Falling Into Us (Falling #2) by Jasinda Wilder ✰✰✰✰✰+

✰✰✰✰✰+

THE STORY YOU THOUGHT YOU KNEW…

When Kyle Calloway died, he took a part of Nell with him. She wasn’t the only one left to pick up the pieces, however; Kyle’s death left a gaping hole in the hearts and lives of his parents and his older brother Colton, and ultimately broke the will of the girl he loved.

THE STORY YOU NEVER IMAGINED…

Becca de Rosa is Nell’s best friend. When Kyle died, Nell was so devastated that no one could reach her, not even her best friend Becca. As she tries to help Nell through her grief, Becca’s own life is thrust into turmoil, and everything she knows is changed.

Jason Dorsey asked Nell out the week after her sixteenth birthday, but that date never happened. Instead, he ended up going out with Nell’s best friend, Becca. He had no way of knowing, then, how that one date would send him on a life-long journey with Becca. He had no way of knowing the tragedies and triumphs he would experience, or that in Becca, he might find the love of a lifetime.

THE HEARTACHE YOU’LL NEVER FORGET…

My Casting

Wooowww! Awwww, swoon! *sigh* I’m slightly incoherent, can you tell? Love drunk, I think you might call it.

Why did somebody not yell at me to read this sooner? I blame you. All of you. I should have read this when it first came out. I don’t even know why I didn’t.

I’m wavering between five and five + stars with this one… it was so beautiful, yet so tragic. My heart broke, then swelled, then shattered, then warmed… Oh goodness, I was a mess.

I totally adored Falling Into You, Nell, Kyle and Colt’s story, even though I cried like an absolute baby for so much of it… so when I found out that there was a book #2, I was over the moon. And then I found out that it wasn’t a continuation of Colt and Nell, but, in fact, Nell’s friends Becca and Jason’s story, I was a little miffed. (Ok, remember that point, I’ll be coming back to it). I felt cheated. I really wanted to know more about Colt and Nell… so, I guess, there’s the reason I didn’t dive in sooner.

But oh my my my goodness. This is one of the most beautiful romances I’ve ever read. This isn’t about the problems inside a relationship… this is about the problems outsideof a relationship and the solace, security, protection, love and home that two people find within one another.

We are introduced to Jason in Falling Into You when he asks Nell on a date. Doing this forces Nell and her childhood friend, Kyle (Jason’s best friend) to admit their feelings for one another and Nell and Jason’s date never happens. Instead, Nell persuades Jason to ask her best friend, Becca out. Becca has had a crush on Jason since fourth grade and, although she is a little sceptical about being second best, she agrees to go out with Jason and their relationship blossoms.


Falling Into Us follows Jason and Becca throughout their life together. It deals with the death of Kyle, which we see in book #1, and the effect it has on Becca and Jason. It deals with Becca seeing Nell in turmoil and it introduces us to new characters that have a huge impact on Becca and Jason’s lives, including Becca’s troubled brother Ben and Jason’s abusive father.

Obviously, Becca and Jason face their up and downs, as do every couple. Things aren’t smooth sailing. But they are so strong together. Possibly the most secure, steadfast book couple I have ever read about. And I absolutely loved that. They are one anothers’ first everything. First kiss, first love, first time… it’s absolutely precious.
If more men were like Jason and more women were like Becca, there would be a lot less divorce and whole lot more head-over-heels in love, sexually sated, secure, happy couples in this world.


Becca is awesome. She suffers from a stutter and I actually found it really endearing. She’s super super smart, but shy and insecure. She’s always had a crush on Jason, but she’s always thought he’d never noticed her. I loved seeing her turn from a shy young girl into a confident young woman, under Jason’s watchful eye.


And that leads me to Jason. Absolutely perfection personified.
Seriously, I don’t think the guy did a damn thing wrong or put one foot out of place the entire book! He is one of my favourite book boyfriends ever. He loves Becca so fiercely. He protects her, he cares for her, he looks after her… in every situation, he puts her first. Financially, emotionally, physically, sexually.


There are some incredible emotional sub plots in this book. A lot of death, grief and trauma. And Jason literally carries his Becca through it all. The pillar of strength. With his bulging muscles and footballers build. There are not enough words for me to describe how much I am crushing on Jason right now. The fact that he is just a fictional character hurts my heart.

So, there’s the heartache, the sweetness, the tragedy… and then there’s the sex. Holy mother of all things hot! Jesus H. Christ. These two are freakin’ scorching! There are a few scenes that I thought might cause my Kindle to spontaneously combust. There’s the non-sex scene, in Jason’s truck, after their winter formal. Ooooh wow. Adorably niave, sensitive, but absolutely smoking, all at the same time! And then as they grow up, become familiar with one another and begin to explore, the sex gets hotter and more adventurous and more exciting.

AND, for once, a girl who takes control in the bedroom. Now, don’t get me love, it’s not for me. I love all of our controlling, dominant sex-God book boyfriends. I really do. But it was a refreshing change to read, from both Jason and Becca’s POV, about a sexual relationship where the man just loves the woman so much that he lets her take the reins. He loves to see her come into her own, lead the way and take from him what she wants. It was soooo damn cute. I kind of thought it’d make him seem a bit of a wimp and a bit less attractive. Not at all. He’s so strong, physically and emotionally, and he’s so secure in himself, his sexuality and his relationship with Becca, that it totally worked. And it was king of like he let her take control, like, really, he was still in charge but he let her think she was. If that makes sense? It was still super sexy.


It takes some serious skills to write a novel that is as emotional, profoundly soul wrenching, heart warming and HOT as this book. Jasinda Wilder has those skills in abundance. I felt so much whilst reading this book. I felt sad, happy, content, distraught, heartbroken, turned on… all of it. And… how amazing is it that throughout all of that, through all of those feelings, Becca and Jason remain the strongest couple in book history?! Just wow!
So, coming back to wanting more Colt and Nell. Don’t worry. You get it. This book is told from the alternating POVs of Becca and Jason. It runs parallel, time wise, toFalling Into You and deals with a lot of the same issues. But it then carries on past the end of book #1 and we get some extra Nell and Colt moments, some perfect scenes that will just melt you on the spot. So, don’t worry, you will get your Nell and Colt fix. But, being totally honest, I didn’t even need them like I thought I would. Jason and Becca were more than enough for me.


Oh, sod it, I’m giving this 5+ stars. I’m really stingy with my 5+ ratings, but I can’t think of any reason not to rate this book as highly as possible. I know some people will be dissapointed in the lack of conflict in Becca and Jason’s actual relationship, but I just loved that, and writing this review is, on the one hand making me all warm and fuzzy, remembering the way I felt whilst reading the book, but also, gutted that it’s over. That’s a 5+ star book!!

Jasinda is one of my favourite authors. She is one of my ‘it’s a [insert author name here] book so of course I’ll buy it’, regardless of the blurb, the cover, etc. etc. I loveher writing. It’s seemless and addictive. Her characters are to die for and her storylines are always amazing.

Falling Into Us Statistics
Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥
Ending: HEA
Series: ✓
Reading Order:
Book #1 – Falling Into You (Falling #1)
Book #2 – Falling Into Us (Falling #2)
Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
Themes:
Death
Grief
First love
Lifetime love
Warning. This book includes…
Sexual content. Domestic abuse. Alcoholism. Violence. Death.
Writing: Fantastic

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Angst Overload, College Romance, Delicious Sexual Tension, Emotional Reads, Falling Into Us, Five Stars Plus, Jasinda Wilder, NA, Series, Stand Alones, Steamy Reads, Virginal Heroine. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Falling Into Us (Falling #2) by Jasinda Wilder ✰✰✰✰✰+

  1. Danielle says:

    Oh I am actually just reading this now. So far so good so I’m really excited to continue now 🙂

  2. Pingback: Falling Under (Falling #3), by Jasinda Wilder ★★★★★ | Smitten's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

