Searching For Moore (Needing Moore #1) by Julie A. Richman ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

Attended by reality TV star wannabes and Southern California social climbers, Schooner Moore knows the party his wife is throwing for his forty-third birthday has little to do with him and everything to do with her social standing in Orange County. The evening turns out to hold more surprises than just his wife’s Botoxed friends groping at his privates, when a conversation with his old college roommate, Beau, reveals the biggest surprise of the night.

Beau has had contact on Facebook with Mia Silver. Just hearing her name sends Schooner into a tailspin, as he is now just a Friend Request away from the one who got away when she disappeared without a goodbye, leaving him wondering why she left.

A serial failure at romance, Manhattan boutique ad agency owner, Mia, gets a blindside of her own when a Facebook Friend Request from first love, Schooner, appears in her email. Going with her gut reaction, Mia hits accept, propelling her past to catch up with her in a New York minute, as a forceful Schooner is determined to understand what tore them apart and to explore the possibility of a second chance at love.

From a 1980’s Southern California college campus and a devastating first love to present day New York City, Searching for Moore explores how technology has eradicated the divide between our past and our present, and asks whether you would give up everything to reconnect with The One in a single keystroke?

My Casting

  • Schooner
  • Mia

I absolutely loved this book! I loved Schooner. I loved Mia. I loved the surrounding characters. I loved the flashbacks. I loved the here and now. It’s original and addictive.

5 Mooreish stars See what I did there? 😉

 

I am fuuuuurious at Julie A. Richman for leaving me dangling from that cliff!! Oh my goodness. Talk about cliffhanger. The good news, ladies, is that we only have to wait two weeks for book #2. Thank God!!

So, this book is a second chance love story between Schooner Moore and Mia Silver. Nineteen-year-old Schooner, from California, is the perfect All American boy. He’s blonde, blue eyed, tanned, athletic, gorgeous, intelligent and wealthy… He lives up to everybody’s expectations of the man he should be. Upon arriving at college, Schooner meets two girls who both have a huge impact on his life.
CJ. His female counterpart. Beautiful, blonde, former prom-queen. For Schooner, dating CJ is the obvious thing to do and within days they become an item.

Schooner and CJ. Like Ken and Barbie come to life. They were the epitome of every out-of-stater’s fantasy of what the quintessential California boy and California girl looked like. Schooner and CJ. They were beautiful and they looked like they belonged together.

Then there is Mia. Little, quirky, sixteen-year-old Mia, with her glasses, curly dark hair, clogs and mischievous Devil smile. Mia fascinates Schooner from the moment they meet.
Mia and Schooner develop an easy friendship and when CJ and half the student body leave on educational trips for Interim, Mia and Schooner find themselves working together on an assignment. After a few weeks in their company, Mia and her slightly oddball friends have Schooner questioning the image he’s worked hard to live up to and the person he really is.

He was the All-American Boy. Handsome, polite, top student, great athlete, buddy, boyfriend, son, soon-to-be frat brother. Schooner kept everyone happy.
Schooner Moore had no fucking idea who he really was.

Long story short… Mia and Schooner find themselves enveloped in an intense romance that will set the bar for every relationship for the rest of their lives.

Fast forward. It’s been twenty four years since Mia Silver has seen or spoken to the gorgeous Schooner Moore. Until she receives a Facebook friend request from him. And suddenly, a past that Mia and Schooner had both forced themselves to forget is now forcing them to remember.

 

“I’ve waited a lifetime. A lifetime. You are mine. No one is ever going to take you from me again. No one is ever going to touch you again. No one. Ever.”

Ok, let’s deal with the elephant in the room, first. Yes, our hero is called ‘Schooner’… No, I don’t get that either. Nooo idea why. But just ignore that. It kinda works for him. He’s so confident, so utterly perfect that he might be the only person in the world that can totally make being named after a sailing ship work in his favour.

Back to the good stuff… I could not put this book down. It was that good. The writing is fabulous and engaging. I knew I was going to like Julie A. Richman’s writing style within the first page. It’s adorable, deliciously sexy, heart warming, heart breaking, it kept me on my toes, it made me smile, made me laugh, made me gasp. It has twists that I didn’t see coming. The dialogue is fantastic. The surrounding characters are brilliant. It even has a wicked witch… it had everything I want in a book.

Schooner and Mia did not just look like they belonged together, Schooner and Mia belonged together.

It has a hero to die for. Schooner has to be up there on the top Book-Boyfriends list. If you like yourself a sexy rich BB, you will love Schooner Moore. He’s stunning, ripped, protective, a little bit controlling, smart, strong… *sigh* There’s a devestating scene in this book where my heart shattered for Mia, and Schooner is perfection personified. Did I mention that I love him?

“Christian Louboutin made you cry. So I bought you Jimmy Choo’s.”

And Mia is possibly one of the coolest protagonists ever! She’s funky, quirky, ballsy, a little bit weird and I want her to be my friend. She’s so real and loveable. She isn’t one of these irritating, needy, dramatic characters that makes you roll your eyes and shout at your e-reader. She’s just super cool, in all her weirdness. You’ll love her.

“I love you.”
“It’s smoochal.”

Let’s talk about CJ. Aaaaaarrrgh!!! What a loathsome, despicable character. She literally ruined the lives of two wonderful people, with absolutely no remorse. You don’t actually get to meet CJ on many occasions, you read about her and you learn about her through Schooner and Mia, but her page space is limited. However, you will still hate her and despise her every breath.

My heart broke for the time that Mia and Schooner lost. It was so sad and even when they reconnected, I found it so sad that they had missed so much of one another’s lives. I felt so sorry for both of them. So much had been lost and each of them had been through such traumatic times.

“I wanted you to be my first.”

I have one minor complaint about this book that I just need to quickly touch upon… The accidental blow job???? Errrr??? Sorry, what?! Puhleeease! As if.
Ok, that is all.

So, like I mentioned, this book ends with a huge cliffhanger. I was so engrossed in the story that I hadn’t realised I was that close to the end of book. And when I clicked to the last page and it ended, I was like ‘WHAAAAAT?! NO!!!’ I’m so glad I didn’t read this any earlier, because it’s going to be hell waiting just two weeks for book #2, so I certainly couldn’t wait any longer than that.

I highly recommend that everybody go read this book. I really want you all to go and read this, so then I can chat to you about Schooner Moore!

“If you want me to tell you that I love you, I will do that – but I don’t think those words even begin to describe what I feel for you and I don’t know what the right words are.”
“You just said them.”

I know lots of you are going to want to wait until Moore to Lose is out, and I totally understand that, but please add this to your TBR lists and get on at as soon as book #2 is released. Moore to Lose will be released on September 30th and I will be grabbing it as soon as possible! In fact, I might even get on my knees and beg the author for a cheeky ARC. I’ll let you know how that goes. 😉

“’till we meet again.”

 

Searching for Moore Statistics
Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥
Ending: Cliffhanger
Series: ✓
Reading Order:
Book #1 – Searching for Moore (Needing Moore #1)
Book #2 – Moore to Lose (Needing Moore #1)
Can this be read as a standalone? No
Themes:
First love
Second chance
Warning. This book includes…
Sexual content
Writing: Great

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Alpha Males, Angst Overload, Cliffhanger, College Romance, Friends to Lovers, Julie A. Richman, Rich Guys, Searching for Moore, Series, Steamy Reads, Virginal Heroine. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Searching For Moore (Needing Moore #1) by Julie A. Richman ✰✰✰✰✰

  1. Michelle says:

    OMG. i had a similar experience: http://nursewannabeinfl.com/2013/06/11/book-review-searching-for-moore-by-julie-a-richman/
    After that reaction, I met other fans of “Searching for Moore,” and this happened: http://nursewannabeinfl.com/2013/07/23/etiology-of-a-book-trailer-searching-for-moore-by-julie-a-richman/

    I am so happy you found “Searching for Moore,” and I can predict that you will adore “Moore to Lose.”
    Regards,
    Michelle

  2. Michelle says:

    Reblogged this on Chronicles of a 40-something Nurse Wannabe and commented:
    Another fan falls in love with “Searching for Moore,” by Julie A. Richman, book one of the “Needing Moore,” series. Book two, “Moore to Lose, will be released on September 30th.

  3. Hayson says:

    I loved this book too! Awesome story. I will be reading all by the talented Ms Richman.

  4. Amy Thomas says:

    I really liked this book as well. The character development is really good – on the main characters but also on the supporting ones. I read it in May and have been anxiously awaiting book #2.

  5. Mercia says:

    I read the whole series/ trilogy. Absolutely amazing story! Julie A Richman has become one of my favourite , US authors.

Leave a Reply

