Her Master’s Kiss (Her Master’s Kiss #1) by Vivien Sparx ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

When Renee decides the only way she can save her relationship with a hurtful boyfriend is to become submissive, she enlists the expertise of a dark and brooding master.
However, Renee’s training soon has her falling for master Stefan, and as she becomes immersed in the spellbinding erotic world of domination, Renee realizes she’s infatuated with a man who remains mysteriously out of reach; a man who refuses to be loved.
Behind Stefan’s cold, remote facade is a man dealing with his own past and his own pain.
‘Her Master’s Kiss’ is an intense emotional romance story filled with passion, conflict and steamy erotica!

 

Short and sweet and quite fascinating. 3.5 stars. This book was clearly trying to set an example of what a real Dom/sub relationship can be like. We’ve all read Fifty Shadesand other titles, and the international interest in BDSM has peaked at an all time high over the past year… yet, I imagine that there are an awful lot of untruths and inaccuracies in so many of these books.

“I wonder if you even know what the art of sexual submission involves?”
Renee bristled. “I know exactly what it involves,” she said archly.
Stefan smiled. “Really? And where did you acquire your knowledge, Renee? Was it from reading ’50 Shades’?”

I felt like Her Master’s Kiss was determined to put the reader straight, which I found intriguing from the off.

“The art of sexual submission involves sacrifice, discipline and commitment – it’s not like you read in romance books.”

It took me a while to connect with the characters. I’m still not sure I’m sold on Renee. She goes to Stefan to learn to be a submissive after her boyfriend walks out on her, as a way to win him back. She has no confidence and zero self-worth. Whilst I understand where the author was trying to go with it, I can’t stand the self-depreciation and the dramatics. It irritated me and I didn’t warm to her as much as I hope to warm to my book heroines.

Stefan, I liked more. He’s deliciously alpha and, obviously, incredibly dominant. He trains submissives for a living and is entirely detached from any kind of feeling. You learn why as the book progresses and I think it will be interesting to see his development in the next book.

Painfully, his world had moved on, and left him here, now, facing the thing he feared more than anything else. The fear of falling in love…

This book was mainly dialogue, which I really liked. I think that good dialogue makes such a huge difference in a book, and it really helped bring these characters, especially Stefan, to life.

The book is erotic, yet tactful. Vivien Sparx makes a point of writing erotic romance without using crude or graphic language. I felt that this gives the book an air of class and credibility.

“We are going to spend nine days together, Renee. In that time, I will see you naked, I will hear you scream, I will watch you cry and I will make you beg.”

This book took me just a couple of hours to get through, so it was very quick. On the whole, I am not a huge fan of such short stories. I don’t feel that I can invest myself in them as much and I often feel that they are less emotive, due to the lack of time spent with the characters. However, I will be interested to read the sequel as I’d love to find out where the characters go from here.

“You’re saying there is a danger of the master and the slave falling in love,” she said. “And you’re saying that’s a bad thing because the master might not be able to look at his slave in the same way, and treat her as a slave because he loves her. Right?”
“Right.”

 

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Smittens-Book-Blog/525405204177978

This entry was posted in Alpha Males, BDSM, Contracts & Arrangements, Delicious Sexual Tension, Four Stars, Her Master's Kiss, Novellas, Quick Reads, Steamy Reads, Vivien Sparx. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

