The Mighty Storm (The Storm #1), by Samantha Towle ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

It’s been twelve years since Tru Bennett last saw Jake Wethers, her former best friend and boy she once loved.

Jake Wethers, sexy, tattooed and deliciously bad lead singer, and brains behind The Mighty Storm, one of the biggest bands in the world, left Tru with a broken heart when he moved from England to America with his family when they were both fourteen.

Sent to interview Jake for her music column by the magazine she works for, they are both unprepared for the sparks that fly the instant they reconnect. Only, there’s a complication to their instant feelings for one another—Will, Tru’s boyfriend of two years. 

Then Jake makes Tru a job offer she can’t refuse—travelling the world with him and his band. But taking the job means leaving Will behind, and being on the road with the band means spending an inordinate amount of time with Jake. 

Is Tru strong enough to resist the delectable bad boy who once held her heart so completely, or will she willingly risk it all for one night with the world’s most notorious womanizer?

My Casting

I did it! I re-read a book without throwing in the towel or getting frustrated!! And I bloody loved it! I am so rock n’ roll right now.

I read The Mighty Storm last September, so I’d forgotten so much of what happened. Knowing I’d need to refresh my memory in order to fully enjoy Wethering The Storm I decided to re-read TMS.

Now, those of you who know me and follow my blog will know that I am absolutely useless at re-reading books. Even my favourites. I’m impatient and antsy about the amount of amazing books on my TBR list, so I struggle when I’m going back over old ground. But I really really enjoyed TMS the second time around. I think maybe even more than the first!

Sex, drugs and rock and roll. That age old saying pretty much sums up this book. In one. Boom!

 

Wow. I’d forgotten what a ride this one was.

It’s sooooo sexy! I absolutely love Jake.

So, for those of you who’ve been hiding under a rock for a year, and haven’t discovered Jake Wethers, The Mighty Storm is the story of Jake and Trudy.
They were childhood best friends and next door neighbours, living in the UK, until Jake moved away to America at the age of 14.
The pair lose touch and Tru is left to follow Jake’s successful, but turbulent, rock music career, through tabloids and television.
London based music journalist, Trudy Bennett is thrown, when her boss tells her she is going to interview infamous bad-boy of rock, Jake Wethers, for the magazine she works for.
And so, Jake and Tru are reunited and their story begins. Jake has no plans to let her go a second time. And Trudy is left questioning everything… her two-year relationship with the lovely, safe, dependable Will, her morals, her willpower and most of all, her sanity!

Samantha Towle is a fabulous writer. The story is gripping, well written and seamless. It’s told from Trudy’s POV and I was an instant Tru fan. She makes some seriously questionable decisions, throughout this book, but I still really liked her as a heroine. She’s human. She’s not immune to temptation. She’s a girl who loves a boy. Who hasalways loved this particular boy.

 

Despite the fact that I think she handled things badly, she was still ballsy enough to own it and do the right thing in the end. This book does involve cheating, but it totally adds to the passion and intensity of Tru and Jake’s story. It reminded me so much of Thoughtless and we all know how much I love my Kellan… 😉

This is such a rollercoaster. One chapter I love Jake, the next I want to strangle him. One minute I couldn’t care less about Will, and the next I’m bawling my eyes out for him. Jeez… emotional whiplash, much?!

Oh, the angst. The emotion. The drama. The sex. The…. everything.

 

The Mighty Storm is super hot. The sexual tension is scrummy! It’s sensual, more than graphically erotic. If that makes any sense. But I love nothing more than a good dose of sexual tension. If a book can get my pulse racing and get me hot under the collar, I’m all in. It’s a huge selling point for me. So Samantha Towle scores huge bonus points in that department.

 

And Jake is as delicious as book boyfriends come. My God, the man has issues! Like I said, ‘Sex, drugs, rock and roll’. Jake Wethers is that, personified.

 

He oozes sex, beds anything in a skirt, has been addicted to drugs, drinks too much and is arrogant as hell.

At times, he drove me crazy. He was so irrational and a total spoilt brat. He’s used to getting his own way and someone needs to start saying ‘No’ to this man. (Hey, I didn’t say I’d be able to say ‘No’ to him, I just someone needs to. Preferably someone whodoesn’t fancy the pants off of him. Not me.)
He made things so difficult for Tru, with the whole Will scenario, and I just wanted to slap him upside the head. But, again, despite his faults, I couldn’t help but fall in love with him. Whilst he was a sexy, demanding, womanizing, force to be reckoned with, on the outside, he was clearly a vulnerable, broken, lost young man, behind closed doors. And my heart ached for him.

(And can I just take this moment to tell you how totally smitten I am with my Jake casting. Holy hotness! Okay, moving on…)

Jake’s the irresistible mix of uber-alpha male and lost little boy. In one breath he makes you want to love and protect him, and then he’ll rip your panties off and ravage you, the next. Yes purlease!

 

I felt his need for Tru, so profoundly. There was such a desperation in the way he clung to her, once he had her. These two are meant to be together. They are made for one another. Despite the odds being so heavily against them, everything about them together is so right. They are intense. Jake doesn’t just want Tru, he needs her. He’s suffered a huge amount of turmoil and loss. He’s hit rock bottom and clawed his way back up… and now he’s found the part of him that he’s been missing. Awww, it’s just adorable. My heart was hurting and fluttering all at the same time.

So often, my head-over-heels love for a book hero will totally overshadow my feelings for the heroine, even when I like her, and sometimes I’m even slightly indifferent to the female lead, in comparison to my adoration for my book-boyfriend… but with The Mighty Storm I was totally in love with ‘Jake and Tru’, the couple!

She’s like the peanut to his butter. The flip to his flop. The twinkle in his eye. The smile in his tears. The sanity in his madness. The sweet in his dreams. The hope in his fears. The passion in his veins.

Wow, look at me getting all poetic on you.

 

So, if you haven’t read this yet… Do! It’s brilliant. It’ll push you up and down, back and forth, inside out and back to front. There are a tonne of sub plots, yet it isn’t long, drawn out or over done. It’s just perfect.

This book does not end with a cliffhanger. The ending is happy, but it just leaves it open for the rest of the story.

I’m so excited to read the next book… but I’m nervous too… what more can poor Jake and Tru possibly go through. I feel like Jake is so fragile. And I’m so scared for them. For Trudy, who has turned her life upside down to be with him… and for Jake, who I’m not convinced can cope with much more drama. All crossable appendages tightly crossed, that they don’t go through hell and back in book #2.

 

The Mighty Storm Statistics
Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥
Ending: HEA
Series: ✓
Reading Order:
Book #1 – The Mighty Storm (The Storm, #1)
Book #2 – Wethering The Storm (The Storm, #2)
Book #3 – Untitled (The Storm, #3)
Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
Themes:
Rock star
Second chance romance
Love triangle
Warning. This book includes…
Sexual content. Drug abuse. Cheating. Death.
Writing: Great

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Alpha Males, Angst Overload, Bad Boys, Delicious Sexual Tension, Emotional Reads, Five Stars, Friends to Lovers, Love Triangle, Rock Star Romance, Samantha Towle, Series, Steamy Reads, The Mighty Storm. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

