Destined to Succeed (Destined #2) by Lisa M. Harley ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

What would you do if what you worked your entire life to build was suddenly destroyed?

Cade Walker is a cowboy Casanova. He’s cocky and he doesn’t care who knows it. He was raised on Walker Ranch and was destined to one day take it over. What he didn’t know was how soon that would happen. After his parents are killed in a car accident he is thrust into becoming a responsible adult. Well, sort of. Cade is always responsible when it comes to business, but pleasure, now that’s a whole other story.

Suzanna Mallory is a red-headed spitfire, who also happens to be Cade’s best friend. She has loved Cade since they met when they were nine years old, but Cade just isn’t the type to get married and settle down. Suzanna finds herself in an abusive marriage and the only thing that keeps her sane is her daughter, Isabella, and working with Cade at Walker Ranch.

When a fire threatens to destroy the future of Walker Ranch, Cade and Suzanna have to work together to save it. 

What will this mean for her marriage or to the feelings that she has for Cade? 

And now that Cade thought he found love with Loralei Harper, only to realize she didn’t feel the same way, is he ready to settle down? 

Is Cade Walker Destined to Succeed?

My Casting

I really enjoy Lisa Harley’s writing! Her books are full of plot twists, angst, a nice dose of drama, a whole lot of steam and of course, the obligatory swoon-worthy romance!

If you fancy a hot cowboy romance, look no further. Cade Walker is about as ‘hot cowboy’ as they come.

“He was sex on a stick. If the body didn’t get you, that damn deep voice with the country drawl would do it every time.”

I must admit, I didn’t enjoy this one quite as much as the first. I felt that the actual writing itself didn’t quite flow as well as it did in Destined to Change. But the plot itself had me gripped.

4.5 stars!

I loved Cade when we met him in Destined to Change despite his cocky cowboy ways. I know I shouldn’t have, and I was totally Team Jaxon, for Lorelei, but I did like Cade. I can’t help but gravitate toward an arrogant hottie in tight ass Wranglers and a stetson, who has no problem flexing his sun-kissed muscles, putting a half tonne animal in it’s place, hauling hay bales and just generally getting his hands dirty! Y.U.M. So I was excited that we would be getting his story in Destined to Succeed.

 

The story begins just after DtC leaves off. From there it flicks backward to Cade’s childhood, where he meets his best friend, Suzanna. A.K.A. ‘Suzy Q’. The book follows their lives as they create an ever lasting friendship, but skirt around one another in the romantic sense. They fall victim to misunderstandings, allow other people to manipulate them and just never get their chance to be together. Life gets in the way and eventually they both find themselves leading their own lives…
This is beautiful story about second chances, childhood sweethearts and finding out that what you’ve been looking for has been right in front of you all along. I love those kinds of heart-warming stories.

She was the one that my dad had told me about. He always said, “Son, when you find the right one, you’ll just know it. Your dick won’t pick her. Your heart will. Always listen to your heart, because your dick can be a lyin’ bastard.”

But aaarrrggghh! This was soooo frustrating at times! I wanted to bash Suzanna and Cade’s damn heads together! The whole thing went completely pear shaped when they were young, immature teenagers and they failed to communicate properly. It’s amazing the impact that one stupid mistake had on their entire lives… it leads Cade into a life of womanizing and debauchery and Suzy Q into a life that is nowhere near the fairytale she had hoped for.

“What took you so long?”
“I’ve been askin’ myself that same question all damn day.”

This book does include some pretty graphic domestic violence and non-consensual sex. I was quite surprised, because it was quite heavy and I hadn’t expected that level of detail.

I went backwards and forwards with Suzy Q. Sometimes I loved her, she was funny and feisty, and she adored Cade… and then sometimes I wanted to slap sense into her. Again, back to the lack of communication! But later on the book, when Suzanna is suffering from domestic abuse, Lisa Harley does a great job of getting into the mind of an abused woman. She explains that you can’t possibly know how you would react until you are in the situation and that even the strongest women find themselves feeling weakened by their controlling, violent spouses.

Cade was the knight in shining armour. Or, in this case, spurs and a cowboy hat. He was there for Suzy Q even when they weren’t romantically involved. He was the loyal, steadfast, dependable best friend. Now, I love my best friend, but if I could swap her for a better model, in the shape of hunky cowboy who bent me over his kitchen table every once in a while, I wouldn’t think twice!!! What a BFF to have!!

 

Yeh, like I said, this book is steamy! There are some delicious sex scenes. I loved the ‘first time’ scene. I just knew it was all too good to be true. *sulks*

“Somethin’ was always missin’. I finally figured out what it was.
It was you.”

Urgh, I hated Branch. I hated him from the beginning, but it gets worse. So much worse. He deserved nothing short of a skinning alive.

 

When Cade and Suzanna finally get their acts together. It’s perfect. I love the way it happens for them. They bring out the best in one another and you can’t help but root for them all the way through the book. Totes emosh!

“You are the most beautiful woman I’ve ever seen and I’m never lettin’ you go again.”

The surrounding characters in Lisa Harley’s books are fab. Cade, Colt, Cole and Clay. All strapping, blonde, muscle bound alpha males. Honestly, where is a girl to find a town like this??? These kinds of men just don’t wander around freely where I live. I can’t wait to read more of this series, because I’m sure Lisa has many more exciting stories to tell and I hope that these lovely boys all get their tale told.

I’d definitely recommend this series. I guess, you could technically read this book as a stand alone. But I really wouldn’t advise it. Book #1 is great and the two together make for a much more satisfying reading experience. Happy reading. 🙂

 

Destined to Succeed Statistics
Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥
Ending: HEA
Series: ✓
Reading Order:
Book #1 – Destined to Change
Book #2 – Destined to Succeed
Book #3 – Destined to Forgive (Not yet released)
Book #4 – Destined to Rock (Not yet released)
Book #5 – Destined to Overcome (Not yet released)
Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
Themes:
Cowboy
Childhood sweetheart
Domestic violence
Warning. This book includes…
Violence. Death. Sexual content.
Writing: Good

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Action/Drama Reads, Alpha Males, Cowboys, Destined to Succeed, Emotional Reads, Five Stars, Friends to Lovers, Lisa M. Harley, Love Triangle, Series, Steamy Reads, Virginal Heroine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

