Beauty from Surrender (Beauty #2) by Georgia Cates ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

How do you move on when he’s every song you sing?

After Laurelyn Prescott walks away from the love of her life, she returns to Nashville to pursue the only dream she has left. Determined to find a distraction from the pain of losing Jack Henry, she immerses herself in her music. But with her old life comes old acquaintances and new expectations. When Laurelyn refuses her record producer’s outrageous demands, she finds herself without a career—until an unforeseen opportunity presents itself. From there it’s a rocket ride straight to the top where Laurelyn finds the success she’s always dreamed of. Will it be enough to bring her the happiness she so deserves, or will the absence of Jack Henry leave her wanting more?

Jack Henry McLachlan never expected to fall in love with Laurelyn Prescott—but he did. After he foolishly let her slip through his fingers, he spends three months searching for her, but their reunion doesn’t come easy. The woman he finds isn’t the same one who drifted away without a goodbye. No longer an insecure girl on an Australian adventure, this Laurelyn is a successful musician with a promising career. Her dreams are becoming a reality, and Jack is terrified his American girl won’t have a place for him in her new life. With only a month to convince her otherwise, will it be enough time to make her visualize a life beyond the glitz and glamour, a life that includes him?

My Casting

Hmm, I didn’t enjoy this one as much as I enjoyed the first.

Don’t get me wrong, it was still really good and I did enjoy it, I just didn’t feel like the story line was as solid as the first one.
The plot for Beauty From Pain is so original that it really grips you, whereas I didn’t find that to be the case with Beauty From Surrender.

I kind of felt like the whole thing could have been wrapped up in one super awesome book, instead of split between two. I felt like the issues were pretty much resolved around the 30% mark, to be honest.

 

This book begins where book #1 ends. Laurelyn is back in the US and Jack is still in Aus. Alone, unhappy and with no way to contact her, Jack Henry sets about finding a way to get his Laurelyn back.

“I’m going to do everything in my power to make it up to her because I hate what me without her looks like. I’m going to win her back, and when I do, I’m never letting her go again.”

Of course, I still enjoyed reading about Jack Henry and Laurelyn. But this book had a much sweeter, less angsty feel about it, despite a couple of quite intense issues.

“I’m so pissed off at you right now that I can’t see straight. I simultaneously love the fuck out of you while I hate your guts. I don’t know if I want to slap your face of get naked with you.”
“My vote would be for getting naked, but I don’t think they’ll allow that here in the airport.”

I was frustrated with Laurelyn for withholding information from Jack. It felt like the author only wrote it that way to give her something else to keep the story going, when in reality, that would be a ridiculous way to act. I couldn’t see the point of it. And then, suddenly, she just changed her mind and suffered no consequence. I wasn’t convinced.

“Don’t ever forget that it’s your job to teach him how to treat you.”

The sex was hot as ever! Georgia Cates writes a mean sex scene and Beauty From Surrender certainly wasn’t lacking in that area. She also loves some good dirty talk and a strip tease, so you can look forward to a few of those.

“Orgasms are a physical necessity and should be prescribed by your doctor for good health. There’s no reason you shouldn’t be having at least one day. Personally, I recommend three. You brush your teeth three times a day to keep them healthy. Shouldn’t your vagina be in tip-top shape too?”

It was cute to see Jack Henry’s more vulnerable side, but I felt that there was a huuuge leap from the man we met in book #1, to the needy, desperate man we end up with in book #2. I get that he has changed and his love for Laurelyn has had him re-evaluating his life, but he almost seemed like an entirely different person. I mean, nobody wants heartless and mean, but a bit of bossy and dominating doesn’t go amiss, right ladies? Where did bossy Jack go?! 😦

 

“You’re everything I never knew I wanted.”

Aaaalso, Jack goes to Ben Donavon, Addison’s brother, and asks for a way to contact Laurelyn. Obviously, being all jealous, Ben refuses… Ok, sounds legit. BUT… In book #1, Jack lays some stranger out for simply saying crude things about Laurelyn. Ben refuses to give him details, that he has easily available, that will lead him to the love of his life and solve all his problems, and he just accepts it and walks away???!!! Hell no! Come on Jack, man up! Pull up your big boy pants and fight for your woman! What happened to your balls?!

“There are three guys in a girl’s life: one she loves, one she hates, and one she can’t get enough of. The three have one thing in common. They’re all the same guy.”

I definitely felt like the book could have done with an epilogue!
[Go to http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/605217723 to view spoiler]
However, I think that the author is leaving the option open for a possible novella, as an additional extra, at some point in the future. So I’ll definitely be reading that because I’m certain that there is more to come. Well, one more little thing, to complete their story.

Ok, that’s a reeeally negative review, and I didn’t mean it to be. I guess I’ve just listed all of the reasons it went from five stars, down to four stars… but it is still four stars! I did still really enjoy Jack and Laurelyn’s story, and I would definitely recommend this series.

 

Beauty from Surrender Statistics
Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥♥
Ending: HEA
Series: ✓
Reading Order: 
Book #1 – Beauty from Pain
Book #2 – Beauty from Surrender
Can this be read as a standalone? No
Themes:
Rich hero
Long distance relationship
Warning. This book includes…
Graphic sexual content
Writing: Good

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

   

This entry was posted in Beauty From Surrender, Beauty Series, by Georgia Cates, Contracts & Arrangements, Four Stars, Georgia Cates, Rich Guys, Series, Steamy Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

