Wethering The Storm (The Storm #2), by Samantha Towle ✰✰✰✰✰+

✰✰✰✰✰+

Music journalist Tru Bennett has done the impossible: capture the heart of rock-star bad boy Jake Wethers. Now they’re busy planning a wedding and navigating their new life together in the US. Of course Tru misses London and her best friend, Simone, but living happily ever after with Jake in LA is going to be great…right?

Wrong. Even the bright California sun can’t whitewash the dark side of celebrity coupledom. Greedy music execs, merciless paparazzi, and Jake’s wild past are lurking around every corner. Making matters worse, Jake announces he doesn’t want kids, which just may be a deal breaker. 

Tru loves Jake more than anything. But when a devastating crisis threatens to destroy everything they’ve fought for, the couple must face the hard truth: What if, this time, love is not enough?

My Casting

I don’t know whether to smile because it was so good, or cry because it’s over.

5+ STARS!

Siiiggggh. I just love Jake so bloody much.

God. I don’t even know what to say. Can I not just tell you I love Jake again, and leave it at that…? That’s pretty much how I’m feeling right now…

Loved up. Deflated because I’ve finished. Heavy hearted. All warm and fuzzy inside. Sigh. Again.

I was so worried about reading this book. I was terrified that
a) the characters wouldn’t deal with any more drama,
b) that Samantha Towle would overdo it and I’d be saying ‘she should have quit while she was ahead’, or,
c) that there wouldn’t be enough to fill out a whole book.
Yeh, no, none of that happened.

It was just perfect. Tru and Jake had so much more to tell us. The right amount of angst, drama and tension. Love, steam and happiness. Enough to warrant the second book, but not too much that it was unrealistic or would break them.

This book, unlike the first book, alternates between Jake and Tru’s POV. Which is very cool. The majority is Tru, but then we get little bit’s of inside Jake’s head. I loved reading Jake’s POV. How much he adores Tru. Little things like the way he answers the phone, the way she giggles… he’s one smitten kitten, and it’s soooo cute.

There are some really funny parts of this book too. Some of it really made me laugh. I’m such a child at times… the mention of the words ‘penis’ and ‘willy’ and I had a fit of the giggles.

Freaking hilarious!

I enjoyed that most of this book focused on Jake and Tru as a couple. Not Jake the mega famous rock star, or The Mighty Storm, as a band… but them as a pair. At home. On holiday. Away from the rest of the world. Behind closed doors. Obviously the troubles they face are directly linked to Jake’s fame, but this was about how they coped, in their relationship, internally.

Again, Samantha Towle does an awesome job of making everything so believable. The trials that Jake and Tru come up against aren’t far fetched or just for the sake of a story. They’re relatable, understandable.

Trudy struggles with her new reality a lot in this book. I wondered, at one point, if she would be able to cope with the new pressures of Jake’s ‘normal’ life, which is so far from most peoples’ normal. So, the tables turned a little, here. I thought it would Jake who would find it difficult to deal with any further issues, but in fact, he was so much stronger in this book.

 

I completely understood how torn Tru was… Does she live this life that is so far out of her comfort zone; new country, unwanted press attention, a partner who has a crazy occupation, who is adored by legions of mad, jealous female fans, who will tour around the world, etc. But a man she loves desperately, like he is a part of her soul. Or live a normal, quiet, safe, peaceful life, near her family and friends, her job, in her home country, with someone steadfast and dependable, like Will… but without her soul mate.

I have such a special place in my heart for these two characters. I want them to be together. To be okay. With everything that happens to them, my heart aches for them. And I love the way they deal with things. They fuck up, sure. They argue and they make mistakes. But that’s part of what makes you love them even more. And what makes you believe in their love for one another. Even when they mess up, even when they lash out and let one another down, they still love one another unconditionally. They talk, they understand and they work through things. I love that. I doesn’t happen often enough in the books we read.

There are some reeeeally hot bits, too! Phew. I want me a Jake! Sooo badly. He just oozes sex appeal and testosterone. Love it.


The first half of this book is ‘nice’. It’s daily ups and downs, the progression of their relationship, them working out how to live together, how to build their future, how to intertwine their very different lives, etc.
The second half, not so much. Wow. I. Could. Not. Put. It. Down!!! My stomach was doing somersaults and my heart was in my mouth.

But don’t worry, readers. We are rewarded for our staying power with the most beautiful ending. It was perfect. It was everything I could have wanted for these characters. So bittersweet, because I just didn’t want to reach the final page. I can’t wait for the next book in the series and I so hope we get to see a little more of one my favourite book couple ever!

In the words of Jake Wethers…

Absofuckinglutely!

Gah, there is so much I want to talk about in this review… but I can’t. There’s a lot I can’t mention without spoilers. And I don’t want to do that. But I just have to tell you… if you think you loved Jake before, you just wait! He will steal your heart, entirely, in this book! Props to Samantha Towle.

 

Wethering The Storm Statistics
Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥
Ending: HEA
Series: ✓
Reading Order:
Book #1 – The Mighty Storm (The Storm, #1)
Book #2 – Wethering The Storm (The Storm, #2)
Book #3 – Untitled (The Storm, #3)
Can this be read as a standalone? No
Themes:
Rock star
Second chance romance
Warning. This book includes…
Sexual content
Writing: Great

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Alpha Males, Bad Boys, Emotional Reads, Five Stars Plus, Rock Star Romance, Samantha Towle, Series, Steamy Reads, Wethering The Storm. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

