His Wicked Games (His Wicked Games #1), by Ember Casey ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

Trapped with a billionaire in his mysterious mansion… Can she beat him at his own game?

Lily Frazer would do anything to save the Frazer Center for the Arts—even take on the infamous billionaire Calder Cunningham. When Lily breaks onto the Cunningham estate, she only wants to find and reason with Calder. (All right, all right, she wants to punch him in the face, too, but that’s Plan B.) As it turns out, the arrogant billionaire is willing to give her the money he promised, but there’s a catch: she must win it from him.

And the games he has in mind aren’t exactly… innocent.

Lily isn’t about to give up the money without a fight (or let some haughty bastard seduce her), but she quickly discovers that there might be more to the brooding Calder than she initially perceived. As their games of cat and mouse become increasingly sexual in nature, she suddenly finds herself confused by her own emotions. Can she deny her attraction long enough to win the money she needs?

A contemporary, steamy take on Beauty and the Beast, His Wicked Games is a tale of devilish deeds, wild passions, and wicked romance.

My Casting

Well… it was… different.

A modern day, twisted, steamy fairytale.

3.5 stars.

“I’ve already made it clear that I’m attracted to you, and it’s quite obvious that you’re attracted to me as well. I’m just saying that I don’t see why you can’t have it both ways. Or, come to think of it, why I can’t have you a few dozen ways in the meantime.”

In His Wicked Games, Lily Frazer runs a non-profit arts centre, called The Frazer Centre, which has been funded by Calder’s late father, up until his death a few months ago. Following his father’s passing, Calder retracts the Cunningham’s generous donation and the Centre’s future is looking bleak. Lily visits Calder’s mansion to try and persuade him to stick to the original agreement, made by his father, and finds herself stranded, due to a terrible storm.

“Let the games begin.”

There were parts I loved about this book, and parts I wasn’t so keen on. I wasn’t a big fan of Lily. She annoyed me. She was weak willed, indecisive and loose moraled. I’m no prude, but Lily begins with conviction and courage… she’s all ‘I’ll do anything to save the Centre.’… ‘The Centre is the most important thing in my life!’… etc. etc. And then suddenly, it kind of takes a back seat when she gets her knickers in a twist over hot, sexy Calder!

 

She should have been crying, and distraught, and despairing… but, she was like, ‘Oh well. Let’s have sex.’

 

“Is this some sort of sick game?”
“Not at all,” he says, leaning toward me again and dropping his voice. “I only wanted you to realize how much you want me.”

I wanted to scream at her! What happened to her morals? What happened to the importance of her and her father’s life’s work? Basically, what the actual fuck?!

So, yeh, that pissed me off.

Secondly, for the first half of the book, I really wasn’t feeling the connection between Calder and Lily. It just wasn’t stirring anything within me and I was kind of indifferent about the whole thing.

So, the second half of the book saved it, for me. Things got really steamy and pretty damn juicy. The pace picked up a bit, the games cranked up a level and I enjoyed it much, much more.

“I want you, Lily. I want to fuck you until you can’t move, until you can’t tink, until you’ve forgotten everything else but me. It won’t be gentle.”

Calder is hot. I wasn’t sure about him at first. He’s got the whole brooding, moody, closed-off, mysterious billionaire thing down pat and I didn’t feel him opening up at all. But as his mask starts to slip, I liked what I saw. I’m hoping that we get to know Calder a lot better in the second book.

By my estimation, he’s the perfect specimen of a man – why no one’s tried to carve a copy of this one out of marble yet, I can’t guess.

I love the whole cat and mouse thing. I loved that they were both playing strategic games, yet, really, both wanted the same outcome. And I loved the magic of the big old mansion, the secret passages, the dungeon, the hedge maze… it created such a strong visual in my mind.

I probably will read the second book, at some point, because I want to find out what happens for Calder now. His situation was left pretty open ended (although not a cliffhanger), so that should be an interesting read. And it will be quite nice to witness Lily and Calder outside of the Cunningham estate.

So yeh, this is hot, mysterious, original, but a little frustrating in places. If you like a sexy billionaire and fancy a bit of an adult fairytale, give it a go. Plus, it’s super cheap right now.

“I win,” he says, leaning down and brushing his lips across mine.
“No,” I murmur against his mouth. “I think I did.”

 

His Wicked Games Statistics
Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥♥
Ending: HEA
Series: ✓ (His Wicked Games series)
Reading Order:
Book #1 – His Wicked Games
Book #2 – Truth or Dare
Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
Themes:
Billionaire hero
Mystery
Adult fairytale
Warning. This book includes… 
Graphic sexual content
Writing: Good

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Alpha Males, BDSM, Contracts & Arrangements, Ember Casey, Four Stars, His Wicked Games, Rich Guys, Series, Steamy Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

