On Every Street (The Artists Trilogy 0.5), by Karina Halle ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

When young con artist Ellie Watt decides to call herself Eden White and go after the drug lord who ruined her as a child, she never expects to fall for one of his henchmen. But Javier Bernal is no ordinary man. Subtly dangerous and overwhelmingly seductive, Eden finds herself passionately in love with Javier, the very person she’s set-up to betray. With her body and heart in a heated battle against her deep need for revenge, no one will walk away from this con a winner.

This 50K word (100+ pages) novella takes place six years before Sins & Needles. It can be read before or after Sins & Needles and may also be read as a standalone.

My Casting

Nope. No no no. Not feeling Javier. Not at all.
In fact, I’d go as far as to say he’s totally creepy.

Sorry, ladies. He just didn’t do it for me.

 

To clarify, I read this book after reading Sins & Needles. Personally, I’m glad I did that way around. I think that not knowing what had happened to Ellie heightened the impact of the story in S&N. I loved the way the reader was drip fed details of Ellie’s past in S&N, and I feel that reading On Every Street first would have spoilt that somewhat.

I know that some people liked to have the insight into Javier and Ellie/Eden’s relationship before reading S&N, but personally, I preferred not to know.

This is the ‘before’ story… It’s set six years prior to Sins & Needles and it’s the story of when 20-year-old Ellie Watt leaves the comfort of her uncle’s farm and goes back to her past, seeking revenge on the drug lord who ruined her life, when she was just a child.

She tracks one of his employees, in a bid to seduce him and get herself closer to her mark to exact her revenge. However, as her plan plays out, she starts to find herself falling in love with the mysterious, sexy, Mexican henchman, Javier Bernal.

 

But Javier is a dangerous and depraved man, and his life and world are more than Ellie is ready to deal with. Murder, drugs, betrayal… Ellie finds herself in way over her head. Falling harder and deeper for the sinful Javier.

It was interesting to read about Ellie and Javier. It answered a lot of questions, revealed a lot about Javier and a lot about Ellie and why she fears him, why she loved him and why is so guarded.

Ellie and Javier’s relationship is explosive! It’s insta-lust, smoking hot, incredibly sensual. I absolutely believed in the chemistry.

Ellie is completely enchanted by Javier’s charm and passion. He’s like nobody she’s ever met before. A vulnerable, young virgin, she’s inexperienced in the art of sex and seduction, and Javier’s cool, confident, sensuous approach at pursuing a relationship with her enthrals her from the very beginning.

However… I did not fall for Javier. Not at all.

Ok, some of the scenes were hot. But he was just over intense, completely scary and just not my kind of thing. At all. I love my alpha males, my over controlling book boyfriends and I especially love the bad ass dangerous types… but Javier just didn’t float my boat. Maybe because I just loved Camden so much.

Also, I think, knowing how this one ended (as it is revealed in S&N) I just couldn’t bring myself to fall for him. So, with every sweet thing he said or did, I was just thinking ‘Well, yes, but…’

I feel like I understand Ellie a lot better. Or Eden. Or Elaine. Or whatever she wants to be called. I didn’t like her as much in this book. I like the more mature, wiser, tougher Ellie, rather than the vulnerable, indecisive, impressionable young Ellie. However, you can really put everything together, with this book, and see how she got to become the Ellie Watt you meet in S&N.

But despite knowing the outcome of this book, there was still so much crammed into this delicious little package. There were so many twists and turns. It is definitely worth reading and really adds another dimension to this fabulous series. I can’t wait for Shooting Scars!

 

On Every Street Statistics

Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥♥
Ending: Cliffhanger
Series: ✓
Reading Order:
Book #0.25 – Untitled (The Artists Trilogy, #0.25)
Book #0.5 – On Every Street (The Artists Trilogy, #0.5)
Book #1 – Sins & Needles (The Artists Trilogy, #1)
Book #2 – Shooting Scars (The Artists Trilogy, #2)
Book #3 – Bold Tricks (The Artists Trilogy, #3) Release date: October 15th 2013
Can this be read as a standalone? No
Themes:
Crime
First love
Warning. This book includes…
Sexual content. Cheating. Lies. Murder.
Writing: Great

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Action/Drama Reads, Alpha Males, Bad Boys, Cliffhanger, Karina Halle, Novellas, On Every Street, Quick Reads, Rich Guys, Series, Steamy Reads, Virginal Heroine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

