Going Home (Green Bayou #1) by Rhonda R. Dennis ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

Paramedic Emily Boudreaux believes New Orleans is the perfect place for a young trauma junkie to see some action. Things start out fine enough, but years pass, and the job brings nothing but strife. Emily decides to make a fresh start by returning to her roots. She moves to the small town of Green Bayou, Louisiana. Thinking she will find peace and tranquility, Emily quickly learns that her imagination steered her wrong. Small town life offers far more tumult than she remembered! Mystery, excitement, deceit, and passion run rampant along the murky waters of Bayou Assumption. She struggles with the decision of which man to love: her amazing, new Paramedic partner, Jacob Templet or her handsome, former high school sweetheart, Deputy Pete Bergeron. Her ultimate struggle won’t involve the decision of which man to be with. It is a quest for her personal survival! Praying to get out of a disastrous situation alive, Emily hopes that going home won’t be the wrong decision.

My Casting

Blimey. I actually read this book in one sitting, five nights ago, but I haven’t had a spare second to review it. So here goes.

I’d had a few people telling me I needed to give the Green Bayou series a try, so my interest had been peeked. I put them on my TBR list, and as with so many other books, that was as far as I got… And then the author asked me to read and review them, so Going Home went on my waiting list.

I told Rhonda that I had quite a list to get through but I’d be delighted to read her books. She said that there was no hurry, that she’d send over the first book and then if I liked it, I could ask for the second one, as and when.

Well, put it this way, I will definitely be asking for the second one asap!! This is a great series! The story begins when Emily loses her job in New Orleans and makes the decision to return home to Green Bayou, her peaceful, friendly home town, for a quieter life. But, that isn’t quite how things pan out.

My heart yearned for the sleepy, little town of Green Bayou, the place I was born and raised.

The plot line was original and gripping. The writing was easy to read and follow. The characters were down to earth and loveable and I had no idea how things were going to end up.

“The first time I saw you, I wanted you. To me, you are perfect in every way. It physically hurts to be next to you and not be able to touch you. I think we could have something special if you gave it a chance.”

Now, I stupidly read the blurb for one of the other books in the series and was thrown for a loop because I can’t understand how that something that I read is going to happen… so, as if I wasn’t intrigued enough already, now I’m doubly desperate to get going with the rest of the Green Bayou series.

“I haven’t heard you laugh like that in quite a while. I was glad to hear it. I’m tired of seeing you in pain.” he said. “I’m going to do my best to keep you from ever hurting again. That’s a promise,” he said, softly.
I believed him. I leaned over to give him a kiss.
“I love you,” he said once we’d separated. “Now let’s go home.”

If I had any complaints, it would be that the first 20% of the book was a little slow for me. I understand that it had to set the scene and introduce the reader to quite an array of personalities, so I can easily forgive this one thing. And not to mention the fact that the rest of the book is so action packed that it makes up for it ten fold!

“You’re a sick son of a bitch. I’m your judge and jury. I find you guilty as charged and the sentence is death, mother fucker!”

This book reminded me a little of Kristen Ashley’s Rock Chick series. It’s that kind of action/drama/crime theme, with a side dish of romance. The romance is almost secondary to the craziness in this book, but it’s still fab!

“Give me this one night, Em, please.
Let me feel the softness of your skin.
Let me taste the sweetness of your flesh.
Let me feel your warmth.”

It’s got such a great twist. As much as I enjoy the standard format of romance, I also so love to read something that pulls the world out from under you, and that’s what Going Home does.

 

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Why not exercise that ‘One Click’ button? Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Smittens-Book-Blog/525405204177978

This entry was posted in Action/Drama Reads, Five Stars, Going Home, Green Bayou, Kidnap, Love Triangle, Quick Reads, Rhonda R. Dennis. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Going Home (Green Bayou #1) by Rhonda R. Dennis ✰✰✰✰✰

  1. Shalyn says:

    You had me at “paramedic” 🙂

Leave a Reply

