Love Love, by Beth Michele ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

Gabrielle Willis is smart. She’s funny. And oh yes, she’s a bit klutzy. 

When Gabrielle left sunny California bound for the energy of Manhattan, she was willingly leaving the life she had known for the new life she would create. But was she really leaving something behind or was she running away?

On the outside, Gabrielle Willis has it all under control. A new life in Manhattan, a great roommate, and a good job. But she is haunted. Haunted by a memory she’s tried to forget and by a family who’s abandoned her. But what happens when what’s on the outside is only an illusion and in perfect contradiction to what’s buried deep within?

Enter Dane Rhodes. He’s gorgeous, smart, and sexy as hell. Just what Gabby wants, or so she thinks. But when she meets Brad Dixon, the sweet guy with the crooked smile, he begins to make her see that the very thing she is trying to run from is the very thing that just may push her to see the light.

**New Adult Contemporary Romance. Due to language & sexual content, this book is recommended for readers 17 & older**

My Casting

Super duper cute.

So, this wasn’t a five star read for me, but it was very sweet indeed. And it was quite a nice, light pick-me-up.

“I spy with my little eye, something that is so beautiful, it leaves me breathless.”

Twenty-five year old Gabrielle Willis has been in love before.

She was in love with her boyfriend of seven years, and engaged to be married. And then she lost him. And now she’s terrified to feel again.

Words seem pointless. There are no words to heal. Only time and love can do that.

So, she meets Dane. Hot, sexy, self-absorbed Dane. And he fills a void. But it’s a physical void. He’s great between the sheets, is uber hunky and has a huge… ego! He’s certainly not doing it for Gabby emotionally.
And then there’s Brad. The sweet, unassuming, boyish, dimpled, coffee shop guy.

 

The friend Gabby needs. Yet somehow, without her even realising it, Brad becomes more than just a friend. And she has to work out whether or not she can let go of her past and let Brad into her heart.

“We’re all damaged, right? It’s what we make of the wreckage that matters.”

 

There were a few things that bothered me in this book…
Firstly, I kind of felt like Dane’s role in this story was a bit ‘meh’… I get that he was supposed to represent the no-strings-attached, emotionless sex, but I just felt like he didn’t quite work. And then the way things ended with him felt a little odd.

Secondly, I thought that the Gabby’s best friend, Fran’s storyline was a little pointless. It was quite a deep, dark thread that really needed so much more time and energy spent on it to justify it being there. I didn’t feel like it was something you could just skim over as a sub plot.

But, despite those two things, this book was light hearted, fun and a nice little refreshment between heavier courses, if you like.

“Have you ever been kissed by a superhero before? Because you’ve never been truly kissed until you’ve been kissed by a superhero.”
“Will it be life-changing?”
“Oh yes, life as you know it will never be the same.”

Don’t worry ‘love-triangle’ haters! This triangle won’t rip you to shreds and won’t leave you gasping for breath. It’s not too intense or heart breaking, so you can breathe easy with this one.

Gabby annoyed me a little, but I think that was inevitable. I think you are meant to want to shake her (like Fran did) and say ‘Girl, sort yourself out!’

 

I loved Brad from the get go. He’s soooooo adorable. It’s nice, and a rarity, to read a book where the good guy finishes first! Yay for good guys! I liked the banter between the characters, I liked Brad’s sense of humour, although I didn’t feel he was ‘crazy’ or ‘weird’ like they often intimated. He was just lovely. And I think we need more ‘lovely’ in our book boyfriends sometimes. I mean, don’t get me wrong… I adore a strong, moody, possessive alpha as much as the next book whore, but sometimes, a bit of ‘lovely’ can really put a smile on your face.

“I’ve been waiting my whole life for your kiss.”

And who doesn’t love a superhero? 😉

“I won’t give up on the one person who truly makes me feel like a superhero. You make me feel like I can leap tall buildings, like I can take on anything that life throws my way. I feel invincible as long as you’re by my side.”

He really does save Gabby, too. He knows she is broken, and he takes on her problems, owns them and builds her back up. He has his own issues and I love how they find comfort in one another.

It’s like a perfect symphony of feeling, of emotion, of a love you thought was impossible; until suddenly the impossible becomes the inevitable.

Ok, so, if you’re after something cutesie, a little corny, but nice and fresh, give this go.

 

Love Love Statistics
Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥
Ending: HEA
Series: ✗
Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
Themes:
Grief
Love triangle
Good guy wins
Warning. This book includes… 
Sexual references
Domestic abuse
Writing: Good

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Beth Michele, Four Stars, Friends to Lovers, Love Love, Love Triangle, Quick Reads, Stand Alones. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

