Own the Wind (Chaos #1) by Kristen Ashley ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

Tabitha Allen grew up in the thick of Chaos–the Chaos Motorcycle Club, that is. Her father is Chaos’ leader, and the club has always had her back. But one rider was different from the start. When Tabby was running wild, Shy Cage was there. When tragedy tore her life apart, he helped her piece it back together. And now, Tabby’s thinking about much more than friendship…

Tabby is everything Shy’s ever wanted, but everything he thinks he can’t have. She’s beautiful, smart, and as his friend’s daughter, untouchable. Shy never expected more than friendship, so when Tabby indicates she wants more–much more–he feels like the luckiest man alive. But even lucky men can crash and burn…

My Casting

I absolutely, loved loved loved this book! It was soooo so good, but I was a little disappointed by the ending.

I felt like this book threw you into the lives of Shy and Tabby, which was great. They are addictive and I wanted to live every part of their relationship.

He looked into her blue eyes swimming with tears, feeling her fingers digging into his shoulders, her weight in his lap, the smell of her hair, the taste of her still on his tongue.
Yes, he fucking had it.
When he was twelve he lost it.
Now he had it again.
All of it.
Everything.

So, let’s get the only complaint I have out of the way right now… I felt like the end kind of went off on one a bit. It started talking a lot about other characters… Elvira and Malik, Lanie and Hop, Rush, Joker…
Now, I appreciate that KA’s books all intertwine and I do think it’s extremely clever, the way she does this. But I was so engrossed in Shy and Tabby that I wanted to read about Shy and Tabby! Not everybody else, especially at that stage in the book, where things are all good and you’re thinking ‘So what’s next? Marriage? Babies? Disaster? Some crazy breakup, followed by hot makeup?’ And KA is chatting on about other characters… I wanted to go, ‘noooo, I don’t care, right now!!! Give me Tabby and Shy!!!’
Couple that with the Natalie debacle and the ending (pre-epilogue) and I was like ‘whaaaa….???’. Thank God for the epilogue otherwise I would been left a little unsated. 😦

“Tabby, love you, honey but you’re kinda freakin’ me out,” Shy admitted.
“I don’t know what to do,” I confessed.
“About what?”
“Being this happy.”
Then he said, his voice rough, “Start now.”
“Pardon?” I asked.
“Start now,” he repeated.
“Shy – ”
“Start now, Tabitha. Start gettin’ used to it.”

So, that’t the complaint over. Other than that, this book rocked!!!
Oh my God, as per usual, the alpha male-ness oozes from every single letter on every single page and it is seriously hot!!!

He stalked toward her.
“Bedroom,” he growled. “Take your clothes off on your way.”

Tabby Allen is the daughter of the president of the Chaos MC. She grows up with a total crush on Shy Cage, her Dad’s MC ‘brother’, but circumstances push their lives in different directions. Until now…

“I dreamed a dream when I was sixteen and here I am, standing with my dream, feeling it come real.”

Tabby was a fantastic protagonist. I loved that she was consciously ensuring that she was not a walk over, but that she wanted to please Shy too. She was feisty and independent and great fun to read.

“You’re the fuckin’ shit, Tabby.”
“I know,” I told him airily on another smile. “My man tells me that all the time.”
His eyes dropped to my mouth and his lips ordered, “Kiss me, baby.”

I totally adored Shy. Parker ‘Shy’ Cage, joined Chaos, looking for a family, after his was snatched from him as a child. He has wanted Tabby since she was just nineteen and he had to get her ass out of trouble, but he never imagined her could have her.

Shy Cage never dreamed a dream. Still, he knew, without a doubt since he was holding one in his arms, dreams were real.

He’s hot as fuck, got a dangerous temper and is the perfect mix of bad and good!

“May feel like you’re fallin’, Tabby. bu remember, I’m at the bottom ready to catch you.”

A lot of parts of the books really reminded me of Undeniable, but the true KA style is totally evident. I love her writing.

“You’d give up your brothers for a woman?” Brick asked incredulously and Shy’s eyes moved to him.
“Abso-fucking-lutely.”

I’m thinking we should place in her in some kind of quality control role, at the entrance to the world, letting her check out all the men before they’re allowed in, because she is the absolute nuts at writing the perfect man!!! If every man had to go through the KA testing process, we would be a bunch of very happy, satisfied ladies.

“I had a taste four years ago that I could never get off my tongue. Now, I’ve tasted more of you with more than just my mouth and I know I wanna keep it in a way I don’t want to think of it bein’ done. Not in a few weeks. Not in a few months. Maybe not ever.”

KA’s men are always super hot, super posessive, bossy, dominant, but perfectly loving and tender at the same time.
I. Want!!

“You,” he whispered, “in my bed.”
My lungs compressed but in a good way.
“Yeah,” I whispered back. “With you.”

And then there was the sex! Whhheeeeeewww!!! My Gaaaawwwwd! There were some amazing sex scenes in this book.

“I have never, not once, not in my life, made love to any woman. Not once. Not until what I just did with you.”

I could have picked out soooo many quotes from this book. The dialogue is so real and brilliantly witty.

“I’m just tellin’ you to keep your eyes open and watch your heart. Or, more to the point, watch your ass because if you don’t, Shy’ll tap it.”

I’m really interested in reading Fire Inside and finding out more about everyone Chaos! They are an absolutely fantastic set of characters and I love immersing myself in their world.

I’m also hoping we get a little more Shy and Tabby, seeing as I felt their ending was a little abrupt. It also made me want to go back and read all the KA books I haven’t read. Her writing is pure genius.

“This is is, brother. We’re livin’ together. Soon’s we can do it, we’re movin’ to a better fuckin’ place so I can provide her a decent home. I’m puttin’ my ring on her finger, I’m givin’ her babies, and when she’s laid to rest, that ring I give her will still be on her finger.”

 

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Smittens-Book-Blog/525405204177978

This entry was posted in Alpha Males, Bad Boys, Biker Boys, Five Stars, Friends to Lovers, Kristen Ashley, Own the Wind, Stand Alones, Steamy Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Own the Wind (Chaos #1) by Kristen Ashley ✰✰✰✰✰

  1. Hi Smitten!
    I really liked your review of Own The Wind. It actually made me want to read the book so I gave it a try. It was my first KA book and sadly enough, it didn’t really live up to my expectations even though it had everything in it to do just that.
    Anyway, I liked your review so much that I made a link in my review for readers to come here and read yours. Hope you don’t mind. I’ve been following your blog for some time now and well, you’re the good stuff so 🙂
    Thanks for the good work!
    M.

  2. Pingback: Own The Wind (Chaos #1), by Kristen Ashley | Under The Cover

Leave a Reply

