Knight (Unfinished Hero #1) by Kristen Ashley ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

Anya Gage has learned that to get anything good in life, you have to work for it. She has no expectations, no dreams.

Then she finds herself at a party where she doesn’t want to be and she meets Knight.

Knight Sebring knows who he is, what he wants and what he likes. And he gets it. But he never expected something as sweet as Anya Gage to wander into his bedroom during a party he did not expect to be having to borrow his phone.

Knight tries to leave Anya to the life she deserves of white picket fences and a man who watches football on Sundays – good, normal and clean. But when Anya comes to his nightclub and finds herself in a situation, he knows someone has to look after her, he can’t fight it anymore and he decides that man will be him.

Knight teaches Anya that, just as with the bad, in life you should also expect the good. And he teaches her this by giving it to her.

But Knight has a dark past and just as he desires Anya for exactly who she is, he fears when she finds out exactly the man he has become and always intends to be, she’ll leave him for good, normal and clean.

My Casting

Holy freakin’ hotness.

So, I’m thinking I might need therapy some time soon. I’m beginning to get slightly depressed that men are just sooo much better in books than they are in real life! Especially in KA books!

Knight. Oh. My. Actual. God! Where does she come up with this stuff?! Knight is the ultimate alpha! And he’s called Knight!!!

“Um, I don’t know your name but -”
“Knight,”
“Right, Mr. Knight-”
“No, Knight.”
“That’s what I said, Knight. Now, Mr. Knight-”
“No, not Mr. Knight. Knight. My name is Knight.”
“Your Christian name is Knight?”
“If that means first name, yeah.”
“With a ‘K’?”
“Yeah, babe, with a ‘K’.”
“That’s an unusual name.”
“Yeah.”
“I kind of like it.”
“I can die happy.”

And why, oh why, do I want to bow down and lick the flesh of a man who is, by his own admission, violent, controlling and runs in a world of corruption and badness?!!! It’s wrong. I know that my moral compass is askew and I’m feeling that I should feel bad about that. But I totally don’t.

 

Ok, let’s lay it out… if my actual-real-life boyfriend went out and had someone beaten-the-shit-out-of for me, yeh, I would flip my shit. If he told me I wasn’t allowed to dance on a dance floor in a club, again, serious diva stropping would ensue! But this isn’t real life, right?
This is a hot, alpha male, dominant man, fantasy book boyfriend and that makes it okay for me to love Knight.

And I do. I really really do. I love Knight Sebring. He is possibly one of my favourite alpha males. Ev-er!

“I find all of this very confusing.”
“You get in my bed, I’ll sort you out.”
“You’re that good?”
“Yeah, I am, baby. I will take care of you there in all the ways you need me to do it. That I can guarantee.”

So, let’s talk about Knight. The book, not the character. Anya is skint. She works hard for the little money she earns, lives in a sub-standard apartment, has a day job, an evening job and goes to school. Her world is turned upside down when she accidentally wanders into Knight’s room and pisses him off! Still, even pissed he can’t ignore how attracted he is to her.

“Babe, your clothes. Shit. But you work ’em and you do because you’ve got one serious fantastic body, your hair is even better and your face is a face that launches a thousand hard-ons.”

After trying to stay away, cut a long story short, he can’t and eventually Anya finds herself in a relationship she never saw coming and isn’t sure she even agreed to. But, again, she can’t deny that she is attracted to and intrigued by the mean and moody Knight. And so it begins…

“I get this this is intense because I’m intense, that’s the whole fuckin’ deal. I get it’ll take you a while to get used to it. But you want it. Fuck, you even like it. You just don’t understand it yet. But you will.”

This book really seems to have split opinions right down the middle, so, naturally, I was curious. I know a lot of people really didn’t like the way Knight speaks, the way he is with Anya, etc. Also, he calls Anya his baby and has her call him ‘Daddy’… now, I will admit, this is something I am not entirely comfortable with. The whole Daddy thing does not do it for me. In the slightest. However, I kind of just looked past it… it’s part of Anya and Knight and it works for them. Just because it doesn’t tickle my pickle, doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy their story.

I also get why people might have problems with Knight. He is controlling to the point of it being totally wrong!

And Anya just kind of gets on with it. Again, I have to stress, just because I enjoyed this book, it doesn’t mean I condone this type of behaviour in real life. But there is no getting away from the fact that I found Knight hot as all get out! He can also be soooo incredibly sweet.

“Toasted almond pancakes. Sweet soft ‘okays’. Makin’ me laugh more in a few weeks than I have in decades. ‘Yes, Daddys’ I feel in my dick. The first voicemail you left me, babe, I saved it and I listen to it once a day. If I lose focus, I see you on your back, knees high, legs wide, offering your sweet, wet pussy to me. You smile at me in bed every time you wander outta my bedroom in my shirts, my tees or your work clothes and honest to Christ, it sets me up for the day. And no matter what shit goes down, I get through it knowin’ whichever bed I climb into at night, you’re in it ready to snuggle into me or give me what I wanna take. Your girl, a headache. You, never. And in a life that’s been full of headaches, babe, having that, there is no price tag. You gotta get it and do it right fuckin’ now that there’s a lotta different kinds of give and take. And you give as good as you get, baby, trust me.”

And I almost melted when he said…

“She’s beautiful, Dad. You see her, you won’t believe your eyes. You’ll think you’re dreamin’.”

This book was kinda like Kristen Ashley’s very own Fifty Shades. Knight is Christian Grey, badass KA style! And if that doesn’t send you into a spin… I don’t know what will?!

“You please me, I’ll please you. You do what I tell you to do, I’ll take care of you. You disobey me or act out, I’ll punish you then I’ll take care of you.”

Filthy rich, night-club and real estate owning, impeccably dressed, demanding, moody, likes-to-tie-you-up-and-spank-you, not-very-likeable-atall, but totally, undeniably hotter than hades… ringing any bells? That’s Knight. Well, and Christian Grey… but, right now, this is Knight. 

“That teeters over the edge of macho crazy, Knight,” I informed him.
“Yeah,” he was completely not offended, “Head’s up, Babe, get used to that.”

For Kristen Ashley virgins… you neeeeed to read these books! KA is the Goddess of writing shit hot alpha badboys. Her writing is so identifiable and it can take a little bit of getting used to. KA character’s dialogue is instantly recognisable and a little confusing at times. But so soooo good. Seriously. Get some KA in your life.

“You don’t fuck Knight. No way. Knight fucks you.”

And out of all her books, I think this might just be my favourite!! I can’t wait to read Creed and Raid!

 

Knight Statistics
Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥♥
Ending: HEA
Series: ✓
Reading Order: 
Book #1 – Knight
Book #2 – Creed
Book #3 – Raid
Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
Themes:
Rich hero
BDSM
Controlling alpha male
Warning. This book includes…
Graphic sexual content
BDSM
A hero like marmite!
Writing: Fantastic

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten

Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC

Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/

Join in the chat on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SmittensBookBlog

This entry was posted in Alpha Males, Bad Boys, BDSM, Five Stars, Knight, Kristen Ashley, Rich Guys, Series, Stand Alones, Steamy Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Knight (Unfinished Hero #1) by Kristen Ashley ✰✰✰✰✰

  1. Merriedth says:

    I also loved creed….cause here she puts badass in the form of female and she rocks it…..

  2. Julia Zuniga says:

    Terrific review – I felt exactly the same as you when reading it – on all points. Did you have photos or graphics – because there a couple of huge gaps between paragraphs where it looks like there should be something, but is blank on my screen.

    • Smitten says:

      Yeh, the graphics are being temperamental lol. I can see them from my laptop but others can’t. Will see what I can do. 🙂 Glad you agreed with the review. x

      • Julia Zuniga says:

        I’m going to be very curious to see what you think of Creed and Raid. I didn’t care for Creed at all – it was nothing like Knight. Raid was better for me, but still didn’t come close to capturing the feelings in me that Knight did. Knight (and Anya & Nick) are in both books, however, and the scenes with them were just ok for me.

  3. Liz Hall says:

    Awesome review!! This was my first Kristen Ashley book and I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED it!!!

    I have since read all of her books and this is still one of my very favorites!

    Date: Sat, 22 Jun 2013 12:52:03 +0000
    To: lhall926@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

