Every Rose, by Lynetta Halat

What do you do when you realize you were foolish enough to throw away true, unconditional love? 

Lorraina Dabney turns her back on her creativity and tumultuous upbringing to embark on a college career that will lead her to law school and to becoming what she values most in life—a controlled, powerful, respected woman. When she stumbles upon her childhood friend’s artwork, she feels inspired to reconnect with him and her former self. This onslaught of emotion will send Lorraina in a tale-spin to figure out exactly why she abandoned all that she was, all that she could’ve been.

Coming from his own chaotic upbringing, Michael falls quickly and deeply in love with Lorraina at a tender age. Even her rejection can’t stand in the way of his obsession. When she starts to date other boys, however, Michael finally relents, causing him to spiral further into a world filled with violence, drugs, alcohol, and women. Realizing this lifestyle will only lead to his further estrangement from Lorraina, Michael sets about to turn himself around before going to get his girl. 

Michael Bang will have Lorraina questioning everything.

My Casting

*big big sigh*

Ok, I can’t rate this. I’ve tried, but there is no rating that can encompass what this book put me through…

If you don’t want to read spoilers, stop reading now. I will hide major spoilers, but I can’t write this review without giving some things away.

Okay? So, you’re still reading… so you can’t moan when I tell you…

This story does not have a happy ending. And this story will tear you apart.

Throughout, this was a four/five star read for me. Michael and Lorraina were fun and enjoyable to read, the plot was intricate and intriguing and who doesn’t love a bad boy turned good?!

“Because you were the best friend I’d ever had. Because your intensity scared me. Because I was so young and I wasn’t ready… Because I was in love with you.”
“Well it’s about time you owned up to that.”

And then… something happens.

SEE LINK BELOW FOR SPOILER
http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/609216931

At first, I thought it must be some kind of misunderstanding. I thought there was more to it and I was missing something. Nope. It is what it is.

Ok, I was not okay with that! I’m fine with ugly-cry-inducing plot lines, but not like that! I want some kind of balm for my broken heart before the end of the book. I didn’t get that with Every Rose.

“Lorraine, you had to have known that I was bluffing when I acted like I was over you. I have your initials tattooed on my arm. I have your face tattooed in my brain. I have your soul tattooed in my heart.”

I should have taken note when the characters discussed the beauty of tragedy in books and movies. I’m afraid I don’t buy into that. I can’t bear it. This reminds me of the review I wrote for The Fault In Our Stars… there is enough tragedy and unhappy endings in real life. When I read, I want escapism, I want idealism, I want relief from the shit that occurs in real life. The shit that is unavoidable. We can’t ensure that everybody gets their HEA in real life, but I do need that from the books I read I’m afraid.

“Even the most beautiful flower, the rose,” he argued, “has the thorn that makes it imperfect.”

I feel as though it’s unfinished. Yet I know there is nothing to finish. There was no resolution, no answer… I feel like I’m hanging in limbo waiting for someone to go ‘Just kidding! And now they live happy ever after!’

So, the reason I’m not rating Every Rose is because, for the most part, it’s a great book. The writing is good, the characters are loveable and true, I enjoyed 90% of it, so I can’t possibly rate it low as an overall… but I can’t rate it highly either, because to me, the ending is everything and the ending killed me.

“I’ve wanted you all my life.”

I think the moral of this story, for me, is not that every rose has it’s thorns, or that there is beauty in every tragedy… It’s that I need to ask the question ‘Does this have a happy ending?’ when I agree to review books.

 

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SmittensBookBlog

This entry was posted in Emotional Reads, Every Rose, Lynetta Halat. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Every Rose, by Lynetta Halat

  1. Marisa Joy says:

    WARNING: SPOILER COMMENT.
    I want to thank you for letting us know what happens to Michael; like you, I have to ask myself before reading a book- does this have a happy ending? I don’t mind if a book may have an ambiguous ending *coughs* like The Opportunist (a book which I absolutely loved,) but there is still hope for those characters. When a character dies, it is too much! The writing and author maybe fabulous, but the dying is hard to digest.
    Thank you for your wonderful review 🙂

  2. lynettahalat says:

    Reblogged this on lynetta halat and commented:
    Love this…But it does contain spoilers!

Leave a Reply

