Avenger (Impossible, #3) by Julia Sykes ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

The third book in the Impossible series. Release date May 3, 2013.

I found that I was dead inside again, but this was far worse than it had been the first time. Before I met Sean Reynolds I had been cold, isolated, carefully controlled. I hadn’t even realized that I wasn’t really living until he showed me what it was to connect with another human being. I had foolishly allowed myself to hope for a future with him, envisioning a day when both of our souls were fully healed and we were free of our pasts. But now I had lost him, and in the process I had lost myself.

Dr. Claudia Ellers had thought Sean Reynolds a beautiful traitor, but in the end it was she who betrayed them both. Her actions have changed her, hardened her. Claudia is sick of being hunted, tired of living in fear. And now Sean isn’t there to protect her any longer. So she resolves to become the hunter, and she won’t stop until she has her revenge. But when the time comes, will Sean have her back, or will he be the one stabbing a knife into it?

Warning: This book contains strong language and scorching sex scenes involving BDSM.

 

Well, that was a little bit crazy! In a good way!

3.5 stars

This book is super short. It took me a few hours to get through. Unfortunately ‘real-life’ has been insane lately, so I’m only just getting around to reviewing it now.

This is a hard review to write without spoilers. It’s moved on so much from the first book.

I can’t believe how much Julia Sykes manages to pack into her short novels. It’s amazing. I felt like so much happened in just a few pages.

“You didn’t betray me,” he said softly . “You saved me.”

I really can’t decide whether I liked this is a trilogy or not… I felt that maybe it would have flowed better as a duet, or maybe even one book. I just didn’t feel that the books were long enough for it to be a trilogy, and I thought that perhaps, the super fast pace of it all compromised the reader’s emotion at times.

I really hate when I can’t quite remember what happened in the previous book. How am I supposed to invest in the characters and summon up the emotion when I’m struggling to remember the plot? I definitely think it would help to read all three books in quick succession.

However, all that said, if you like your romance with a dark, action, thriller vibe, you’ll enjoy these books.

 

There are quite a few twists and unexpected turns for you to really get your teeth into. There are lies that seem like the truth and truths that seem completely unthinkable. Julie Sykes takes you on a journey of deceit, crime and eventually justice.

One thing I have to mention. Clayton. Oh my god, whaaaat?

 

That was mad! Ok, I’ll shush now, if you want to find out what it was about hunky FBI Agent Clayton that I’m reeling about, you’ll need to read the books.

“I don’t think that I could bare to live without you, Claudia. Clayton saved both of us, and I’m forever indebted to him for that.”

I have to admit, I didn’t really feel Sean in this book. I didn’t feel that he played that huge a role, to be honest. He was absent for some of the story and then when he came back, I felt more emotion for Claudia and also Clayton, than I did for Sean.

So, I have mixed feelings about the ending of this trilogy. I think it’s a time filler. If you fancy something a bit pacey, very steamy and quick and easy, give these a go. They’ll certainly get your pulse racing! As I said before…

‘For fans of kidnap, Stockholm type series, you’ll love Julia Sykes’ Impossible series. And along with the scorching hot BDSM scenes, this book is a real dark, delicious, guilty pleasure.’

It was as though we were addicted to one another. A Sean was a drug that I never wanted to quit.

Avenger Statistics
Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥
Ending: Cliffhanger
Series: ✓
Reading Order:
Book #1 – Monster
Book #2 – Traitor
Book #3 – Avenger
Can this be read as a standalone? No
Themes:
Kidnap
BDSM
Erotica
Crime
Warning. This book includes… Violence. Death. Sexual content.
Writing: Good

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Action/Drama Reads, Alpha Males, Avenger, BDSM, Impossible Series, Julia Sykes, Quick Reads, Steamy Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

