book. It’s an emotional ride and I would advise treading with caution if you are at all offended or affected by certain triggers.

I feel that I need to mention two more characters for this book. Mia has various relationships, but the two most prominent ones are with Tom and Michael. 

I didn’t like Tom. Handsome, brooding, poet, professor, Tom. Ten years older than Mia, Tom is a self confessed player. Yes, he was sexy as hell, but something told me to be wary about him from the beginning. Perhaps it was Mia’s vulnerability, of the fact the way they began their relationship. I don’t know.

However, as time went on, I begun to doubt myself and allowed myself to like him a little more. Well, you’ll find out how that ends when you read the book. For me, Tom was all about Mia’s sexual discovery and coming of age.

“What are you doing to me?”
“Fucking the crap out of you.”

And then there was Michael. I loved Michael. I felt like I was being totally unfaithful to Schooner, but I did. Michael is just a darling. He’s sweet, kind, sensitive, gorgeous. He’s perfect.

But this time, it was Mia who wasn’t so sure. Michael and Mia’s relationship has ups and downs. And then, Julie A. Richman broke. My. Heart! Oh God! I was ugly crying at 1am this morning. I was absolutely crushed and I ended up having to put the book down and compose myself, because I was trying to read on and my mind was still going ‘But… what just happened?’ and I was ending up reading one paragraph over and over because I just couldn’t concentrate. So, be aware… you will fall traitorously in love with Michael and you will cry.

“I love you and you are coming home to me tonight, you got that, Buster.”
“Yeah, I got it. I love you, Mia. I love you so much.”
“Good, because you’ve got me for as long as you’ll have me.”

But, moving on, we know that Mia’s destiny isn’t with Tom or Michael. We know that after twenty four years apart, Mia and Schooner are reunited. So, after Mia’s story, we then switch to Schooner’s POV. We get his take on their re-connection and his split with CJ.

“Did you even love me, Mia? Did you ever think about me after you walked away?”

And then we switch again, to Mia and Schooner’s story, together.

“Baby Girl, do you have any idea what you do to me?” There were smiles at either end of the phone at the reprise of the words that started a lifelong love affair.
“Schooner…”
“Yeah, Baby Girl…”
“It’s smoochal.”

At the end of this book, we are finally back in the here and now. Our Mia and Schooner are back together, a little after where we left them in book #1. And then we get another freakin’ cliffhanger. Julie, you are an evil wench. Please please please write your butt off and get book #3 in my hands asap.

This is such a great series so far. Parts of it remind me a little of the Love Me With Lies series. It’s got that kind of love triangle, the absence between the two main characters, the villainous ‘other woman’ who is determined to get her claws into the man. I’d love to see these books getting more attention. Add them to your TBR lists and check them out. And I’ll keep you posted on the release of the final instalment.

 

Moore to Lose Statistics
Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥
Ending: Cliffhanger
Series: ✓
Reading Order:
Book #1 – Searching for Moore (Needing Moore #1)
Book #2 – Moore to Lose (Needing Moore #1)
Book #3 – TBC (not yet released)
Can this be read as a standalone? No
Themes:
Second chance
PTSD
Warning. This book includes…
Sexual content. Death. Drug use. PTSD.
Writing: Great

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Angst Overload, Cliffhanger, Emotional Reads, Four & a Half Stars, Julie A. Richman, Mental Health, Moore to Lose, Rich Guys, Steamy Reads, Student/Teacher Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Moore to Lose (Needing Moore #2), by Julie A. Richman ✰✰✰✰✰

  1. Michelle says:

    I thought “Moore to Lose,” was BETTER than “Searching for Moore,” and I’m a Team Schooner girl, all the way. But, this book hit me so deeply because I knew, know and have been Mia, at different points in my life. Beautifully written!

  2. I would have to agree with Michelle I loved ” Moore to Lose ” better than the first book. I must say that both books are awesome reads.

  3. Patricia says:

    Julie Richman gets even better with each book. So if you liked Searching for Moore you are going to love Moore to Lose

Leave a Reply

