Fire Inside (Chaos #2) by Kristen Ashley ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

Lanie Heron isn’t looking for love—no surprise, considering her last serious relationship nearly got her killed. So when Lanie propositions Hop Kincaid, all she wants is one wild night with the hot-as-hell biker who patrols with the Chaos Motorcycle Club…

For Hop, Lanie has always been untouchable. She’s too polished and too classy for his tastes. But when she gives Hop the once-over with her bedroom eyes and offers him a night in paradise, he can’t say no. And he doesn’t regret it when he finds that Lanie is the best thing that’s ever happened to him—in or out of bed. Now the trick will be to convince her of that.

My Casting

I know right…. A KA book that I’m not head-over-heels, ass-over-tit in love with!

Ok, so here’s the deal…

There were parts I absolutely loved and parts that reeeeally dragged for me. It just didn’t seem to have the usual pacey, intense, drama filled KA-ness that all her other books have. I don’t know. It just… fell a little… flat, in some parts.

So, I adore the alpha-ness. Yep, never fear, we still get our cocky, ‘Babe’, sexy badass alpha biker. And no doubt about it, he’ll have your knickers spontaneously combusting within the first few chapters. So we’re all good there.

“You’re very arrogant, Hopper Kincaid.”
“Yeah, well, man gets that way when a woman that looks like you comes as hard as I can make you come.”

And the writing is still as genius as always. I’ve highlighted soooo many quotes from this. I just love love love Kristen’s writing. She is a fucking legend when it comes to making me giggle-snort tea through my nose, read with a big smirk on my face and swoon left, right and centre!

Just a note: it was impossible to stay pissed at a handsome man when he had his mouth between your legs.
Especially if he really, really knew how to use that mouth.

It’s funny, it’s witty, it’s effortless, it’s true KA style.

“You’re beautiful, fuck me, seriously, so goddamned beautiful sometimes, sweat to God, I think I can’t look at you any longer because if I do, your beauty will burn out my eyes.”

So, that’s all still there. No change on that front. And for that, I gave the four stars…

So, why only four?
There was definitely something missing! The only action was what we’ve already read about in Shy and Tabby’s story, as, obviously, Hop and Lanie’s story runs along the same time frame. So, no kidnapping, no crazy stunts to win his woman, nobody got shot *gasp* Shock horror! Or stabbed, or blackmailed or taken hostage… Nope. Nada.

It’s meant to be a one night thing with Lanie and Hop.

But ooooobviously, that would make for a really crappy book! So, thing’s get ‘complicated’ and feelings start rocking up and taking over and shit goes down.

Basically Lanie and Hop just twoed and froed (<<< are they even words? They are now!) between wanting to be together and not wanting to be together. Lanie had her demons to conquer, obviously, and that took up a good chunk of the book, and Hop had some shit to work through too. But other than that… :/

I had nothing left to give.
I not only had nothing left to give, I just had nothing.
And I was going to keep it that way.
If you had nothing, you couldn’t feel more pain because you had nothing left to lose.

Now, if you don’t mind the lack of crazy, then dive in. Chances are, Fire Inside will still be a hit, because, lets face it, it’s KA. The woman is a Goddess among book-boyfriend creators!

You. Bike. Now.

Swoooon!

But for me, I was a little deflated and felt like I was waiting for some kind of explosion. Like, literally!

So there it is, a KA book that isn’t perfect, or near as dammit. But, I guess we can give the woman a break and let her off, right?! 😉 After all, she did totally redeem Hop!

“Every step, every breath, every second I lived on this earth, I’m thankful for, no matter how fucked up or whacked or hard or good, ’cause all that shit led me to you.”

And, like I mentioned, I could quote this book until the cows come home. You want some more?? Okay… knock yourselves out…

“I go to bed, lie there and think of you. Wake up, you’re the first thing on my mind.”
Oh God.
I liked that.
Oh God.
I couldn’t like that.

“You take a chance on me, your biggest worry is your 7Up fizzing over.”

“Please be real.”
His hand in my hair stilled, curled around my head and Hop whispered back, “Lady, I’m as real as it gets.”

“Honey,” I called and his head came up. “You have a monster too.”
“I did. My woman just slayed it.”

“I tried to give you what you needed, to stay away, let you live your fucked-up life, but I can’t. Taste you in my mouth, lady. See you in my dreams.”

“Babe?” Hope called.
“As of now, I’m not talking to you,” I announced with a mouth full of donut.
“Love you more than life.”

 

Fire Inside Statistics
Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥♥
Ending: HEA
Series: ✓
Reading Order:
Book #1 – Own the Wind
Book #2 – Fire Inside
Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
Themes:
Motorcycle Club
Fear of relationships
Warning. This book includes… Sexual content. Moderate violence. Alcoholism. Badass bikers.
Writing: Great

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

 

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SmittensBookBlog

This entry was posted in Alpha Males, Angst Overload, Bad Boys, Biker Boys, Chaos, Delicious Sexual Tension, Fire Inside, Four Stars, Kristen Ashley, Steamy Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

