The Mourning After (The Mourning After #1) by Adriane Leigh ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

Haunted by a painful past, Georgia Montgomery escapes the memories by buying a beach house on the North Carolina coast. She hopes a summer filled with sun, sand, margaritas and best friends will heal her, but when an unexpected visitor shows up, her past, present and future collide.

Georgia is instantly drawn to Tristan Howell, the bronze-skinned, golden-haired stranger with an easy smile and eyes the deepest shade of green she’s ever seen. She tries to deny the depth of her feelings for him, but just like an addiction- one look, one touch, one taste is never enough. With Tristan she loses control of the lonely world she’s constructed for herself and learns that moving forward isn’t possible while she’s still chained to the events of her past.

Before the summer is over friendships will be tested, hearts shattered and lives changed, and waiting for Georgia to find herself may destroy them all.

My Casting

Wow.

I’ve read Adriane Leigh before. I read her Steel and Lace series and enjoyed it, giving it four stars. But, for me, The Mourning After was another league.

I seem to be on a bit of a love triangle roll at the moment. And I just love them. The angst, the emotional whiplash, the yo-yoing… Yum!

And The Mourning After was a fantastic love triangle romance!
I didn’t really know what to expect with this novel. But it wasn’t this.

 

This is the story of Georgia Montgomery. Georgia has been with her boyfriend, Kyle, since they were kids… but there relationship isn’t passionate or romantic. It’s safe, comfortable. Boring. Habit.
On a whim, Georgia buys a house by the beach. She plans to fulfil a dream, do the house up, enjoy time spent by the water and then perhaps rent the house out. Perhaps. Unless she falls in love with it, of course.
Kyle doesn’t share this dream. He works long hours, is devoted to his job and doesn’t have time for much else.
Georgia spends the summer at her new beach house, redecorating, catching up with friends. And that’s where she meets the gorgeous, easy going Tristan. And that’s when things get complicated.

There was something about this novel that was so atmospheric. I swear I could almost hear the waves from the beach and taste the warmth of the Georgia and Tristan’s morning coffee. I loved the feel of it all. The mental imagery of the beach house, the porch, the beach…

Georgia frustrated me at times. She is indecisive and makes piss poor decisions. But Georgia has a dark past. There are reasons that she clings to Kyle. There is a lot of back and forth in this book and sometimes, it made my head spin.

 

One minute she wanted Kyle. Then she wanted Tristan. Then she couldn’t let go of Kyle. And then she couldn’t live without Tristan. Gah! Sort your life out, girl!!!

But I knew there was more to this than met the eye. Adriane Leigh hinted, throughout the story, that Georgia had deep seated reasons for being with Kyle. But, she kept everything pretty vague until near the end. And I couldn’t stop flicking the pages to find out what had happened in her past.

I never liked Kyle. I was Team Tristan all the way. He was self centred, uncaring and just a bit of an arse. I hated that he didn’t care about her dreams. I wanted him to make some monumental fuck-up so that Georgia’s decision would be easier.

 

The surrounding characters are great. Georgia’s friends, Silas and Drew. Drew’s boyfriend and Tristan’s best buddy, Gavin. They all added to that atmosphere I was talking about earlier. I want to play poker and drink White Russians with them.

I want to say I loved Tristan at all times. But I didn’t. Overall, I did love him. When he was being nice, he was lovely and easy to fall for. But he could also be a complete douche at times. When he was hurting, he needed a slap! He was aggressive in his seduction. A lot of angry sex, spiteful teasing and innuendos.

I wanted him to hold Georgia and gently coax her into sharing her secrets… but he was a man scorned and instead he turned to his ‘slut brigade’ and hot dirty fucking.

 

Oh but I did want to give him a cuddle. He was in pain and he didn’t know how to deal with that. I’m looking forward to reading more of him and hoping he gets the chance to chill out more in the second book.

Speaking of dirty sex… like I said, there is some super hot angry sex in this. Desperate, bruise-leaving, swollen-mouth-kissing sex. And I’d imagine it left sand in all kinds of unwanted crevices. 😉

I’d definitely recommend this book. It’s frustrating, but in the best kind of way. Not in a ‘Oh my god, this is ridiculous’ kind of way. More in a ‘Oh god, come on guys, get your shit together’, love-triangle way.

 

There is a second book in this series. The ending isn’t a cliffhanger, but it isn’t resolved or happy ever after, either. It’s kind of sweet, but definitely open ended. I’m looking forward to reading the rest of Georgia’s story. I think she has a whole journey of self discovery ahead of her now.

 

The Mourning After Statistics
Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥
Ending: HEA
Series: ✓
Reading Order:
Book #1 – The Mourning After (The Mourning After #1)
Book #2 – Light in Mourning (The Mourning After, #2)
Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
Themes:
Summer love
Love triangle
Dark past
Warning. This book includes…
Sexual content. Cheating.
Writing: Good

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Adriane Leigh, Angst Overload, Delicious Sexual Tension, Love Triangle, Steamy Reads, The Mourning After. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Mourning After (The Mourning After #1) by Adriane Leigh ✰✰✰✰✰

  1. Pingback: Light in Mourning (Mourning #2), by Adriane Leigh ✰✰✰✰✰ | Smitten's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

