Belong To You (Cole #1) by Vi Keeland ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

My honeymoon was almost everything I dreamed it would be, a tropical paradise, turquoise water, romantic walks on the beach, and loads and loads of mind shattering sex. The only thing missing was the groom. 

After seven years of coasting through a relationship with Michael, my senses were numb. A week of passion with a stranger was just what I needed to clear my head and take back control of my life. But how do you move on when the man that was only supposed to be a fling somehow seeps into your soul and steals your heart?

My Casting

This book is absolutely smoking. My oh-so-faithful smut whores, rejoice! This one’s for you girlies.

“If I don’t bury myself inside of you within the next five minutes, you aren’t going to be able to walk tomorrow.”

This is a definite Fifty Shades/Crossfire type storyline. It’s the billionnaire playboy who won’t settle down, with the secrets, commitment issues and questionable history.

Belong To You tells the story of Sydney, who was engaged to her long term boyfriend, but broke the relationship off just months before the wedding. With a honeymoon booked and paid for, she and her friend, Sienna, take advantage and set off for a week in Hawaii.

 

And that’s where Syd meets Jack. Jack, the super hot, dominant, sexy, filthy rich stranger, who Syd decides will do nicely to provide the rebound ‘fling’ she needs to get back on the singleton wagon.

“Are you saying you want to have sex with me this week and only get to ask and be asked ten personal questions?”
“That’s what I’m saying.” His response was dead serious.
“You’re crazy.”

I have to admit, I wasn’t overly keen on the first half of this book. I didn’t connect with the characters too well, I felt it was just going to be a book for the sake of writing sex scenes! And as much as I love a good bit of smut, it has to have a story and characters I can invest in for me to be able to really feel anything for it.

But this book really picked up for me post-Hawaii! That is when the story line begins to kick in and you learn more about the characters themselves.

“You’re a mother’s dream, tall, dark and handsome, good manners, straight teeth and wealthy.”
“What about her daughter’s dream. How am I doing there?”
“Fulfilling them all.” I lifted my head to kiss him softly.

I liked Sydney a lot more in the second half. I wasn’t keen Hawaii-Syd. I felt that she was a little mopey and pathetic, but she seemed to grow some balls when she got home, despite pining for the very sexy Jack… but, wouldn’t we all after a week of sizzling hot sex and then… nada!

“Do you prefer to be on top or bottom?”
“I prefer whatever makes you yell louder when I fuck you harder than you’ve ever been fucked.”

I did feel that their relationship went a little quickly once they’d reconnected in New York. I was surprised at that and I’m still not entirely convinced that their connection is anything beyond physical. But I’ll be interested to see how they fair in the next book, where I can imagine things might be tough on them.

I do have one other reservation… at the end of the book, the climax, for want of a better word, I felt that the plot line fell a little bit flat. That is to say, there was no real climax. Syd’s ‘issue’ that I assume was supposed to be the shifting, monumental moment that most romance novels have, making your heart race and your palms sweat, threatening the future of your characters and turning their worlds upside down… you know the one…? Well, it was a bit nondescript, to be honest. It wasn’t even one of those annoying misunderstandings where you want to yell at the characters to STOP AND LISTEN to one another… it was just like, ‘eeeerm, nothing happened’… *awks*

So, despite the anti-climatic climax, there are a whole lot of another kinda climaxes, a very sexy Jack and a fairly decent storyline to make up for it and I will forgive Belong To You for this little faux pas.

“Who do you belong to, Syd?”
“You, Jack.”
“Say it, Syd.”
“I belong to you.”

The second and final (I believe) book in this series is released on July 1st, so I will be checking that out next week, just in time for it’s release. In the meantime, this one is on SALE for a limited time!

 

Belong To You Statistics
Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥♥
Ending: Not a dramatic cliffhanger but the story is definitely unfinished
Series: ✓
Reading Order: 
Book #1 – Belong To You
Book #2 – Made For You
Can this be read as a standalone? No
Themes:
Rich hero
Erotica
Warning. This book includes…
Graphic sexual content
Writing: Good

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Add me on Goodreads: 
http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten

Follow me on Twitter: 
https://twitter.com/SmittenSC

Find me on Pinterest: 


Join in the chat on Facebook: 
https://www.facebook.com/SmittensBookBlog

This entry was posted in Alpha Males, Belong To You, Contracts & Arrangements, Four Stars, Quick Reads, Rich Guys, Series, Steamy Reads, Vi Keeland. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

