Finding Bliss, by Dina Silver ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

Chloe Carlyle has always longed for the perfect family. 

Growing up with an alcoholic single mother, she has seen her share of heartbreak and disappointment, and is striving to build a new legacy for herself. After graduating from college, she takes a job working as a summer girl for the Reeds––a wealthy, accomplished family that personifies her American dream. Her summer takes an unexpected turn when the Reeds’ eldest son Tyler, the star quarterback for Notre Dame, shows up and turns her life upside down.

An ambitious young woman with a wry sense of humor, Chloe never imagined herself as the type to succumb to the looks and charms of the hometown hero, but she falls hard for Tyler, and is devastated when they part ways at the end of the summer. As she heads off to law school, Chloe tries to convince herself this was just a fling, but she can’t quite get over him. It’s not until Tyler contacts her out of the blue late one winter night that everything changes. 

After doing everything in her power to build the perfect life, Chloe soon learns that there are things beyond her control. She must draw on inner reserves of strength as her life takes unpredictable—and sometimes heartbreaking—twists and turns, and she finds herself faced with decisions she never thought she’d have to make. Poignant, heartfelt, and emotional, Finding Bliss is a reminder that you don’t have to live a fairytale life in order to have a happy ending.

My Casting

This book is a spin off, but not a sequel to Dina’s fabulous book, One Pink Line, which I have read and would recommend to mother’s and daughter’s everywhere! So I was excited to read Finding Bliss.

There was so much about this novel that I loved. I absolutely adore Dina Silver’s writing. I read this book in one evening and I couldn’t put it down, so that tells you a lot about how I felt whilst reading the book…
Which is why I couldn’t give it less than four stars.

However, there was also things that didn’t work for me.
I like to spend an entire book falling in love with my hero to then have everything come together, idealistically, at the end. That, for me, is what reading romance is about. I want it to build and build, ready for the crescendo. And when I fall for a character, I fall hard!

That doesn’t happen in this book. I can’t explain why, without giving major plot twists away, but I can just tell you, you don’t get to spend the 285 pages falling deeper and deeper in love with Chloe’s knight in shining armour. And that disappointed me.

Finding Bliss is about the ups and downs of Chloe’s life and how she manages to wade through the crap life throws at her to find happiness. It is no idealised, starry-eyed romance. This is about real life trials that so many people, all around the world, are dealing with. And for me, it was about how everybody’s happy-ever-after is different, as is their journey.

This book was a lot more than I bargained for. The blurb doesn’t give away just how much happens in Chloe’s story. She deals with some awful circumstances and I really felt for her.

“Your mom is like the Titanic: if you stay with the ship, you’ll go down too. Those people who clung to the boat ultimately perished. You need to get yourself on a lifeboat and get as far away as you can.”

I liked her character. She was true and real. There was no ‘Oh, he’s really hot, but I don’t think I should be with him because of some lame ass promise I’ve made to myself to be an independent woman.’ etc, etc… She had her hesitations for like, a split second, and then she got the hell over them and took what she wanted. And what she wanted was sex with the hunky, childhood-crush, football superstar!! I loved that.

“She’s just a girl.”
“What am I?”
He leaned to his side and ran a hand through my hair. “You’re a woman,” he said and then kissed me ear and left his mouth there. “A gorgeous, smart, fucking sexy-ass woman.”

I wasn’t entirely sold on Tyler. I’m not sure why, but even at the beginning, he just didn’t do it for me. I just didn’t feel that connection between him and Chloe and I wanted him to sweep her off her feet and bow at her feet.

“All that I know about happiness, you have taught me, and everything good in my life can be traced back to you.”

I loved Chloe’s friendship with Cam. I want to be friends with Cam! He’s sooo damn cute and he supplies stuffed crust pizza, in times of need. What more does a girl want?

“Just click your heels together three times and say, there’s no one like Cam, and I’ll appear.”

There is a big part of the book where Chloe struggles to get pregnant. She goes through many trials, tests, bloodtests etc. and it is excruciating to read her pain throughout the whole ordeal. Now, I have no experience of any of this, but I imagine that this will hit close to home for people who have been through a similar experience, so I felt the need to note it in my review.

Once Tyler did his job, a nurse would take Tyler’s sperm, wash them in the spin cycle, give them each a spritz of cologne and a tequila shot, and then load them into a turkey baster that would eventually be inserted into my waiting vagina. So this was how babies were made.

Parts of this book moved so quickly that it made my head spin. But it worked. Sometimes, I’d begin the next chapter and it’d say ‘Three months later’ and I’d be like, ‘Hey! What? What happened to [insert situation A here].’ But it did work. So much happened that it was necessary for the author to skim over parts that just weren’t essential to the plot, even if they might have been cute to read about.

So there you go. There are parts of the book that I would give less than four stars. For example, the lack of a solid, loveable hero. But the fact that I couldn’t put it down and I devoured it in one evening, plus, that I love the way Dina Silver writes, would have scored five stars, so I settled on four. I hope some of you will give this a go and let me know what you think.

Finding Bliss Statistics
Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥
Ending: Happy Ending
Series: No but it is a spin-off from One Pink Line
Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
Themes:
Childhood hero
Real life
Pregnancy/IVF
Alcoholism
Friendship
Family
Warning. This book includes…
Detailed account of IVF
Alcoholism
Mental Health
Cheating
Writing: Great

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

RELEASE DATE: July 16th 2013

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SmittensBookBlog

This entry was posted in Angst Overload, Dina Silver, Emotional Reads, Finding Bliss, Four Stars, Mental Health, Stand Alones. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

