Sweet Thing, by Renee Carlino ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

Mia Kelly is a twenty-five-year-old walking Gap ad who thinks she has life figured out when her father’s sudden death uproots her from slow-paced Ann Arbor to New York City’s bustling East Village. There she discovers her father’s spirit for life and the legacy he left behind with the help of an old café, a few eccentric friends, and one charming musician.

Will Ryan is good-looking, poetic, spontaneous, and on the brink of fame when he meets Mia, his new landlord, muse, and personal heartbreaker.

A story of self-discovery and friendship, Sweet Thing shines light on the power of loving and letting go.

My Casting

Stunning!

Absolutely loved this. It really was gorgeous.

It’s a story of friendship, fear, insecurity, loss, self discovery and faith.

I absolutely love those stories where two characters make that transition from friendship to something more. It creates such a warm, fuzzy feeling. And Sweet Thingwas no exception.

“Whatever you need me to be, I’ll be! Friends? Fine! Best friends? Great! I’ll do it, because I want you in my life more than anything I have ever wanted.”

Music plays a huge part in this book. The characters use music to say the words they are unable to speak and to convey emotion that they are unable to explain.

 

Playing, writing, listening. They connect through music, they use music to comfort them, to drown sorrows, to feel closer to those they have lost and to heal. It’s incredibly emotive and really gives the reader an insight into the minds and souls of the characters.

Will could dance and if I remember correctly, someone told me once to stay away from a man who could dance.

Will is a fantastic hero. He is cheeky and loveable right from the word go. The author cleverly introduces him to the reader in his most vulnerable state and you instantly fall in love with him. He is cocky and cute, but not too proud or arrogant.

“What do you want to do?” I asked.
“I just want to get wasted with you and find out if there is a god,” he murmured into my neck before tugging on my earlobe with his teeth.

The plotline isn’t anything off the wall or ground breaking, but the execution and characterisation of Mia and Will are what make this book so beautiful. I was drawn in to their world and I didn’t want to climb out.

Sometimes it takes the love of others to show us who we really are.

I loved the feel, created by surrounding characters, the visual of Kell’s Cafe, the apartment, Jackson… everything. Renee has a way of writing you into the story.

Some parts of this book are almost painful to read. I was tearing my hair out and wanted to scream at Mia, at times. But she comes with her own set of heavy issues and the story is true to those in the way Mia reacts to things.

It’s the only way to know you’re really in love, when you ask the question would it be harder to watch him die, or to know he’ll watch me die? Is there more mercy in being the one who does the watching or in being the one who does the dying? It’s when you realize what mercy-killing actually means, it’s when you actually care to the point of tormenting worry. It’s not roses and white horses, it’s fucking brutal and it can send a person running for the hills. To love is brave and Will was the bravest person I knew.

My heart shattered for Will, sooo many times. He was just too adorable. He was so constant and, supportive, and sweet, and… *sigh*. Girls, you will adore Wilbur Ryan!

This is a very quick, easy read. I read it in one go and felt like it was over in a flash. But it was perfect. It was long enough to build and run with the story, but not too long that there were unnecessary fillers or parts that dragged.

“Wilbur, I want to have like a million of your babies.”
He looked happier than I had ever seen him.
“Really? Should we start now?”
“Definitely.”

And can I just end by saying, at the end of this book, the author writes…

For Jackson: The best damn dog in the world. RIP, Buddy.

Oh my goodness. Cue me = blubbering wreck! *sob*

So anyway, this book has been getting fantastic reviews all over the place, and I can totally see why. If you’ve got it on your TBR list and are umming and arring, or don’t know what to read next, give Sweet Thing a go. It’s got a bit of everything, from cute, to sexy, from dark, to light. I loved it and would highly recommend. And I do believe it’s on sale right now!

 

Sweet Thing Statistics
Length: 342 pages
Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥
Ending: HEA
Series: ✗
Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
Themes:
Music
Grief
Friendship
Warning. This book includes…
Death of a dog
Writing: Great

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SmittensBookBlog

This entry was posted in Angst Overload, Delicious Sexual Tension, Emotional Reads, Five Stars, Friends to Lovers, Quick Reads, Renee Carlino, Rock Star Romance, Stand Alones, Sweet Thing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

