Girl with Guitar by Caisey Quinn ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

After Kylie’s dad dies in a freak accident, he leaves her with nothing other than her crazy step-mother, Darla, and the ability to play guitar. When Darla kicks Kylie out and she loses her job all in the same day, she hops a bus to Nashville determined to make her late father’s dreams come true. Waitressing and saving her pennies to record a demo, her big break comes when she’s asked to join a tour going down the tubes with once platinum album-selling country music superstar Trace Corbin. But touring with Trace is hardly a dream come true since he’s pretty much drinking his career down the drain. If Kylie can’t pull Trace out of his rut, he’ll pull her and her dreams down with him.

My Casting

So so so so soooo good!

I absolutely loved this book. It was totally what I was in the mood for and it hit every spot.

Let me start by saying that Kylie is the best female lead I have read in aaaages! At just eighteen, she is still young and vulnerable but she has such a great attitude. She isn’t afraid to speak her mind and make heads roll when necessary and it was so refreshing.

“You probably have about fifteen minutes until some guy with deeper dimples and tighter jeans, if that’s possible, comes along and steals your thunder because really, you’re not all that damned special.”

All too often, our book heroines lack balls and hold back when they should be ranting their pretty little asses off and not just sitting back and taking shit. Kylie does just that! So, for that, Caisey Quinn, I applaud you. Girl power!

And then there is Trace. Arrogant, cocky, drunken country music star! Hot as hell but broken and on a path of self destruction.

She was from Oklahoma, and knew a thing or two about storm warnings. Trace Corbin was setting off all the sirens inside of her. Kylie was standing directly in the path of something wild and dangerous and a hell of a lot more powerful than she.

Yeh, you guys can put two and two together and come up with four pretty easily… you know the drill. Bad boy meets good girl and all mother of hell breaks loose. 😉 The best kind of hell, though!

So, what really did it for me was the sexual tension. I LOVE a book with a heavy dose of sexual tension. The will-they-won’t-they, the love-hate-love-hate, the for-christ-sake-kiss-her, the stolen touches, the innuendos…. *groan* I luuuurve it! Well written sexual tension, for me, is even more effective than well written sex. And don’t let the cover of this book fool you, Girl with Guitar delivers on the spine tingling, toe curling, panty dropping sexual tension!

“Kylie, if I ever again see you in a place like The Player’s Club, or alone in a bedroom with a musician who wants nothing more than to fuck you, then I can’t be held responsible for what I might do.”
“Does right now count as being alone in a bedroom with a musician who wants to fuck me?”
“Yes, it does. Which is why you should run back to your room as fast as those pretty little legs can carry you. And lock the goddamned door.”

And then there is also a very yummy sex scene to boot. I know, we’re spoilt, right?!

“When I’m finished, you’ll barely be able to stand me not being inside of you.”

 

So, what more do you want me to say??? You’ve got a hot, tortured guitar player, a delicious side order of steam, a ballsy, spitfire of a female protagonist and lots of drama to spice it all up. Do I need to spell it out? I highly recommend Girl with Guitar

“Just don’t forget that you can say no because if you change who you are for them, then Kylie didn’t really make it, someone else did.”

 

Girl with Guitar Statistics
Length: 210 pages
Steam Rating (out of 5): ♥♥♥♥
Ending: HEA
Series: ✗
Can this be read as a standalone? Yes
Themes:
Country music
Alcoholism
NA
Warning. This book includes… Sexual content. Moderate violence. Alcoholism.
Writing: Great

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SmittensBookBlog

This entry was posted in Bad Boys, Caisey Quinn, Delicious Sexual Tension, Five Stars, Girl with Guitar, NA, Quick Reads, Rock Star Romance, Stand Alones, Steamy Reads, Virginal Heroine. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Girl with Guitar by Caisey Quinn ✰✰✰✰✰

  1. CaiseyQuinn says:

    >insert ALL THE FEELS< Going to gather myself and comment coherently. Promise. But for now, OMG, squeee, *happy dance*, oooohh shiny pretty review, me like, *tears*.

  2. CaiseyQuinn says:

    Okay, and now a comment in which I have composed myself. Er, mostly.

    First, thank you for taking the time to read the book! I am so glad that you enjoyed it! I love that you COMPLETELY GOT Kylie. And I am the EXACT same way about sexual tension. YES, PLEASE!

    Second, holy mother, I can’t even stop looking at the graphics! Can I pretty please have permission to use them on my website and FB and promo stuff? I promise to credit you each and every time! Gorgeous!

    Thank you so much for the awesomeness that is this review! Big hugs!

  3. Tammy Mckissick says:

    First off—let me say that I absolutely LOVE your reviews. I read this book based on your review alone (and your character castings were perfect). I was just curious if you knew how many books were planned for this series. I thought the HEA classification meant the next books may be spinoffs, but I see now that I was wrong. And although I did REALLY enjoy the book, and would like to see more Trace (who wouldn’t?!?!), I just like knowing how many books to expect. Thanks so much for the spot-on reviews!! 🙂

    • Smitten says:

      Hey Tammy. Thank you for your lovely comment. 🙂
      I’m glad you enjoyed GwG and stoked that you love my reviews too.
      Yep, if you take a look at the author interview with Caisey Quinn, she gives us a little bit of info on the rest of the series.
      https://smittensbookblog.wordpress.com/2013/06/02/author-interview-giveaway-caisey-quinn-girl-with-guitar/
      S. xoxo

      • Tammy Mckissick says:

        Awesome! I have to admit that I didn’t even see this interview on your blog. I tend to stalk your facebook photos. Then I one-click based on what photo collage and review grabs my attention. 🙂 I am glad there will be more Trace/Kylie but I hope there’s not too much drama for them……….two more books makes me nervous. Anywho………….thanks again. You rock!

      • Smitten says:

        Yeh, I totally know what you mean. They deserve a break lol. I can’t wait to read more though.
        My pleasure, Tammy. Happy stalking and happy reading! 😀 xoxo

Leave a Reply

