The Modeliser, by Havana Adams ✰✰✰

✰✰✰

When Hollywood bad-boy and legendary womanizer Alex Golden’s beloved grandfather dies he returns to London and is thrown into the path of the women from his past. There is ex-lover Tamara, a super-bitch actress who never lets anything get in her way: until she falls head over heels in love with a powerful billionaire, that is. Then we have Alex’s sister, Helena, who dreams of stepping out from her family’s shadow and carving out a career as a photographer. And finally there is Talia, Helena’s best friend, whose hopes for a career writing for the big screen are dashed when she is unfairly fired from her job in the script department on a successful soap opera.

Alex’s fate is caught up with these three women as ambition, lust and love collide against the drama-fuelled backdrop of the film world…

Adult-content rating: This book contains content considered unsuitable for young readers 17 and under, and which may be offensive to some readers of all ages.

 

I’ve gone backward and forward over how to rate this book and I’ve settled on 3.5 stars, simply because I ended up skimming large portions of the book.

For me, there were parts I really loved about this book, parts I found tedious and parts that I felt there could have been more of.

This is a story of having what you think you want, but realising that, perhaps, there is more to life.

“Sometimes you’ve got to bet on yourself. If you won’t who else will?”

As you might have noticed from my casting pics, this is not a simple boy-meets-girl romance. It has many different avenues, plots, sub plots, characters and relationships. For me, it was too much. I loved the Alex/Talia story, and I quite enjoyed the Helena/Gabe story… but I really felt that the book could have done without the Tamara/Vassily story.

I didn’t care for Tamara at all. I felt like Talia was our main heroine and very early on in the book Talia is burnt by Tamara’s scheming, vindictive ways. From then on, I had no love for her whatsoever. I didn’t care if she fell in love, I didn’t care if she had a hard time, I didn’t care if she was reformed. I just didn’t care about her. I ended up skim reading most of her scenes. I just couldn’t develop any ounce of emotion for her. I honestly felt like her story was completely irrelevant to everything else. Yes, she has some history with Alex, and yes, she was a bitch to Talia… but other than that, she was totally pointless in my opinion.

“You know me, what I am – materialist, vain, a bitch…” she blurted as the old fears surfaced. How could he want her? Vassily shrugged.
“Even bitches need love,” he drawled.

 

wish we’d had more of Alex and Talia. The book is called The Modeliser but there are so many threads to this story that Alex is just one of the components. I felt he had so much more to give.

 

It had started quite by accident this reputation of his, but slowly it had transformed into an unmistakable part of his reputation.

This is going to be hard to explain, but I felt as if there was so much going on in this book, and yet, kind of nothing at all. Does that make any sense? We were thrown into the lives of lots of different characters. The book flicked between all of them, following their lives, and yet… there were parts of the book where I was just waiting for some drama. Some conflict. And, it kind of didn’t really come, a lot of the time.

I really wanted Talia and Alex together, I think it was obvious that that was going to happen from the beginning… and yet, when it did happen, I was like ‘eeerm, wow, ok, where did that come from?’ But, again, I think it’s because, due to the lack of depth in their story, and the twoing and froing with all of the other plotlines, I hadn’t had a chance to feel that connection build. I felt like there had only been fleeting glimpses of what could have been, between them.

 

She had finally seduced a man and not just any man, a movie star.

I feel that if the author had focused more on this character relationship, she could have built a much stronger, evocative novel. I liked their banter and the build up in the relationship. I craved more of that. I craved the flirting, the realisation that there is more there than just friendship, but the hesitancy to do something about it.

“Your duties will include reading scripts, writing coverage, sourcing books and plays, dealing with producers in LA night or day.” Talia nodded as she felt herself back on safe ground. “Of course sometimes you’ll have to make my coffee, draw my bath and maybe even suck my…”
“Go fuck yourself,” Talia burst out as Alex began to laugh.

I liked the Helena and Gabe storyline. It threw a bit of shock and scandal into the mix and was a good sub plot, as Helena is Alex’s sister and Talia’s best friend.

At the beginning, The Modeliser really put in me in mind of a Jackie Collins book. The glamour, the glitz, the celebrities, the bitchiness, the array of characters and twisting plot-lines that all eventually tangle up together… but unfortunately, it fell a little short. I love the idea of the book. A playboy Hollywood movie star, a serial ‘Modeliser’, who falls in love with his sister’s girl-next-door best friend. But unfortunately, it just didn’t entirely work for me. I felt that it started off well, slumped in the middle and then picked up again at the end.

 

The Modeliser Statistics
Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥
Ending: HEA
Series: ✗
Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
Themes:
Movie star hero
Multiple storylines
Fame
Glamour
Warning. This book includes… 
Sexual references
Drug use
Writing: OK

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Havana Adams, Movie Star Romance, Stand Alones, The Modeliser, Three Stars. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

