The Opportunist (Love Me With Lies #1), by Tarryn Fisher ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

Olivia Kaspen has just discovered that her ex-boyfriend, Caleb Drake, has lost his memory. With an already lousy reputation for taking advantage of situations, Olivia must decide how far she is willing to go to get Caleb back. Wrestling to keep her true identity and their sordid past under wraps, Olivia’s greatest obstacle is Caleb’s wicked, new girlfriend; Leah Smith. It is a race to the finish as these two vipers engage in a vicious tug of war to possess a man who no longer remembers them. But, soon enough Olivia must face the consequences of her lies, and in the process discover that sometimes love falls short of redemption.

My Casting

I have absolutely no idea how I’m feeling about this right now. All I do know is that I need to write this review like I need a therapy session. So I’m just going to type and see what comes out, and I guess, from that, we will find out how I feel about The Opportunist.

 

Before we begin… here’s the deal. Caleb Drake has amnesia. After a car crash, he remembers nothing about his life. Not his home, not his favourite colour, not his girlfriend… nada.

What would it be life to forget your favourite colour? Or the girl that smashed up your heart?

He doesn’t even remember Olivia Kaspen. The girl he loved more than life itself. The girl who broke his heart three years ago. And being the opportunist she is, she doesn’t plan to tell him who she is or what she did. She plans to make the most of every second he doesn’t remember.
She’s ‘Team Amnesia’.

I’m Olivia Kaspen, and if I love something I rip it from my life. Not intentionally… not unintentionally either.

And so the story goes. Olivia and Caleb ‘get to know one another’ all over again, while he creates a new life for himself, discovering that the life he’s forgotten really isn’t all that much to write home about.

“Maybe soon you’ll remember your favourites,” I say quietly.
He shrugs.
“Or, I’ll just make new favourites. Starting with you.”

But Leah, Caleb’s forgotten girlfriend, has other ideas. She knows who Olivia is and she has no intention of letting Caleb go without a fight.

So, anyway… here goes the purge.

Oh my goodness. Let’s start with how furious I am with Caleb!!! Am I the only one who was absolutely seething at the man by the end of this book?? I loooved Caleb’s character throughout the whole book. Until the end. What. The. Fffff?!

 

I understood Caleb mania. He was like a jalapeno: bright and smooth, but dangerously hot. A small part of me wanted to bite him.

Firstly, the final flashback… whaaaaat?! I’m sorry but he is as much to blame, if not more, than Olivia is, for the demise of their intense relationship! I really felt that Olivia’s indescretions were all in the name of love… his, however, was not. Not in any way. His sins were selfish and so much more unatonable than Olivia’s, in my opinion.

I have definitely learnt something about myself during this book… I can forgive mostly anything, as long as love is the motive. Everything Olivia did was because she loved Caleb more than she could deal with. Whereas Caleb shocked me and disappointed me soooo much!

 

AND, to add salt to the wound, he pretty much allowed Olivia to totally blame herself! And she did. Olivia thought herself an evil, rotten person. And Caleb let her believe that. When, in actuality, he was just as much at fault.

Also, also… the ending. The actual ending, not the flashback. WHAT?! NO!!! Again, I found myself wanting to beat at Caleb’s chest like a pathetic, weak girly. No Caleb! Just no! Whyyyy?

 

I am hoping, praying actually, that the only reason it ended like it did was because we have two more books to read yet. Because if these other two books are just alternative POVs of the same damn story, mark my words, heads will roll!! Bloggers need advice too and if you guys have told me it will be okay, and it’s not… prepare to run for cover! Lol!

I fell in love hard and swift – like Tyson’s uppercut. One day I just enjoyed his company, and the next I couldn’t live without it.

Olivia. I started off reaaally not feeling her. I didn’t know if I wanted to read about a selfish, manipulative, lying protagonist. But by the end, I wanted to hold her hand and have her back.

“Leah, go be with your husband,” I say. “Before he realizes that he’s still in love with me.”

I just wish these characters had communicated better. Grrr! Olivia would just shut down and Caleb’s answer to everything was just aggression and one big bang explosion, before never revisiting the subject again. If either one of them had actually spokenabout their issues, sooooo much heart ache would have been avoided. Caleb really didn’t handle Olivia and her issues very well atall. I felt that she needed gentle coaxing, not aggression and force, or even the silent patience he provided. He allowed her to continue to close herself off, never asking her to open up, never talking things out with her. I’m placing a lot of blame on Caleb’s shoulders right now, but Olivia had issues that were outside of her control, and as the man who loved her, I felt it was largely Caleb’s responsibility to help her with those.

It is very unlike me to be so angry with a book boyfriend, like this. It’s usually a case of them wooing me and then that’s it, they can do no wrong, no matter how badly they behave… so that just shows how miffed I am at Caleb. I hope he redeems himself in books two and three.

“I love you too, Olivia. More than I could ever love another soul. There hasn’t been a single hour in seven years that I haven’t thought of you.”

So, how do I rate this? Urgh, I have no idea. In this case, the Goodreads ratings system is shot to shit. 1 star = I did not like it. 2 stars = it was okay. 3 stars = I liked it. 4 stars = I really liked it. 5 stars = it was amazing.
What’s it to be? I loved it, I hated it, I cried, laughed, stamped my feet, wanted to commit bodily harm to another human being, wanted to put it down and walk away,couldn’t put it down… it had me in knots. What is the star rating for that?!!!

I feel like I need to give it five stars. The writing, the originality, the plot, the character development, the emotion, the gut wrenching, heart breaking, etc. all deserve five stars. Tarryn Fisher is truly a genius writer. However, I also want to strip all it’s stars away and slap it really really hard for leaving me utterly bereft and totally incensed. I was so angry with the ending that it makes me want to sulk and withhold all star privileges! Added to that, that right now, as an advocater of importance of the happy-ever-after, I wouldn’t recommend this book. Perhaps I would, after the final book. But right now, I wouldn’t tell anybody to read this book.

You can only give your heart away once; after that, everything else will chase your first love.

When I finished it at 2am last night, I was sobbing. I was lying in bed, next to a sleeping Mr. Smitten, silently blubbing, for ages. I shut off my Kindle and threw it to the floor (don’t worry, it landed on a cushion) then ten minutes later, I picked it back up, re-read the epilogue just to make sure I wasn’t losing my marbles. And then I apologised to my Kindle, swore at Tarryn Fisher, and tried to go to sleep. I then dreamt about Caleb, Olivia and even about writing my review.

 

To me, the ending is everything. A book can be fantastic, but if disappoints at the final hurdle, it’s an epic fail. So, rating a book that is only the beginning of a series is the hardest thing for me to do. And this book is just that, ten fold. So, I’m going with four stars. It doesn’t, in any way, reflect the way I’m feeling right now, but it will have to do.

So, now I have to go and read a book about Leah. Do I want to? Hell no! I hate her. She’s a weasel and I want to skin her alive and bath her in vinegar right now. Me? Violent? Never.

 

But I need to find out what happens, so I’ll end this crazy long, messy, review here and plough on through Dirty Red. Wish me luck… and all you ladies who recommended I go ahead and read this, you want to be hoping, for your own safety, this all irons out and puts my heart back together again. Otherwise, I’m coming for you.

 

The Opportunist Statistics
Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥
Ending: Cliffhanger
Series: ✓ (Love Me With Lies series)
Reading Order:
Book #1 – The Opportunist
Book #2 – Dirty Red
Book #3 – Thief
Can this be read as a standalone? No
Themes:
Lies
Second chance
Amnesia
Love Triangle
Warning. This book includes… 
Love triangle
Cheating
Abortion
Lies
Writing: Fantastic

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Angst Overload, College Romance, Delicious Sexual Tension, Emotional Reads, Four Stars, Love Me With Lies, Love Triangle, Mental Health, Series, Tarryn Fisher, The Opportunist, Virginal Heroine. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Opportunist (Love Me With Lies #1), by Tarryn Fisher ✰✰✰✰

  1. Pingback: Resenha | A Oportunista (Amor e Mentiras #1) - Tarryn Fisher | Inspiration Box

Leave a Reply

