Dirty Red (Love Me With Lies #2), by Tarryn Fisher ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

Dear Opportunist, 

You thought you could take him from me, but you lost. Now, that he’s mine I’ll do anything to keep him. Do you doubt me? I have everything that was supposed to be yours. In case you were wondering; he doesn’t ever think about you anymore. I won’t let him go….ever. 

Dirty Red

Leah Smith finally has everything she has ever wanted. Except she doesn’t. Her marriage feels more like a loan than a lifelong commitment, and the image she has worked so hard to build is fraying before her eyes. With a new role and a past full of secrets, Leah must decide how far she is willing to go to keep what she has stolen.

My Casting

Ok, this might be a little disjointed, because I’m already half way through Thief. I hardly ever start another book before I’ve written a review for the previous one, but I just couldn’t help myself.

I raced through Dirty Red yesterday, finished it at about midnight and then dived straight into Thief. I can confirm, I definitely made the right decision in waiting until the third book was released. How on earth some of you guys sat tight at the end ofDirty Red and waited for long for Caleb’s book, I will neeeever know! Oh my goodness, talk about dropping a bomb! Ok, we’ll go there in a minute. First things first.

So, this is Leah’s book. I absolutely could not understand why on God’s green earth, we were getting an entire book from the villain’s POV. I felt like having a full on, foot stamping, snot flinging, fist thumping tantrum, knowing I had to get through it, before I got to what I hoped would be the good bit.

My name is Leah, and I will do anything to keep my husband.

 

I don’t really know how to fill this review. How many ways are there to express your hatred for a character??
I don’t like Leah.
I strongly dislike Leah.
I hate Leah.
I wish Leah would be run over by a bus.
I wish Leah would die in a tragic boating accident.
I wish Leah would spontaneously combust and cease to exist.

 

You get the idea. I’m reeeally not a fan! Team Cal-ivia all the way!

“They spark. When they’re together, it’s like putting a hurricane and a tornado in the same room – you can feel the tension. I didn’t believe in the cliche of soul mates until I saw them together.”

But this book was definitely a necessary evil. I really can’t say too much without giving things away. Just know that from the first sentence, Tarryn Fisher will knock your socks off, and then she’ll just keep on knocking until the very last word of the book!

I have lied and cheated. I have been sexy and meek, fierce and vulnerable. I have been everything but myself.

 

This book continues, as the previous one did, to go back and forth through time. Past and present. And there is so much going on in this book that it just adds to the mind blow. You get to see Caleb and Leah’s relationship through her eyes. You get a lot more insight into why Caleb made the decisions he made in book one. How things came about. Why things weren’t straight forward, etc.

“How do I get him to come home?”
“Get a new personality and learn to shut the fuck up.”

I felt like I was on drugs, reading this book… my head was buzzing and my eyes were wide. I had emotional whiplash, a racing heart and sweaty palms. It’s all a bit of a blur. I spent the entire time wanting to knock Leah out and feeling guilty about being so mean about Caleb.

On that point. Caleb does redeem himself. Literally, within the first couple of pages, I felt bad for judging Caleb so harshly in book one. I was so angry with him, and now I feel bad.

“I didn’t choose her,” his voice breaks. “Love is illogical. You fall into it like a manhole. Then you’re just stuck. You die in love more than you live in love.”

There is barely any Olivia in this book. Yet, still, the love Caleb feels for her is palpable. I love it. It’s delicious. And it smacks Leah right between the eyes. Ha! But it rips Caleb apart. It’s painful to see. He’s a good man and he’s trying to do the right thing. The man needs a cuddle. And, I’m a great cuddler. Just saying.

Scars should stay where fate put them.

One thing I do want to say in this review, because I got so carried away with the storyline in the first book and didn’t give this enough page space… Tarryn Fisher deserves some kind of award. The woman is freakin’ Ah.Ma.Zing!!!! Honestly, she is supremely gifted. You completely forget you are even reading a book at all. The character development is second to none. I feel like I know these characters. Like, they can’t possibly not be real. There is so much to each and every one of them, I feel like I could predict their reactions to things, I feel like I could drop them a text when things are going bad for them. Obviously, not Leah. I wouldn’t drop her a text. Dog shit through her letter box, maybe. Or a bomb, perhaps. But not a text. Anyway, I digress. Tarryn Fisher is a natural born writer. It’s what she was put on this earth to do. Despite the fact that she has caused me so much pain, suffering, sleep deprivation and heartache, I’m totally girl-crushing on the lady!

So, back to Dirty Red. Leah is that. Dirty. Foul. Defiled. Nasty. Contaminated. Sullied.

 

I was about ten on the poison scale. If he needed venom, I could inject directly into his neck.

 

She fights filthy. She’s screwed up. Totally. She is rotten to the core. But, and gah, I hate to say this, I did feel a small glimmer of empathy for her. She has been through a torrid time. She has nobody. Nobody. Okay, so most of it has been brought upon by her own wickedness, but she doesn’t really know any different. She has never had a good role model, she’s never been loved and she has never been respected. As a consequence, she has no idea how to be a decent human being, she doesn’t understand true love and she doesn’t have an ounce of self respect.

I knew he never loved me like he loved her, but I wanted him anyway. I knew his love for me was conditional, but I wanted him anyway. I knew I was second choice, but I wanted him anyway.

I do believe that she thinks she loves Caleb, in her own twisted way.

“A woman shouldn’t have to fight that hard to be with a man. He should just want her…”

But, still. See previous notes… I do hate the bitch.

 

And if I hadn’t hated her throughout the book already, the ending, God, if that didn’t seal her fate. Wow, the hag knows no bounds. Give me a break! She needs to work out when enough is enough.

 

I completely didn’t see the ending coming. I didn’t know whether to laugh or scream! And I didn’t miss a single beat before I started Thief.

“Their story will never be over.”

So, I’m feeling weird about giving this five stars and The Opportunist four, because I hated Leah, and this is her book. And because I enjoyed most of book #1 more than I enjoyed this book. But I can see more, now, where the story is going. I feel like I’m on the home stretch now and I’m feeling hopeful. The series is coming together and I’m excited, nervous, apprehensive… I just don’t feel that, as a series, I can keep giving it four stars. I’m so in love with these characters and their story, now.

“You never quite stop loving someone when you’re in that deep.”

 

So, the fifth star is more for the series as a whole, as it is, so far. Because Leah gets a big fat zero stars and a slap round the mouth. But, the jury is still out. If this doesn’t end how I want it to end, I will not be held accountable for my actions. You have be warned.

P.S. I don’t have the head-space for a collage right now. Sorry.

Dirty Red Statistics
Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥
Ending: Cliffhanger
Series: ✓ (Love Me With Lies series)
Reading Order:
Book #1 – The Opportunist
Book #2 – Dirty Red
Book #3 – Thief
Can this be read as a standalone? No
Themes:
Lies
Love Triangle
Warning. This book includes… 
Love triangle
Cheating
Lies
Writing: Fantastic

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Angst Overload, Dirty Red, Five Stars, Love Me With Lies, Love Triangle, Rich Guys, Tarryn Fisher. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dirty Red (Love Me With Lies #2), by Tarryn Fisher ✰✰✰✰✰

  1. Adrian Perkins says:

    This review is spot on!!! I have never loved to hate a character more than Leah.

Leave a Reply

